You are not logged in.

#1 2007-01-01 17:17:32

tm8992
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 36

Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

Hey! big_smile

I've just started using arch, and I'm running into problems configuring Xorg to work properly with my monitor, in the proper resolution.

It's a ViewSonic VX1935WM ("1440x900, 60hz").  The graphics card is an Intel 82845g, so I use the i810 driver.  I've tried tons of different things to get it to display at 1440x900, but nothing has worked yet.

My xorg.conf looks like this (I took out the unrelated parts):

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Viewsonic"
    HorizSync   30-82
    VertRefresh 50-85
    Modeline "1440x900_60.00"  106.47  1440 1520 1672 1904  900 901 904 932  -HSync +Vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Intel"
    Driver      "i810"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "Intel"
    Monitor     "Viewsonic"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes       "1440x900_60.00" "1440x900" "640x400"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1440x900_60.00" "1440x900" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1440x900_60.00" "1440x900" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection

I generated the Modeline with gtf.  Every time, the system reverts to 640x480.  tongue  I've tried using 915resolution, but every time the monitor either says "No signal input" or "Frequencies out of range" (e.g., the horizontal and vertical, which are supposed to be 30-82 and 50-85, respectively). 

My Xorg.0.log doesn't give much insight... I've uploaded it here.  This is the one BEFORE I used 915resolution, this is what I got AFTER 915resolution.

I know it's possible to get the right resolution because with drivers from Intel on Windows, the resolution worked fine.  I tried Intel's drivers for Linux, but they kept giving compiling errors (if you want to see that, I can show you, but I've read that i810 is just as good as the drivers from Intel anyway).

I've even tried to use a "newer" i810 driver that I found through days of searching here (I tried the standard xf86-video-i810, too, and both are being really stubborn).

I'm completely lost and I feel like I tried just about everything for the last 2 days.  What do I do? big_smile

Thanks!

Offline

#2 2007-01-01 22:09:56

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,664

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

if 915resulution or that other resolution tool doesn't work out, you'll need to pull xf86-video-i810 from the modesetting git branch at freedesktop.org. The current driver uses the BIOS to control videomodes, the new development code from the modesetting branch contains code to program the display outputs itself instead of using the BIOS.

Offline

#3 2007-01-02 00:04:22

tm8992
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 36

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

Okay, that sounds good.  Now, I ran: "git clone git://anongit.freedesktop.org/git/xorg/driver/xf86-video-intel" (after installing git), according to the freedesktop wiki.  Is this the "modesetting branch"?  I couldn't find any information on that, I tried, really! tongue

But anyway, I went in and ran ./autogen.sh, but I only got:

checking for XORG... configure: error: Package requirements (xorg-server xproto xvmc fontsproto ) were not met:

No package 'xorg-server' found
No package 'xproto' found
No package 'xvmc' found
No package 'fontsproto' found

Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
installed software in a non-standard prefix.

Alternatively, you may set the environment variables XORG_CFLAGS
and XORG_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details.

What does this mean to me?  I tried pacman'ing all those "packages", but I already have some of them installed (e.g. xorg-server) and some of them don't exist.  Sorry if I sound really dumb, haha, I've never compiled from freedesktop/git before.

Thanks again.

Offline

#4 2007-01-02 02:01:43

picpak
Member
Registered: 2006-12-02
Posts: 89

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

It may be as simple as changing

Section "Monitor" 
    Identifier  "Viewsonic" 
    HorizSync   30-82 
    VertRefresh 50-85 
    Modeline "1440x900_60.00"  106.47  1440 1520 1672 1904  900 901 904 932  -HSync +Vsync 
EndSection

to

Section "Monitor" 
    Identifier  "Viewsonic" 
    HorizSync   30-82 
    VertRefresh 50-85 
    Modeline "1440x900"  106.47  1440 1520 1672 1904  900 901 904 932  -HSync +Vsync 
EndSection

and

    Subsection "Display" 
        Depth       8 
        Modes       "1440x900_60.00" "1440x900" "640x400" 
        ViewPort    0 0 
    EndSubsection 
    Subsection "Display" 
        Depth       16 
        Modes       "1440x900_60.00" "1440x900" "640x480" 
        ViewPort    0 0 
    EndSubsection 
    Subsection "Display" 
        Depth       24 
        Modes       "1440x900_60.00" "1440x900" "640x480" 
        ViewPort    0 0 
    EndSubsection 
EndSection

to

    Subsection "Display" 
        Depth       8 
        Modes       "1440x900" "640x400" 
        ViewPort    0 0 
    EndSubsection 
    Subsection "Display" 
        Depth       16 
        Modes       "1440x900" "640x480" 
        ViewPort    0 0 
    EndSubsection 
    Subsection "Display" 
        Depth       24 
        Modes       "1440x900" "640x480" 
        ViewPort    0 0 
    EndSubsection 
EndSection

I don't know if /etc/X11/xorg.conf recognizes the _60.00 or not.


Regards,
Picpak

Offline

#5 2007-01-02 20:42:19

tm8992
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 36

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

I've tried that and just about a million other ways to edit xorg.conf.  I'm thinking it's not a problem with xorg.conf, but a problem with my driver?  Now the question is, how do I get the thing to compile? big_smile

Offline

#6 2007-01-02 23:50:42

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,664

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

Install the missing packages, as the configure/autogen script suggests wink

Offline

#7 2007-01-03 00:24:21

tm8992
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 36

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

Okay, well anyway, after working on this for a long time, I've given up on that one anyway in favor of this one -- http://gitweb.freedesktop.org/?p=users/ … ;a=summary -- which actually mentions modesetting tongue.  Anyway, give me a nice explanation for this:

./configure: line 20232: syntax error near unexpected token `XORG,'
./configure: line 20232: `PKG_CHECK_MODULES(XORG, xorg-server xproto xvmc fontsproto $REQUIRED_MODULES)'

Does this mean I'm missing more packages, e.g., one that declares "XORG" or something of the sort?

I've never had such a headache from compiling something.

Edit: Okay, I fixed that error as explained @ http://www.mail-archive.com/pspp-dev@gn … 01531.html.

Now I'm at

checking for XORG... configure: error: Package requirements (xorg-server xproto xvmc fontsproto ) were not met:

No package 'xorg-server' found
No package 'xproto' found
No package 'xvmc' found
No package 'fontsproto' found

Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
installed software in a non-standard prefix.

Alternatively, you may set the environment variables XORG_CFLAGS
and XORG_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details.

Sounds familiar wink.  Anyway, I have no clue how it's not "detecting" that I have these packages installed via pacman, but I guess I'll install the GIT version of each of them and let you know how it goes! big_smile

Offline

#8 2007-01-03 22:01:53

mary4
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-01-03
Posts: 5

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

Hi

You can see how X chooses screen resolution in /var/log/Xorg.0.log
use startX -- -logverbose 6 first.

In my case the native mode from screen-EDID  was defined at 1440x900@59Hz, which was rejected by X because it was not exactly 60hz.

I put the following code in the "device" section of /etc/X11/xorg.conf

 
Option "ModeValidation" "AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoXservermodes, NoVesaModes"

I use no modelines either:

Section "Screen"      # Define virtual screen from  Graphics Card & Monitor 
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "card0"
    Monitor     "FujitsuSiemens"
    DefaultDepth 24

#    Subsection "Display"
#        Depth       24
#        Modes       "1440x900" "1280x720" 
#    EndSubsection
EndSection

Now I get 1440x900 in resolution when X starts
[url]
http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linu … dix-d.html
[/url]

Hope this helps.

Offline

#9 2007-01-03 22:18:41

tm8992
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 36

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

Hey,
I added the line, and it didn't help tongue.  Thanks anyway.

In the meantime, I've been trying to get all the

No package 'xorg-server' found
No package 'xproto' found
No package 'xvmc' found
No package 'fontsproto' found

Errors set for a solid 3 hours now.  There's so many sub-dependencies, I'm still on xorg-server (though I do think some of the others like xproto and fontsproto were installed along the way of installing xorg-server).  I'll keep working on it, but it's really, really tedious.  Is there any way I could "point" it to my current xorg-server installation, from pacman?

EDIT: Oh no.  I'm so dumb.  I just re-read the error message.
"Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
installed software in a non-standard prefix."
I ran:

ls -R|grep "pkgconfig"

...and I found pacman keeps a whole pkgconfig folder @ /usr/lib/pkgconfig.  Thanks for mentioning that BEFORE I tried to compile xorg-server from git!  Haha, just kidding.  Okay, I'll download & install xvmc now, and then we'll see....

Edit 2:  Okay, it compiles.  I had to edit the Makefile to get rid of some references to "man", for some reason it was giving off weird errors.  After that, I ran ./autogen.sh, then "make install".  The driver was not installed.  Does it have to do with my editing of the makefile, or do I have another step?  I looked around and I found a directory called /src/.libs in which there was a file named "i810_drv.so", so I figured this was the compiled driver (as it was from the one I downloaded, and pacman), but when I placed it in the /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers directory, Xorg won't start.

Any suggestions; should I switch to vesa & get the error messages?

Offline

#10 2007-01-04 21:17:16

tm8992
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 36

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

EDIT
Woooo!  Problem solved.  I compiled the http://gitweb.freedesktop.org/?p=users/ … ;a=summary one like I said I was going to, and this one works.  The regular modesetting one was what I used up until now.  tongue  Thanks for the help, especially the tip about git.  I love archlinux now, I'm definitely sticking with it.


Okay, an update:
I finally got the driver to compile, and install, with no hacks or anything, with autogen.sh, make & make install.

Now, when I start up the PC, I get:

Failed to allocate framebuffer.  Is your VideoRAM set too low?
Fatal servererror:
AddScreen/ScreenInit failed for driver 0.

*sigh*  Any thoughts?

Offline

#11 2007-01-05 12:14:09

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

Sometimes BIOS gives wrong video ram values and/or your video card borrows memory form main RAM. The default video ram value for this video mode can be too low. The maximum value for intel cards is 64MB for older chipsets and 128MB for newer - refer to your video card specs. Usually 64MB should be more than enough.

i810 driver has "VideoRam" option. Try setting something like

VideoRam 65536

in the device section. You can also try changing color depth ("Depth" option) to higher/lower value. And don't forget to check BIOS settings for video card RAM limit.

Offline

#12 2007-01-05 13:26:44

clarence
Member
From: fremantle.au
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 294

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

For whatever it's worth (probably a bag full'o'rocks) I have a nvidia card and a viewsonic va1912 "1440x900" monitor for which I use this

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync 30.0 - 82.0
   VertRefresh 50.0 - 85.0
   Option "DPMS"
   Modeline "1440x900@75" 146.10 1440 1472 2024 2056 900 917 928 946
EndSection

and this

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

fck art, lets dance.

Offline

#13 2007-01-05 19:43:17

tm8992
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 36

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

Haha.  Thanks for the help, again.  I guess I didn't make it that clear wink.

EDIT
Woooo! Problem solved.

Maybe I should have edited that to AFTER my original post! tongue

Offline

#14 2007-01-07 02:57:39

Arch
Member
Registered: 2005-11-05
Posts: 37

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

I'm facing a similar problem with a 1440x900 resolution monitor.

The display configuration is a dual monitor setup as mentioned on this thread.

Currently, I have this under Section "Device"

DefaultDepth    24
Option              "MetaModes" "1440x900,1024x768"
Option              "TwinView" "True"

Which does give me a dual monitor view, but the resolution isn't correct for the larger monitor.
I also got this as warning messages for my Xorg.0.log file:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Validation Overrides for Samsung SyncMaster (DFP-0):
(II) NVIDIA(0):     AllowNon60HzDFPModes
(II) NVIDIA(0):     NoVesaModes
(II) NVIDIA(0):     NoXServerModes
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Devices: CRT-0, DFP-0
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1440x900,1024x768"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to validate any modes; falling back to the default mode
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     "nvidia-auto-select".
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1664 x 768
(--) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (83, 84); computed from "UseEdidDpi" X config

When I swap

Option              "MetaModes" "1440x900,1024x768"

with

Option              "MetaModes" "1024x768,1440x900"

The second monitor shows nothing, but I get no warning messages in my Xorg.0.log file.


This signature just crossed the line.

Offline

#15 2007-01-08 21:32:59

tm8992
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 36

Re: Configuring X and i810 for 1440x900

Did you try the modesetting drivers? tongue

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB