You are not logged in.

#1 2023-07-30 14:39:29

25pwn
Member
Registered: 2023-01-22
Posts: 26

[SOLVED] Can't copy from firefox

I'm using KDE Wayland

I can't copy from firefox(ctrl+c, right_mouse->copy etc, including selected text, links etc.), with a few exceptions. Drag&drop and pasting to firefox works. Copy/paste works inside firefox, but things copied in firefox does not show up in the system clipboard.

Examples:

Copying does not work in these cases:

text in address bar
links in https://hn.algolia.com/
links in https://google.com/
links in https://github.com/
links in https://bbs.archlinux.org/
links in https://pastebin.com/
links in https://docs.google.com/

Copying does work in these cases:
search bar text in https://hn.algolia.com/
search bar text in https://google.com/
search bar text in https://github.com/
editor text in https://bbs.archlinux.org/
editor text in https://pastebin.com/
editor text in https://docs.google.com/

I've never seen anyone else talk about this, any ideas?

Last edited by 25pwn (2023-09-19 04:45:59)

Offline

#2 2023-08-01 10:47:21

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 12,056

Re: [SOLVED] Can't copy from firefox

Maybe one of your addons blocks it ?

Try testing with firefox in troubleshooting mode (used to be called safe mode)


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#3 2023-08-01 11:59:51

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,592

Re: [SOLVED] Can't copy from firefox

Native or xwayland? Does it matter?
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Firefox#Wayland

Offline

#4 2023-08-02 04:04:58

25pwn
Member
Registered: 2023-01-22
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] Can't copy from firefox

Lone_Wolf wrote:

Maybe one of your addons blocks it ?

Try testing with firefox in troubleshooting mode (used to be called safe mode)

That wasn't the case

Last edited by 25pwn (2023-08-02 04:05:05)

Offline

#5 2023-08-02 04:44:18

25pwn
Member
Registered: 2023-01-22
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] Can't copy from firefox

seth wrote:

Native or xwayland? Does it matter?
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Firefox#Wayland

I normally run it native(wayland). Running it on xwayland:

MOZ_ENABLE_WAYLAND=0 firefox-nightly

Fixes it. Any ideas why?

Offline

#6 2023-08-02 05:30:10

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,592

Re: [SOLVED] Can't copy from firefox

Bug in FF or the compositor - does it happen w/ weston?

Offline

#7 2023-08-02 15:02:00

25pwn
Member
Registered: 2023-01-22
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] Can't copy from firefox

I couldn't test it with weston - I got into a session but I have no idea how to use it.

It works on GNOME though, so it's probably KDE+firefox.

Do you think it has to do with my configuration though? Wayland has been on by default on nightly for a while now, so it's unlikely that this happens to everyone.

Offline

#8 2023-08-02 17:56:28

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,592

Re: [SOLVED] Can't copy from firefox

Might be a blip in the nightlies.
If it doesn't go away, try a fresh user account.

Offline

#9 2023-09-19 04:45:08

25pwn
Member
Registered: 2023-01-22
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] Can't copy from firefox

On firefox bugzilla: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1791417

Workaround: enable System Settings>Workspace Behavior>General Behavior>Middle Click: Paste selected text

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB