You are not logged in.

#1 2023-02-26 15:45:20

shoelesshunter
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 289

[solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

After adding resume parameters to my grub and mkinitcpio configs for hibernation, my Thinkpad booted with no touchpad functionality. A look at Plasma system settings showed no touchpad available. I ran

modprobe -r psmouse && modprobe -a psmouse

and it came back. Out of curiosity, I removed the resume references in grub and mkinitcpio.conf, regenerated, rebooted, and the same thing-- no touchpad module. I am using the libinput driver since synaptics was nearly unusable with jumps and lags.

Here is the only relevant info I saw in dmesg

 dmesg | grep psmouse
[   18.568146] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried max coordinates: x [..5676], y [..4760]
[   18.603756] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried min coordinates: x [1266..], y [1094..]
[   18.603765] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Trying to set up SMBus access
[   18.811200] psmouse serio1: synaptics: SMbus companion is not ready yet
[   18.877821] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Touchpad model: 1, fw: 8.16, id: 0x1e2b1, caps: 0xf015a3/0x940300/0x12e800/0x400000, board id: 3289, fw id: 2698617
[   18.877833] psmouse serio1: synaptics: serio: Synaptics pass-through port at isa0060/serio1/input0
[   19.864997] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried max coordinates: x [..5676], y [..4760]
[   19.897700] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried min coordinates: x [1266..], y [1094..]
[   19.897706] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Trying to set up SMBus access
[   74.117451] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried max coordinates: x [..5676], y [..4760]
[   74.149918] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried min coordinates: x [1266..], y [1094..]
[   74.149938] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Trying to set up SMBus access
[   74.513822] psmouse serio3: trackpoint: Elan TrackPoint firmware: 0x06, buttons: 3/3
┌─[jmgant@kyzer] - [/etc] - [2023-02-26 09:37:02]

This is my first time seeing a reference to synaptics since I changed my xorg config to use libinput. Could there be a conflict in packages requiring either a removal or module blacklist?

This occurs with both the recent and LTS kernel. Is my fix just a matter of loading the psmouse by hand? I'm unsure what caused this; I didn't update any packages or change any configs (other than the grub and mkinicpio lines I reverted).

Thanks.

Edit: I uninstalled xf86-input-Synaptics, and I still must remove and then load the psmouse module after each boot. Just doing

modprobe psmouse

isn't enough.

modprobe -r psmouse && modprobe -a psmouse 

is what does it. How can I make this permanent?

Last edited by shoelesshunter (2023-03-04 01:35:49)

Offline

#2 2023-02-26 16:11:14

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 53,202

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

Could there be a conflict in packages requiring either a removal or module blacklist?

Yes, but fitering the journal for psmouse won't be helpful in that case.
From the circumstances I'd assume it's the addition of the keyboard hook, https://gitlab.archlinux.org/archlinux/ … e12a95470a
But that's pure speculation.

Adding psmouse to the MODULES might help with this.

Edit: 'key - not so much if you've to reload the module.
Do you apply any parameters to it in /etc/modprobe.d ?

Last edited by seth (2023-02-26 16:13:06)

Offline

#3 2023-02-27 12:21:48

shoelesshunter
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 289

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

I uninstalled the package that provides synaptics.

Adding psmouse to modules does not seem to work since running

modprobe psmouse 

does nothing unless I do

modprobe -r psmouse && modprobe -a psmouse

So, going on what little I know of kernel modules, it seems the issue isn't that it's not being loaded, but rather that it is being loaded incorrectly.

Offline

#4 2023-02-27 13:35:43

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 53,202

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

Hence

seth's edit on your edit wrote:

'key - not so much if you've to reload the module.
Do you apply any parameters to it in /etc/modprobe.d ?

Offline

#5 2023-02-27 15:06:05

shoelesshunter
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 289

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

I didn't read documentation that indicated that I could do as I did manually in modprobe.d configs.

What would that look like?

Offline

#6 2023-02-27 15:17:32

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 53,202

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

I didn't read documentation that indicated that I could do as I did manually in modprobe.d configs.

Wut?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Kernel … le_options
In case: psmouse has a bunch of parameters

modinfo psmouse

Offline

#7 2023-03-03 01:35:08

shoelesshunter
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 289

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

Here's what I tried.

I put

modprobe -r psmouse && modprobe -a psmouse 

into a script at

/root/psmouse.sh

I tried adding this script to root's crontab using @reboot for the schedule. It did not work.

I wrote a systemd service file: touchpad.service

[Unit]
Description=Unload and reload psmouse touchpad module

[Service]
ExecStart=/bin/bash /root/psmouse.sh

[Install]
WantedBy=graphical.target
systemctl status touchpad.service
touchpad.service - Unload and reload psmouse touchpad module
     Loaded: loaded (/etc/systemd/system/touchpad.service; enabled; preset: disabled)
     Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Thu 2023-03-02 19:24:50 CST; 9min ago
   Duration: 15ms
    Process: 404 ExecStart=/bin/bash /root/psmouse.sh (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
   Main PID: 404 (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
        CPU: 12ms

Mar 02 19:24:50 kyzer systemd[1]: Started Unload and reload psmouse touchpad module.
Mar 02 19:24:50 kyzer bash[407]: modprobe: FATAL: Module psmouse is in use.
Mar 02 19:24:50 kyzer systemd[1]: touchpad.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
Mar 02 19:24:50 kyzer systemd[1]: touchpad.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.

But when I manually run the script systemd is trying to call, it works.

Offline

#8 2023-03-03 07:32:01

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 53,202

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

Mar 02 19:24:50 kyzer bash[407]: modprobe: FATAL: Module psmouse is in use.

WantedBy=graphical.target

seth wrote:
seth's edit on your edit wrote:

'key - not so much if you've to reload the module.
Do you apply any parameters to it in /etc/modprobe.d ?

Offline

#9 2023-03-03 21:01:34

shoelesshunter
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 289

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

No. I don't know what the parameters would be. The module is being loaded automatically. For some reason, it must be unloaded, then reloaded for the touchpad to work

As far as I know

modprobe -r psmouse && modprobe psmouse 

is not something I can achieve with an entry in modprobe.d (I tried)

Offline

#10 2023-03-03 21:04:57

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 17,714

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

shoelesshunter wrote:

As far as I know

modprobe -r psmouse && modprobe psmouse 

is not something I can achieve with an entry in modprobe.d (I tried)

Please post the contents of the config file you tried.

Offline

#11 2023-03-03 21:09:54

shoelesshunter
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 289

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

this is the kernel trying to laod it on its own

dmesg | grep psmouse
[   18.004229] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried max coordinates: x [..5676], y [..4760]
[   18.035289] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried min coordinates: x [1266..], y [1094..]
[   18.035294] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Trying to set up SMBus access
[   18.372356] psmouse serio1: synaptics: SMbus companion is not ready yet
[   18.455831] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Touchpad model: 1, fw: 8.16, id: 0x1e2b1, caps: 0xf015a3/0x940300/0x12e800/0x400000, board id: 3289, fw id: 2698617
[   18.455846] psmouse serio1: synaptics: serio: Synaptics pass-through port at isa0060/serio1/input0
[   19.497922] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried max coordinates: x [..5676], y [..4760]
[   19.531058] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried min coordinates: x [1266..], y [1094..]
[   19.531062] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Trying to set up SMBus access 

This is after I remove and reload it.

dmesg | grep psmouse
[   18.004229] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried max coordinates: x [..5676], y [..4760]
[   18.035289] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried min coordinates: x [1266..], y [1094..]
[   18.035294] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Trying to set up SMBus access
[   18.372356] psmouse serio1: synaptics: SMbus companion is not ready yet
[   18.455831] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Touchpad model: 1, fw: 8.16, id: 0x1e2b1, caps: 0xf015a3/0x940300/0x12e800/0x400000, board id: 3289, fw id: 2698617
[   18.455846] psmouse serio1: synaptics: serio: Synaptics pass-through port at isa0060/serio1/input0
[   19.497922] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried max coordinates: x [..5676], y [..4760]
[   19.531058] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried min coordinates: x [1266..], y [1094..]
[   19.531062] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Trying to set up SMBus access
[   96.809045] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried max coordinates: x [..5676], y [..4760]
[   96.843539] psmouse serio1: synaptics: queried min coordinates: x [1266..], y [1094..]
[   96.843570] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Trying to set up SMBus access
[   97.051514] psmouse serio1: synaptics: SMbus companion is not ready yet
[   97.119442] psmouse serio1: synaptics: Touchpad model: 1, fw: 8.16, id: 0x1e2b1, caps: 0xf015a3/0x940300/0x12e800/0x400000, board id: 3289, fw id: 2698617
[   97.119478] psmouse serio1: synaptics: serio: Synaptics pass-through port at isa0060/serio1/input0
[   97.631936] psmouse serio3: trackpoint: Elan TrackPoint firmware: 0x06, buttons: 3/3 

Offline

#12 2023-03-03 21:34:14

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 53,202

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

You could also just say that you've not the remotest idea what we're talking about…
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Kernel … le_options
This has nothing to do w/ reloading the module - the latter either invokes parameters that are not available at an earlier stage (initramfs) or works around a race condition.

Post the output of

systool -vm psmouse

before and after you reload the module.

The only difference you trigger seems to be

[   97.631936] psmouse serio3: trackpoint: Elan TrackPoint firmware: 0x06, buttons: 3/3

though.
elantech_smbus might be relevant to that.

Offline

#13 2023-03-04 01:35:22

shoelesshunter
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 289

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

Module = "psmouse"

  Attributes:
    coresize            = "237568"
    initsize            = "0"
    initstate           = "live"
    refcnt              = "0"
    srcversion          = "1DFD0E186B711E0BED1CD97"
    taint               = ""
    uevent              = <store method only>

  Parameters:
    a4tech_workaround   = "N"
    elantech_smbus      = "-1"
    proto               = "auto"
    rate                = "100"
    resetafter          = "5"
    resolution          = "200"
    resync_time         = "0"
    smartscroll         = "Y"
    synaptics_intertouch= "-1"

  Sections:

However, an upgrade (including the kernel) and/or reboot have resolved this. I will however bookmark this, and if the issue returns, I will try your suggestion. Thanks for the excellent support. I learned quite a bit here.

Offline

#14 2023-03-04 07:25:25

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 53,202

Re: [solved] psmouse module not loading on Thinkpad

"before and after" the reload.
You coudld check whether

[   97.631936] psmouse serio3: trackpoint: Elan TrackPoint firmware: 0x06, buttons: 3/3

now shows up immediately and compare previous to old boot journals to see what happens inbetween, whether the psmouse module now loads even earlier (for being in the initramfs)

If reloading and updating both worked, this is most likely a race condition.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB