You are not logged in.

#1 2023-09-22 21:17:59

5G Burrito

[SOLVED]I updated Arch on my Hp Pavilion G4 and broke a lot.

Hello, I am new to Arch and I've been loving it, I had just finished my first rice and have been using it for a couple of weeks, I then updated the system (last night) with:

pacman -Syu

I'm not sure if I used sudo, but I think I did

Once I successfully updated it, I rebooted and that's when the bad things started, while the laptop initialized some things (sorry, I'm not sure what it's called, I'm very much so a Linux noob) I got the following errors. (I did get past grub with no issue)

[       0.00419] __common_interupt: 1.55 No irq handler for vector
/dev/sda2: clean, 352421/28794880 files, 9191669/115153920 blocks
[   TIME   ] Timed out waiting for device /dev/zram0.
[DEPEND] Dependency failed for Compressed Swap on /dev/zram0.
[DEPEND] Dependency failed for Create Swap on /dev/zram0.

After this, it repeats the following error about 7 times, (±1 or 2 on each boot):

[FAILED] Failed to start Wireless Service]

As you likely inferred, I don't have Wi-Fi, and while the HP does have an ethernet port, it is extremely unlikely that I would be able to use it because the only working ethernet port is the ONE on my family's router, so if I'm using it, my family;y is without internet (will update if I can use ethernet)I can then login without issue

upon trying to open my WM, it doesn't start and I get an error directing me to check logs (I will post if necessary, it's just a pain because I am on a different device and can't copy-paste [I probably can once I get wifi back {by sshing, unless that's not possible}])

When I run

iwctl

I get the error/message

Waiting for IWD to start...

so, my questions and plea for help are:
Is this a common thing?
How can I prevent this complete messing up of my system in the future?
How do I fix my wifi?
How can I get back into my WM?

I will supply all data that I can, thank y'all for your help