You are not logged in.

#1 2023-08-02 16:35:52

teo123man

New Installation - Stuck at "loading initial ramdisk"

Hello! Although I've been somewhat familiar with Debian-based distros, I'm a complete newbie to Arch Linux. I followed a 2-hour tutorial video from Learn Linux TV to install Arch. I made the partitions, installed the system(as kernels both linux and linux-lts) and grub, then rebooted and all of it seemed completely fine. Then I installed XFCE and light dm and rebooted again. This time I got stuck at

Booting 'Arch Linux'
Loading Linux linux-lts ...
Loading initial ramdisk ...

I tried pressing the button e at grub and adding "nomodeset" "acpi=off" "iommu=soft" "ignore_loglevel" seperately and together, also deleting "quiet", but these did not work, the error persisted.

I don't know what to do really. There could be a lot of missing info in my topic, I don't really know which infos are needed exactly. I'll certainly provide the infos as they are asked for. I am going to be very grateful if this can be solved. Thank you guys in advance!

Last edited by teo123man (2023-08-02 16:37:44)

#2 2023-08-02 16:42:22

V1del
Forum Moderator

Re: New Installation - Stuck at "loading initial ramdisk"

Did you install and configure a greeter for lightdm? https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/LightDM#Greeter

That said random video tutorials are not supported here. Ask the author of the video for help, or follow the supported installation methods: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Installation_guide

#3 2023-08-02 16:50:58

teo123man

I'm not sure what you mean by configuration but I installed a greeter for lightdm and enabled lightdm afterwards.

And please don't worry about the random video, I looked at the arch wiki and what I did seems to match it. I did not use archinstall or any other installer.

Last edited by teo123man (2023-08-02 17:08:03)

#4 2023-08-02 17:17:58

V1del
Forum Moderator