You are not logged in.

#1 2023-09-14 20:21:25

Matr1x-101

[SOLVED] Issues with downloading when making an AUR package for a font

Hello,
So I am trying to create an AUR package for a font called "fang zheng kai ti pinyin" (it's a Chinese font I need for studies). The official website is here. Problem is, this website is demanding a phone number to download, but I don't live in China, so I can't download fonts from it (and even if I could, it would probably be really hard to get it downloading in a PKGBUILD). However, I have found a mirror site which does not seem to be the official website, but hosts the font nonetheless. So would it be permissible to download the font from this mirror site (or just put the font on GitHub and download it there)? Or should I include the TTF/TTC in the package itself when pushing the package to the AUR? What would be best practice?

(Please note: I'm don't know native Chinese, I'm just studying it, please don't direct me to Chinese forums.)

Last edited by Matr1x-101 (2023-09-15 15:40:18)

#2 2023-09-14 21:22:48

seth

Re: [SOLVED] Issues with downloading when making an AUR package for a font

You're not supposed to add source files to the AUR, let alone of questionable legality (I'm not saying that you're breaking any laws, but you don't sound like you'd know whether you are either)

Is this an AUR issue at all?
Your post sounds like you're mostly interested in a local installation of that file and when it comes to writing and compiling a package on your private system, all questions here collapse to "what you can get away with" and of course it's perfectly fine to reference a file in a relative path (ie. some local copy of the font)
Also, when it comes to fonts specifically: they're rarely dependencies for other packages and un/installation boils down to copy/remove file to/from /usr/share/fonts using a package is rather overengineering the problem.

#3 2023-09-14 21:29:07

loqs