You are not logged in.

#1 2023-04-28 22:09:58

i6iesma
Member
Registered: 2023-04-28
Posts: 2

How do I get boot loader to work with two EFI partitions

Hello. I have installed arch on the same disk as windows 10 but on a different EFI partition. This is because I didn't have enough space with the 100MB. Now bootloader doesn't work.
Is there a way to either make grub detect the other partition?

Offline

#2 2023-04-28 22:45:47

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,771
Website

Re: How do I get boot loader to work with two EFI partitions

GRUB doesn't need the EFI system partition to be mounted under /boot/ so just move that back to the root partition and remove the second ESP. You should have plenty of room on the Windows' ESP as long as the kernel & initramfs aren't there.

Offline

#3 2023-04-29 07:49:24

i6iesma
Member
Registered: 2023-04-28
Posts: 2

Re: How do I get boot loader to work with two EFI partitions

When I used the same EFI partition as windows I got no space left error when doing grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot

Offline

#4 2023-04-29 08:05:44

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,771
Website

Re: How do I get boot loader to work with two EFI partitions

That's because you're trying to use the ESP for /boot/. Don't do that. Mount the ESP elsewhere and direct GRUB to that location instead.

EDIT: you'll probably have to clear out the contents of Arch's /boot/ from the Windows ESP[1]. Remember to reinstall the contents of /boot/ to the root partition (ie, reinstall the kernel & bootloader packages) and also edit /etc/fstab to remove the /boot/ line.

[1] Be sure not to delete any Windows files though.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2023-04-29 08:14:35)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB