You are not logged in.

#1 2023-02-28 20:25:05

polones1
Member
Registered: 2023-02-28
Posts: 3

Issues running a game with Wine

So I am trying to run Battlefield 1 through Lutris using Wine. I keep facing this same error message, something to do with gstreamer everytime I try to run this game, no matter which flavor of Wine I pick nor whatever tweaks I do - it is always this similar error.

lutris-wrapper: EA App
Started initial process 18374 from /home/zeno/.local/share/lutris/runners/wine/lutris-GE-Proton7-37-x86_64/bin/wine /home/zeno/Games/ea-desktop2/drive_c/Program Files/Electronic Arts/EA Desktop/EA Desktop/EADesktop.exe
Start monitoring process.
fsync: up and running.
wine: RLIMIT_NICE is <= 20, unable to use setpriority safely
[284:288:0228/212121.254:ERROR:dxva_video_decode_accelerator_win.cc(1407)] DXVAVDA fatal error: could not LoadLibrary: msvproc.dll: Module not found. (0x7E)
[284:288:0228/212121.308:ERROR:network_change_notifier_win.cc(142)] WSALookupServiceBegin failed with: 0
2023-02-28 21:21:21 DEBUG>NetworkService>Initializing DirtySock for Network Service.
2023-02-28 21:21:21 INFO>EadpFoundation>module version=1.5.0
wine: Call from 000000007B01263E to unimplemented function winegstreamer.dll.winegstreamer_create_video_decoder, aborting
SetProcessDPIAwareness failed. (Access denied.)
[788:792:0228/212122.348:ERROR:dxva_video_decode_accelerator_win.cc(1407)] DXVAVDA fatal error: could not LoadLibrary: msvproc.dll: Module not found. (0x7E)
[788:980:0228/212122.353:ERROR:network_change_notifier_win.cc(142)] WSALookupServiceBegin failed with: 0
Initial process has exited (return code: 65280)
wine: Call from 000000007B01263E to unimplemented function winegstreamer.dll.winegstreamer_create_video_decoder, aborting
Monitored process exited.
Exit with return code 65280

"wine: Call from 000000007B01263E to unimplemented function winegstreamer.dll.winegstreamer_create_video_decoder, aborting" keeps popping up. So I thought that this is an issue with missing gstreamer dependencies, but I installed any I could find, yet it still doesn't work:

[zeno@linux ~]$ pacman -Qs gst
local/gst-libav 1.22.0-3
    Multimedia graph framework - libav plugin
local/gst-plugins-bad 1.22.0-3
    Multimedia graph framework - bad plugins
local/gst-plugins-bad-libs 1.22.0-3
    Multimedia graph framework - bad
local/gst-plugins-base 1.22.0-3
    Multimedia graph framework - base plugins
local/gst-plugins-base-libs 1.22.0-3
    Multimedia graph framework - base
local/gst-plugins-good 1.22.0-3
    Multimedia graph framework - good plugins
local/gst-plugins-ugly 1.22.0-3
    Multimedia graph framework - ugly plugins
local/gstreamer 1.22.0-3
    Multimedia graph framework - core
local/lib32-gst-plugins-base 1.22.0-1
    Multimedia graph framework (32-bit) - base
local/lib32-gst-plugins-base-libs 1.22.0-1
    Multimedia graph framework (32-bit) - base
local/lib32-gst-plugins-good 1.22.0-1
    Multimedia graph framework (32-bit) - good plugins
local/lib32-gstreamer 1.22.0-1
    Multimedia graph framework (32-bit) - core
local/phonon-qt5-gstreamer 4.10.0-4
    Phonon GStreamer backend for Qt5

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

Offline

#2 2023-03-01 07:47:40

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 943

Re: Issues running a game with Wine

Is you GPU compatible with Vulkan?

$ lspci -v | grep -A1 -e VGA -e 3D

Please have a look at: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Vulkan

Also, can you enable Vulkan in Lutris' YOURGAME Settings?


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#3 2023-03-01 09:22:50

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 22,387

Re: Issues running a game with Wine

For generally better codec coverage you'll  need lib32-gst-plugins-{ugly,bad} potentially lib32-gst-libav from the AUR

Offline

#4 2023-03-01 12:03:43

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 12,388

Re: Issues running a game with Wine

Started initial process 18374 from /home/zeno/.local/share/lutris/runners/wine/lutris-GE-Proton7-37-x86_64/bin/wine /home/zeno/Games/ea-desktop2/drive_c/Program Files/Electronic Arts/EA Desktop/EA Desktop/EADesktop.exe

polones1, you're not using system wine, but some proton version configured by lutris. Installing extra system packages may have zero effect .

A quick ddg search for 'lutris battlefield 1' lead to https://www.reddit.com/r/linux_gaming/c … nch_after/
According to that from another archlinux user the problem is caused by upstream and solved by re-installing EA App / BF1 in lutris.

Welcome to archlinux forums.

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2023-03-01 12:05:26)


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.

clean chroot building to complicated ?
Try clean chroot manager by graysky

Offline

#5 2023-03-02 06:00:16

polones1
Member
Registered: 2023-02-28
Posts: 3

Re: Issues running a game with Wine

d.ALT wrote:

Is you GPU compatible with Vulkan?

$ lspci -v | grep -A1 -e VGA -e 3D

Please have a look at: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Vulkan

Also, can you enable Vulkan in Lutris' YOURGAME Settings?

Yes it's 100% compatible, the game already worked before, this issue just pops up randomly after some gameplay, and DXVK is already enabled.

Offline

#6 2023-03-02 06:02:54

polones1
Member
Registered: 2023-02-28
Posts: 3

Re: Issues running a game with Wine

V1del wrote:

For generally better codec coverage you'll  need lib32-gst-plugins-{ugly,bad} potentially lib32-gst-libav from the AUR

I have all of those installed already


Lone_Wolf wrote:
Started initial process 18374 from /home/zeno/.local/share/lutris/runners/wine/lutris-GE-Proton7-37-x86_64/bin/wine /home/zeno/Games/ea-desktop2/drive_c/Program Files/Electronic Arts/EA Desktop/EA Desktop/EADesktop.exe

polones1, you're not using system wine, but some proton version configured by lutris. Installing extra system packages may have zero effect .

A quick ddg search for 'lutris battlefield 1' lead to https://www.reddit.com/r/linux_gaming/c … nch_after/
According to that from another archlinux user the problem is caused by upstream and solved by re-installing EA App / BF1 in lutris.

Welcome to archlinux forums.

I switched between system Wine and Lutris Wine and Proton, yet none of them fixed it.
I actually made the reddit post you're talking about. I thought I fixed the issue when I reinstalled EA App but no, the issue came back again. Since no one else from what I can tell has this issue with Battlefield 1, let alone any other game, I thought it was an issue with my system.

Offline

#7 2023-03-02 07:36:41

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,482

Re: Issues running a game with Wine

I switched between system Wine and Lutris Wine and Proton, yet none of them fixed it.

Please provide the output of the system wine instance then.

Also post the output of

pacman -Qs dxvk

Edit: the latter because of your discussion w/ d.Alt, to narrow that: do you get the issue w/o vulkan as well?

Last edited by seth (2023-03-02 07:40:26)

Offline

#8 2023-03-02 10:59:34

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 943

Re: Issues running a game with Wine

polones1 wrote:

I switched between system Wine and Lutris Wine and Proton, yet none of them fixed it.

Let "pure" WINE alone, for a moment. For now focus on Proton (or lutris' WINE builds).
You told us of Proton, right? That means your game is launched via Steam, so please post here console output of Steam.
Please avoid mixing Proton with anything outside Steam.

Otherwise, please provide us Lutris' logs when using GloriousEggroll's custom build of wine, made to use with lutris.

Post #2: what's your GPU?

We could also deviate a little from your main question (pure WINE... Do you need help on pure WINE, am I right?): have a look at seth's post, anyway. But, in the meanwhile, we could also "isolate" WINE and understand if you can get proper built-in DXVK which comes in wine-ge-custom.


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#9 2023-03-16 19:57:42

duanasour
Member
Registered: 2023-03-16
Posts: 1

Re: Issues running a game with Wine

I had an exactly error when running "football life 2023" in steam deck recently.

It worked well and suddenly had such error. My guess was that I switched to different runner for other games and changing back and forth messed something up in lutris.

Finally got it work again by creating a new lutris_prefix folder and setup everything from scratch again.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB