You are not logged in.

#1 2023-05-04 00:36:03

Neven
Member
Registered: 2014-05-02
Posts: 74

Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

After updating with pacman -Syu a few hours ago, Chromium stopped displaying most graphics. It produces lots of errors in its terminal, seemingly including entire shaders, sometimes mentioning Skia. This is the end of one such log:

Errors:
link failed but did not provide an info log
[6279:6279:0504/021603.097949:ERROR:shared_context_state.cc(77)] Skia shader compilation error
------------------------
// Vertex SKSL
#extension GL_NV_shader_noperspective_interpolation : require
in half2 a_vertex;uniform half4 u_texCoordXform;uniform half4 u_posXform;noperspective out half2 v_texCoord;void main() {v_texCoord = half2(a_vertex.xy * u_texCoordXform.xy + u_texCoordXform.zw);sk_Position.xy = a_vertex * u_posXform.xy + u_posXform.zw;sk_Position.zw = half2(0, 1);}
// Fragment SKSL
#extension GL_NV_shader_noperspective_interpolation : require
noperspective in half2 v_texCoord;uniform sampler2D u_texture;void main() {sk_FragColor = sample(u_texture, v_texCoord);}
// Vertex GLSL
#version 300 es

#extension GL_NV_shader_noperspective_interpolation : require
precision mediump float;
precision mediump sampler2D;
in mediump vec2 a_vertex;
uniform mediump vec4 u_texCoordXform;
uniform mediump vec4 u_posXform;
noperspective out mediump vec2 v_texCoord;
void main() {
    v_texCoord = a_vertex * u_texCoordXform.xy + u_texCoordXform.zw;
    gl_Position.xy = a_vertex * u_posXform.xy + u_posXform.zw;
    gl_Position.zw = vec2(0.0, 1.0);
}

// Fragment GLSL
#version 300 es

#extension GL_NV_shader_noperspective_interpolation : require
precision mediump float;
precision mediump sampler2D;
out mediump vec4 sk_FragColor;
noperspective in mediump vec2 v_texCoord;
uniform sampler2D u_texture;
void main() {
    sk_FragColor = texture(u_texture, v_texCoord);
}


Errors:
link failed but did not provide an info log

A workaround is to run with --disable-gpu, a flag found on this page: https://peter.sh/experiments/chromium-c … -switches/

Offline

#2 2023-05-04 05:46:05

zegkljan
Member
Registered: 2017-12-30
Posts: 60

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

Encountered the same. What worked for me was using --disable-gpu-driver-bug-workarounds. Then it was still GPU accelerated, but without the broken graphics. I have AMD Radeon RX 6750 XT using the open-source driver. But this still does not seem like a permanent solution, there is clearly something wrong somewhere.

Last edited by zegkljan (2023-05-04 05:46:36)

Offline

#3 2023-05-04 07:13:24

strboul
Member
Registered: 2023-05-04
Posts: 1

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

Owning AMD Ryzen and iGPU, I have the same issue and error log.

Starting chrome with --disable-gpu-driver-bug-workarounds seems like a working workaround but I haven't found out the cause.

Offline

#4 2023-05-04 08:38:34

pvizczk
Member
Registered: 2022-06-20
Posts: 6

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

Ryzen + Vega laptop. Same issue here.

Offline

#5 2023-05-04 12:49:59

LITUATUI
Member
Registered: 2023-05-04
Posts: 1

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

Same problem here with AMD Ryzen 7 4700u laptop with iGPU. The workarounds posted here didn't work for me.

Offline

#6 2023-05-04 17:19:03

sighoya
Member
Registered: 2022-04-16
Posts: 9

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

Same issue with: Minisforum UM560 Ryzen 5 5625U

Offline

#7 2023-05-04 17:26:04

IMBJR
Member
From: INDCMPLX
Registered: 2014-03-16
Posts: 88

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

Since no-one seems to have raised a bug for this, here it is:

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/78403

Offline

#8 2023-05-04 18:24:55

sighoya
Member
Registered: 2022-04-16
Posts: 9

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

+1
Ah I didn't know that was the workflow
I opened a chromium issue

Offline

#9 2023-05-04 18:50:17

meir
Member
Registered: 2023-05-04
Posts: 1

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

I don't think it's an issue with the Chromium package. I rolled back to May 2nd mirrorlist (Server=https://archive.archlinux.org/repos/2023/05/02/$repo/os/$arch) and the issue is gone and Chromium is up to date

Offline

#10 2023-05-04 18:50:40

heikole
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2022-05-11
Posts: 4
Website

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

Same issue here: AMD Ryzen 7 5700G with Radeon Graphics on a Mini PC.
Workaround works for me.

Offline

#11 2023-05-04 18:54:13

antivalenz
Member
Registered: 2023-05-04
Posts: 2

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

hi.

fwiw i have these specs:

OS: Arch Linux x86_64 
Host: MS-7D54 2.0 
Kernel: 6.3.1-zen1-1-zen 
Uptime: 1 hour, 45 mins 
Packages: 811 (pacman) 
Shell: zsh 5.9 
Resolution: 2560x1440 
WM: sway 
Terminal: foot 
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (16) @ 3.400GHz 
GPU: AMD ATI Radeon RX 6800/6800 XT / 6900 XT 
Memory: 3462MiB / 32017MiB

i was able to get rid of the flickering by removing my ~/.config/chromium directory. i removed my ~/.cache/chromium directory as well, but removing only that one did not fix the problem.

perhaps that helps.

Offline

#12 2023-05-04 19:42:26

salvaju29ro
Member
Registered: 2023-01-26
Posts: 5

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

antivalenz wrote:

hi.

fwiw i have these specs:

OS: Arch Linux x86_64 
Host: MS-7D54 2.0 
Kernel: 6.3.1-zen1-1-zen 
Uptime: 1 hour, 45 mins 
Packages: 811 (pacman) 
Shell: zsh 5.9 
Resolution: 2560x1440 
WM: sway 
Terminal: foot 
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (16) @ 3.400GHz 
GPU: AMD ATI Radeon RX 6800/6800 XT / 6900 XT 
Memory: 3462MiB / 32017MiB

i was able to get rid of the flickering by removing my ~/.config/chromium directory. i removed my ~/.cache/chromium directory as well, but removing only that one did not fix the problem.

perhaps that helps.

Did you copy any folder to recover extensions and settings after? Or did you start from scratch?

Offline

#13 2023-05-04 21:12:52

antivalenz
Member
Registered: 2023-05-04
Posts: 2

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

salvaju29ro wrote:

Did you copy any folder to recover extensions and settings after? Or did you start from scratch?

i started from scratch. i don't know the structure of chromium config directories and files. i just finished :Y.

Offline

#14 2023-05-04 23:34:01

papavlos
Member
Registered: 2017-09-23
Posts: 67

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

Deleting the folder "GPUCache" in my ~/.config/chromium/Default has resolved my problem without the need of deleting the whole profile,

Offline

#15 2023-05-05 00:15:35

vova7890
Member
Registered: 2012-02-26
Posts: 8

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

papavlos wrote:

Deleting the folder "GPUCache" in my ~/.config/chromium/Default has resolved my problem without the need of deleting the whole profile,

Works for me on Ryzen laptop and on PC with discrete RX 6800 XT

Offline

#16 2023-05-05 05:33:31

salvaju29ro
Member
Registered: 2023-01-26
Posts: 5

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

papavlos wrote:

Deleting the folder "GPUCache" in my ~/.config/chromium/Default has resolved my problem without the need of deleting the whole profile,

It worked for me too. Thank you.

Graphics Platform: X11
AMD Ryzen 5 5600G with Radeon Graphics

Offline

#17 2023-05-05 09:02:52

WebReflection
Member
Registered: 2014-07-08
Posts: 106

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

papavlos wrote:

Deleting the folder "GPUCache" in my ~/.config/chromium/Default has resolved my problem without the need of deleting the whole profile,

# rm -rf ~/.config/chromium/Default/GPUCache

this did the trick for me as well while previously I had to switch o Vulkan render in chrome://flags but that broke completely WebGL based sites .... thank you!

On Wayland

                   -`                    ag@lenovo 
                  .o+`                   --------- 
                 `ooo/                   OS: Arch Linux x86_64 
                `+oooo:                  Host: 21D2CTO1WW ThinkPad Z13 Gen 1 
               `+oooooo:                 Kernel: 6.3.1-arch1-1 
               -+oooooo+:                Uptime: 1 hour, 29 mins 
             `/:-:++oooo+:               Packages: 1210 (pacman) 
            `/++++/+++++++:              Shell: bash 5.1.16 
           `/++++++++++++++:             Resolution: 2880x1800 
          `/+++ooooooooooooo/`           DE: GNOME 43.5 
         ./ooosssso++osssssso+`          WM: Mutter 
        .oossssso-````/ossssss+`         WM Theme: Adwaita 
       -osssssso.      :ssssssso.        Theme: Adwaita-dark [GTK2/3] 
      :osssssss/        osssso+++.       Icons: Adwaita [GTK2/3] 
     /ossssssss/        +ssssooo/-       Terminal: kgx 
   `/ossssso+/:-        -:/+osssso+-     CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 PRO 6860Z with Radeon Graphics (16) @ 2.700GHz 
  `+sso+:-`                 `.-/+oso:    GPU: AMD ATI Radeon 680M 
 `++:.                           `-/+/   Memory: 8812MiB / 31358MiB 
 .`                                 `/

Last edited by WebReflection (2023-05-05 09:03:14)

Offline

#18 2023-05-05 10:22:50

WebReflection
Member
Registered: 2014-07-08
Posts: 106

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

FYI there was another bug filed and closed as "won't fix - cannot reproduce" https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/is … 442579#c11

users are reporting that removing the GPUCache might be just a temporary fix and that after a while they started seeing again issues here and there (see screenshots attached).

Google Chrome (stable branch) seems to be also affected and I start wondering if this was a mesa update that ruined AMD OS drivers for Chrome (I have zero issues on Firefox) or if it's actually a mainstream Chromium issue that also affects other derived projects (same versioning here for both chrome and chromium)

Offline

#19 2023-05-06 11:27:35

lquidfire
Member
From: South Africa
Registered: 2017-07-26
Posts: 53

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

papavlos wrote:

Deleting the folder "GPUCache" in my ~/.config/chromium/Default has resolved my problem without the need of deleting the whole profile,

Did it for me, too. Thanks!

Offline

#20 2023-05-06 11:28:55

lquidfire
Member
From: South Africa
Registered: 2017-07-26
Posts: 53

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

WebReflection wrote:

...

# rm -rf ~/.config/chromium/Default/GPUCache

...

No need to do that as root.

Offline

#21 2023-05-06 13:47:17

zegkljan
Member
Registered: 2017-12-30
Posts: 60

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

I can confim that deleting the GPUCache folder helped as well, no need for --disable-gpu-driver-bug-workarounds anymore, even after a few reboots.

Offline

#22 2023-05-08 13:54:56

WebReflection
Member
Registered: 2014-07-08
Posts: 106

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

lquidfire wrote:
WebReflection wrote:

...

# rm -rf ~/.config/chromium/Default/GPUCache

...

No need to do that as root.

too much Python code recently, thanks for pointing that out, I always mistake `$` with `#` and use `#` out of programming habit as a comment to actually not even run anything but yeah, no root needed for this!

Offline

#23 2023-05-08 16:36:11

benoliver999
Member
From: Sheffield
Registered: 2014-02-01
Posts: 38
Website

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

Deleting the GPUCache folder didn't work for me, but the flag does.

Offline

#24 2023-05-08 18:26:24

benwaffle
Member
Registered: 2017-03-05
Posts: 2

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

Same, but with google-chrome from the AUR. Deleting ~/.config/google-chrome/Default/GPUCache worked.

Offline

#25 2023-07-12 06:35:31

pawelmhm
Member
Registered: 2013-03-27
Posts: 3

Re: Most graphics broken on Chromium on AMD laptop; Skia, shader errors

Just wanted to let you know that I got same issue on linux Ubuntu 22.04.2 LTS, after system update that occurred 2023-07-12. So it's not really arch issue, looks more like chrome/chromium issue related to GPU Cache for user profile.

My card: 07:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Navi 22 [Radeon RX 6700/6700 XT / 6800M] (rev c5) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])

symptoms: chrome broken, browser window shows bookmarks, but all rendering is broken. Traceback from Chrome, contains these skia shader errors, e.g.:

[18432:18432:0712/081415.486634:ERROR:shared_context_state.cc(81)] Skia shader compilation error
------------------------
// Vertex SKSL
#extension GL_NV_shader_noperspective_interpolation: require
uniform float4 sk_RTAdjust;in float2 position;in half4 color;flat out half4 vcolor_S0;void main() {// Primitive Processor QuadPerEdgeAAGeometryProcessor
vcolor_S0 = color;sk_Position = position.xy01;}
// Fragment SKSL
#extension GL_NV_shader_noperspective_interpolation: require
uniform float4 uinnerRect_S1;uniform half2 uradiusPlusHalf_S1;flat in half4 vcolor_S0;half4 CircularRRect_S1(half4 _input) {
float2 dxy0 = uinnerRect_S1.LT - sk_FragCoord.xy;float2 dxy1 = sk_FragCoord.xy - uinnerRect_S1.RB;float2 dxy = max(max(dxy0, dxy1), 0.0);half alpha = half(saturate(uradiusPlusHalf_S1.x - length(dxy)));return _input * alpha;}

void main() {// Stage 0, QuadPerEdgeAAGeometryProcessor
half4 outputColor_S0;outputColor_S0 = vcolor_S0;const half4 outputCoverage_S0 = half4(1);half4 output_S1;output_S1 = CircularRRect_S1(outputCoverage_S0);{ // Xfer Processor: Porter Duff
sk_FragColor = outputColor_S0 * output_S1;}}
// Vertex GLSL
#version 300 es

#extension GL_NV_shader_noperspective_interpolation : require
precision mediump float;
precision mediump sampler2D;
uniform highp vec4 sk_RTAdjust;
in highp vec2 position;
in mediump vec4 color;
flat out mediump vec4 vcolor_S0;
void main() {
    vcolor_S0 = color;
    gl_Position = vec4(position, 0.0, 1.0);
    gl_Position = vec4(gl_Position.xy * sk_RTAdjust.xz + gl_Position.ww * sk_RTAdjust.yw, 0.0, gl_Position.w);
}

// Fragment GLSL
#version 300 es

#extension GL_NV_shader_noperspective_interpolation : require
uniform highp vec2 u_skRTFlip;
precision mediump float;
precision mediump sampler2D;
out mediump vec4 sk_FragColor;
uniform highp vec4 uinnerRect_S1;
uniform mediump vec2 uradiusPlusHalf_S1;
flat in mediump vec4 vcolor_S0;
void main() {
highp     vec4 sk_FragCoord = vec4(gl_FragCoord.x, u_skRTFlip.x + u_skRTFlip.y * gl_FragCoord.y, gl_FragCoord.z, gl_FragCoord.w);
    mediump vec4 outputColor_S0;
    outputColor_S0 = vcolor_S0;
    mediump vec4 output_S1;
    highp vec2 _0_dxy0 = uinnerRect_S1.xy - sk_FragCoord.xy;
    highp vec2 _1_dxy1 = sk_FragCoord.xy - uinnerRect_S1.zw;
    highp vec2 _2_dxy = max(max(_0_dxy0, _1_dxy1), 0.0);
    mediump float _3_alpha = clamp(uradiusPlusHalf_S1.x - length(_2_dxy), 0.0, 1.0);
    output_S1 = vec4(_3_alpha);
    {
        sk_FragColor = outputColor_S0 * output_S1;
    }
}


Errors:
link failed but did not provide an info log

Fix that worked:

* opening new user-profile from command line with google-chrome --user-data-dir=new_directory (but then you're creating new user profile)
* removing GPUCache directory in .config/google-chrome/Default

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB