You are not logged in.

#1 2023-05-02 16:37:24

len1218
Member
Registered: 2023-05-02
Posts: 2

Grub shows wrong Arch boot option.

I installed Arch with the archinstall script with the following settings:
https://imgur.com/a/GmKozp2


Grub shows just the option Arch Linux (on /dev/nvme0n1p2). When I try to boot this option there appears the following error:
error: file '/amd-ucode.img^/boot/initramfs-linux.img' not found.


I tried to boot with the tool (on usb-stick) super_grup2_disk_hybrid_2.04s1.iso and it showed some other bootable entries including also another entry with Arch Linux and booting this one works fine.
Do I have to get this one into Grub entries or do I have to fix the missing file for the first one?


Thanks!

Offline

#2 2023-05-02 16:52:00

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,771
Website

Re: Grub shows wrong Arch boot option.

Please provide the archinstall log and the output of

efibootmgr -u

^ That can be run from any live ISO but add -v if you run it from Debian or Ubuntu (we need to see the path to the .efi loader files).

Also, it might be best to use the "Report" button on your post to request that this thread be moved to the Guided Installer forum sub-section so the script developer is notified.

EDIT: the content of /boot/grub/grub.cfg would also be useful.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2023-05-02 16:52:33)

Offline

#3 2023-05-02 16:54:48

2ManyDogs
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 4,645

Re: Grub shows wrong Arch boot option.

Moving to the Guided Installer section.

Offline

#4 2023-05-02 18:19:09

len1218
Member
Registered: 2023-05-02
Posts: 2

Re: Grub shows wrong Arch boot option.

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Please provide the archinstall log and the output of

efibootmgr -u

^ That can be run from any live ISO but add -v if you run it from Debian or Ubuntu (we need to see the path to the .efi loader files).

Also, it might be best to use the "Report" button on your post to request that this thread be moved to the Guided Installer forum sub-section so the script developer is notified.

EDIT: the content of /boot/grub/grub.cfg would also be useful.


Hi and thank you for your help!


content of /boot/grub/grub.cfg:

https://pastebin.com/JTAyiASU

Output of efibootmgr -u:

BootCurrent: 0005
Timeout: 0 seconds
BootOrder: 0005,0003,0001,0000,0004
Boot0000* Windows Boot Manager    HD(1,GPT,f9425154-2464-4170-83fe-f05f9625a937,0x800,0x82000)/File(\EFI\Microsoft\Boot\bootmgfw.efi)䥗䑎坏S
Boot0001* Linux Boot Manager    HD(1,GPT,798df246-33b5-4825-aca7-904564f4698a,0x5ebe9800,0xee800)/File(\EFI\systemd\systemd-bootx64.efi)
Boot0003* kali    HD(1,GPT,798df246-33b5-4825-aca7-904564f4698a,0x5ebe9800,0xee800)/File(\EFI\kali\grubx64.efi)
Boot0004* Internal Hard Disk    PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x4)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/NVMe(0x1,00-1B-44-8B-48-D6-3C-47)/HD(1,GPT,798df246-33b5-4825-aca7-904564f4698a,0x5ebe9800,0xee800)
Boot0005* USB Drive (UEFI) - KingstonHyperX Fury 3.0 PMAP    PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x8,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x4)/USB(1,0)/HD(2,MBR,0xa598155e,0x1d40000,0x10000)

Offline

#5 2023-05-02 18:32:56

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,771
Website

Re: Grub shows wrong Arch boot option.

So you're booting from Kali's GRUB and it's getting confused by Arch's µcode image. You can make Kali's GRUB work by adding a file at /boot/grub/custom.cfg (in Kali) with this content:

menuentry 'Arch (custom)' {
   search.fs_uuid FE9C-79BE
   linux /vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=03fe2d83-9794-4d33-bac4-0faa15b61398 rw quiet
   initrd /amd-ucode.img
   initrd /initramfs-linux.img
}

Note that mounting the EFI system under /boot/ is not needed for GRUB and I would not recommend that configuration. Might be worth moving /boot/ over to the root partition.

You haven't supplied the archinstall log (why not?) but it looks like the grub-install section has failed. This might just be due to the motherboard rejecting the new NVRAM boot entry.

Run this command:

mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /mnt

Then please share the output of

find /mnt

We're looking for Arch's grubx64.efi :-)

And please share the archinstall log. We really need to see that.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2023-05-02 18:45:21)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB