You are not logged in.

#1 2023-03-30 13:18:15

CorvusCorax

[SOLVED] Cannot boot. No more disk decryption prompt on boot.

Hi All,

This is my first time on the forums, so go easy on me. I used to be able to find answers in WiKi or elsewhere before, but seems that I'm stuck on this issue.

I update my Arch install pretty much every day. 2023-03-29 was not an exception. However, today I can no longer boot into my install.

I have encrypted partition that contains LVM group with two logical volumes. One of the logical volumes is my root, another one is swap. Root partition is using btrfs. /boot and /EFI are separate partitions and are not encrypted.

If I boot into some live Linux distro, I can decrypt my disk, mount logical volumes and access the data, so I assume that there is not issue with the file system of data corruption.

I also have Plymouth installed.

What happens when i boot:

If I boot normally (i.e.with Plymouth) I get Plymouth animation, but prompt to unlock/decrypt the disk never comes up. If I remove "quite" and "splash" from my Grub before booting, it waits for my root (i.e., it is looking for LVM volume) for 10 seconds, does not find it (because it never asks to unlock the encrypted partition) and then shows:

ERROR: device '/dev/mapper/ArchSys-root' not found. Skipping fsck.
mount: /new_root: no filesystem type specified.
You are now being dropped into an emergency shell.
sh: can't access tty; job control turned off

What I have tried:

Since the data is intact, I have tried arch-chroot'ing into my root partition and running mkinitcpio -P
At first, it complained that it cannot find hooks for Plymouth. So I removed Plymouth hooks from  /etc/mkinitcpio.conf
Then ran mkinitcpio -P again.

When that didn't help, I also tried to rebuild GRUB config by running grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

That didn't help either.

At this point I've decided to ask for help. before I do more damage to the system.