You are not logged in.

#1 2006-12-30 21:45:01

rbrownclown

Arch and Slack - What's the difference?

I'm from the Ubuntu camp.  I've been using Linux for close to three years now and getting bored.  I desperately need something more complicated.

My question is - what's the difference between Arch and Slackware?  I've used Slackware in the past.  I also tried out Zenwalk recently.

#2 2006-12-30 22:10:54

arooaroo
Website

Re: Arch and Slack - What's the difference?

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Arch_vs_Others is a good starting point.

To be fair, you may also like the Frugalware distro because that is derived from Slack but uses pacman for package management.

From what I hear though (as someone who's never used slack), Arch's sys config setup is much simpler and straight-forward to configure.

#3 2006-12-30 22:45:16

stmok

Slackware requires more effort from the user. But you learn quiet a bit as the reward. It takes a different approach for package management. (varies on the package management tools you use). Slackware is less bleeding edge than Arch, as it focuses on a slower release schedule. (to stablise, I guess...But I do note that it pays off, as I hear stories of people upgrading from ver 9 to ver 11 without too much trouble).

Arch strikes a balance between sufficiently difficult enough to learn from, but not too tedious or time consuming to maintain. Its straightforward. The key seems to be pacman and ABS. Personally, it feels like Debian, but faster and more bleeding edge. (With no politics and internal squabbles which affect the date of major releases).

What drove me from Ubuntu/OpenSUSE to Arch, was that both those distros reminded me of Windows. *shivers*

As in, they assumed you want "this and that" enabled and installed by default. So a default install of Ubuntu had alot of stuff I never asked for. (If I wanted HP drivers and Bittorent stuff, I'll install it myself!)