You are not logged in.

#1 2006-12-31 20:52:35

pianoplayer
Member
From: US Pacific Northwest
Registered: 2006-12-29
Posts: 8

Installed, but stuck at GRUB prompt

After 4 tries, I have managed to install 0.8.  On the reboot, however, I only get as far as a "GRUB>" prompt. 

If I put the install disk in the drive, enter "reboot" at the GRUB prompt, and choose the option "Run installed system (/boot on a separate partition)", I am able to get a login prompt and start what appears to be a functional (base) system. But I have clearly missed something in the installation.  I have a /boot/grub/menu.lst file; the noncommented lines are as follows:

timeout   5
default   0
color  light-blue/black light-cyan/blue

# (0) Arch Linux
title    Arch Linux
root     (hd0,0)
kernel   /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda3 ro
initrd   /kernel26.img

# (1) Arch Linux
title    Arch Linux Fallback
root     (hd0,0)
kernel   /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda3 ro
initrd   /kernel26-fallback.img

kernel26.img and kernel26-fallback.img are both in the /boot directory.

What do I need to fix to make the system boot without a rescue disk?

Offline

#2 2006-12-31 22:27:40

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Installed, but stuck at GRUB prompt

I do not use grub ... but this may help

Rescue_a_system_with_a_broken_boot_loader


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2007-01-01 01:11:34

go4it
Member
Registered: 2006-10-03
Posts: 44

Re: Installed, but stuck at GRUB prompt

Offline

#4 2007-04-08 15:02:03

Laertes
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2007-04-08
Posts: 66

Re: Installed, but stuck at GRUB prompt

I think that the lines:

kernel   /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda3 ro
initrd   /kernel26.img

should be:

kernel  /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda3 ro
initrd   /boot/kernel26.img

because the images reside in /boot directory, not in /

Let me know if this helps. It could be another reason, but I think this is the right one.

Offline

#5 2007-04-08 15:50:45

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,017

Re: Installed, but stuck at GRUB prompt

If you indeed have a boot partition on first partition of first drive (hd0,0; sda1) and a root one on third partition of a first drive (sda3), then your grub config seems to be alright. The example above is appropriate if there's no separate /boot partition.

When you're in a GRUB prompt, try entering those root/kernel/initrd lines by hand and check the output.

Last edited by lucke (2007-04-08 15:51:32)

Offline

#6 2007-04-08 16:06:44

Laertes
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2007-04-08
Posts: 66

Re: Installed, but stuck at GRUB prompt

You are right lucke, I forgot to mention that my lines are only right if there is no separate /boot partition. It would be helpful to know how the hard disk is partitioned.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB