You are not logged in.

#1 2023-04-15 20:23:31

haigioli

[SOLVED] How do I reverse L and R channels in pipewire?

I'm somewhat new to pipewire and am facing an rather odd issue where my L and R audio channels are reversed over the speakers and headphones, even though the config shows FL, FR in the right order (default vanilla configs).  This is true across all audio devices on the system, including USB audio interfaces.  I'm trying to figure a way to permanently reverse them to the order they should be in, but can't figure this out.  I tried to follow the instructions on:

https://askubuntu.com/questions/1382581 … on-on-pipe

However, I can't get it to work, or make heads or tails of the pipewire wiki pages on this matter.  Running EasyEffects is not elegant in my view, for something so simple as switching channel outputs around.  I would very much like to make this work via configs, if possible.

I'm using wireplumber as my session manager, if that helps.

Since everything is vanilla in my configs, I don't know what to post here.  Please, advise and I'll do so.  Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by haigioli (2023-04-17 02:20:30)

#2 2023-04-17 02:20:08

haigioli

Re: [SOLVED] How do I reverse L and R channels in pipewire?

After doing a lot of research, learning the rudiments of lua scripting, and a lot of trial and error, I've come up with a solution.  It's my sincere hope that this post will help others figure out their pipewire woes as they transition over from PulseAudio and Jack to this promising, but less well-documented system.  Here it goes...

First off, I copied the following sample configs to my local directory (make sure to create the directory under ~/.config/wireplumber/main.lua.d first):

cp /usr/share/wireplumber/main.lua.d/30-alsa-monitor.lua ~/.config/wireplumber/main.lua.d/
cp /usr/share/wireplumber/main.lua.d/50-alsa-config.lua ~/.config/wireplumber/main.lua.d/