You are not logged in.

#1 2023-01-28 21:27:36

Niram96
Member
Registered: 2021-09-08
Posts: 13

[Solved] Problems of resolution with Age of Empires Gold Edition 1 & 2

Hi, smile

I want to play some good old games with a friend like Age of Empires Gold Edition 1 & 2 but they doesn't work properly.
I use Wine 8.0 and PlayOnLinux and have all updates done on my laptop on ArchLinux.

The installations runs with no problems but when I launch the games with latest versions of Wine, I have a black screen.
I tried with a lot of previous versions of Wine (7.0, 6.11, 6.0, 5.5; 4.0-rc7, 3.1, 2.22...) and can't have a game that runs correctly.

If the game launched (with Wine 3.1 for exemple), I can't put the 1024*768 resolution.

With Age of Empires nothing happens, it stays at 800*600 and with Age of Empires 2 the game crashes.

I think I installed all necessaries packages.

The thing I don't understand is that with my Ubuntu laptop the 2 games works perfectly with the latest wine's versions. hmm

If someone can help me, I'll appreciate ! smile

Last edited by Niram96 (2023-01-29 17:08:59)


*            *  *  *     *      *     *      *     *      *
*               *         * *   *     *      *         *
*               *         *  *  *     *      *         *
*  *  *     *  *  *     *      *     *  *  *     *       *

Offline

#2 2023-01-29 15:44:15

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 19,301

Re: [Solved] Problems of resolution with Age of Empires Gold Edition 1 & 2

Playonlinux often has broken libs/path handling, did you try normal wine from the repos? Terminal output of running an affected game?

Last edited by V1del (2023-01-29 15:45:01)

Offline

#3 2023-01-29 16:15:55

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 38,767

Re: [Solved] Problems of resolution with Age of Empires Gold Edition 1 & 2

my Ubuntu laptop

Different HW, is it?

Please post the output of

xrandr -q

and your xorg log, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Xorg#General

Offline

#4 2023-01-29 16:47:55

Niram96
Member
Registered: 2021-09-08
Posts: 13

Re: [Solved] Problems of resolution with Age of Empires Gold Edition 1 & 2

V1del wrote:

Playonlinux often has broken libs/path handling, did you try normal wine from the repos? Terminal output of running an affected game?

No, I usually play my games via PlayOnLinux. The others games have no problem.
For example, Age of Empires III works perfectly.

Different HW, is it?

Please post the output of

xrandr -q

and your xorg log, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Xorg#General

Yes, my laptop is a little better. but both are old laptops.

[user@archlinux-user ~]$ xrandr -q
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1600 x 900, maximum 16384 x 16384
eDP connected 1600x900+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 382mm x 214mm
   1600x900      60.01*+  40.01  
   1440x900      60.01  
   1280x800      60.01  
   1280x720      60.01  
   1024x768      60.01  
   800x600       60.01  
   640x480       60.01  
HDMI-A-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DisplayPort-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
[user@archlinux-user ~]$ 

The thing is when I used ubuntu on this laptop the games run very well.
Seems like the problem comes from Arch or missed packages / wrong config. hmm


*            *  *  *     *      *     *      *     *      *
*               *         * *   *     *      *         *
*               *         *  *  *     *      *         *
*  *  *     *  *  *     *      *     *  *  *     *       *

Offline

#5 2023-01-29 16:49:52

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 38,767

Re: [Solved] Problems of resolution with Age of Empires Gold Edition 1 & 2

V1del wrote:

Terminal output of running an affected game?

seth wrote:

Typically you'll miss the multilib repo and some lib32 libraries.

Offline

#6 2023-01-29 17:08:43

Niram96
Member
Registered: 2021-09-08
Posts: 13

Re: [Solved] Problems of resolution with Age of Empires Gold Edition 1 & 2

However I activated it days ago.

But I reinstalled the games and now both games work well
I don't know where the problem cames from lol.

Edit : I use Wine 3.1

Thank you for your help smile

Last edited by Niram96 (2023-01-29 17:38:49)


*            *  *  *     *      *     *      *     *      *
*               *         * *   *     *      *         *
*               *         *  *  *     *      *         *
*  *  *     *  *  *     *      *     *  *  *     *       *

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB