You are not logged in.

#1 2023-04-10 09:25:39

VindictiveCat
Member
Registered: 2022-02-09
Posts: 4

python2 package in upgrade list

I use yay as my package manager. on running  the following i get a python2 package needs to be upgraded

yay -Syu
 3  aur/python2                             -> 2.7.18-8
 2  aur/python2-psutil          5.9.1-1     -> 5.9.4-1
 1  aur/python2-setuptools                  -> 2:44.1.1-

However i am unable to uninstall this or figure out which package is using python2 for dependency

yay -Qi python2       
error: package 'python2' was not found

~ yay -Rs python2      
error: target not found: python2
 -> exit status 1

I am pretty sure this is the right package name.

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by VindictiveCat (2023-04-10 09:26:36)

Offline

#2 2023-04-10 09:47:22

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 5,212

Re: python2 package in upgrade list

I have no idea about yay and AUR helpers are unsupported. Still, it looks like you may have python2-psutil installed, and there is an update for it. That package does not depend on python2 for some reason, I have no idea why. It does require python2 for building the package, though.

Maybe just remove all python2- packages instead if possible.

Last edited by progandy (2023-04-10 09:49:26)


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#3 2023-04-10 10:03:00

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 12,033
Website

Re: python2 package in upgrade list

Mod note: moving to AUR Issues.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#4 2023-04-10 11:18:20

VindictiveCat
Member
Registered: 2022-02-09
Posts: 4

Re: python2 package in upgrade list

progandy wrote:

I have no idea about yay and AUR helpers are unsupported. Still, it looks like you may have python2-psutil installed, and there is an update for it. That package does not depend on python2 for some reason, I have no idea why. It does require python2 for building the package, though.

Maybe just remove all python2- packages instead if possible.

Thanks, removed python2-psutil and atleast those dependencies are now gone. Can mark it as solved.

Offline

#5 2023-04-10 11:24:16

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 12,033
Website

Re: python2 package in upgrade list


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB