You are not logged in.

#1 2023-06-25 12:20:25

aXel_f0l3y

XPS 15 Drivers & Disk Encryption

Hi there,
Thanks for providing and maintaining this forum.

I'm a student in IT Security and I just acquired a dell XPS 15. I need your advices to figure out some grey areas before I start the installation.

CONFIG
  • Processor: I9-13900H

• GPU: Nvidia 4060 8GB GDDR6

• Disk: 4to SSD PCIe NVMe M.2

• RAM: 64GB DDR5

• Wifi & Blueetooth: Intel Killer Wi-Fi 6 1675 (AX211)

• Display: 15,6"" OLED 3,5K (3456x2160) InfinityEdge Touchscreen 400-Nit

GOAL

I want to keep the pre-installed Windows 11 and have dualboot with Arch with roughly 1TO for Window s and 3 for Arch. I highlighted my doubts and questions in red.

GENERAL INSTALLATION

Given my case of an already installed Windows 11, I'll follow a step-by-step video guide I found on youtube

GPU

I will rarely use the discrete Nvidia GPU on Arch so I will proceed with installing the open source video drivers for the integrated Intel GPU.

xf86-video-intel

When I occasionally need the Nvidia it seems very simple:

prime-run app

However I can't find an exact matchon the wiki for my Nvidia card (Drivers Linux x64 AMD64/EM64T Display Driver v535.54.03). My guess is I just need to install the nvidia package (not nvidia-dkms or nvidia-lts) before Xorg? Beside that is there anything else I need to do?

Wifi & Bluetooth

From my researches it seems the kernel will already support it but can't be sure. Any suggestion here?

Touchscreen

I don't want it, I wish I could have bought the pc without it. So I won't be looking for any drivers but I want to make sure it won't be an issue for regular video transmission.

Encrypt /home

Here is the toughest part for me. I will partition with / and /home separated.

I can't conceive to have a pc without my personal files being encrypted but I am a total noob when it comes to disk encryption, my previously owned Macbook did that for me automatically at setup.