You are not logged in.

#1 2007-01-19 23:24:02

irmkb

Kernel panic on boot since updating arch

Hello there.

I have been using arch for about two years now, and today I decided to run 'pacman -Syu' again for the first time in a few months. Since I did this I can no longer get arch to boot normally. I've searched around the forum and found some posts of people with similar problems, but still could not solve mine with the solutions provided in these threads.

Some things that may be relevant:

I have an AMD system with IDE disks.

The error I get on boot:

:: Running Hook [filesystems]
:: Loading root filesystem module...-e
Attempting to create root device '/dev/hda3'
ERROR: Failed to parse block device name for '/dev/hda3'
unknown
ERROR: root fs cannot be detected. Try using the rootfstype= kernel parameter.
:: Initramfs Completed - control passing to kinit
IP-Config: no devices to configure
kinit: Cannot open root device dev(0,0)
kinit: init not found!
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

When using the fallback kernel I get the same error.

My menu.lst (I have a seperate boot partition):

title Arch Linux [/boot/vmlinuz26]
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda3 ro devfs=nomount disablemodules=ata_piix
initrd /kernel26.img

My mkinitcpio.conf:

MODULES="ide_disk ext2 ext3"
BINARIES=""
FILES=""
HOOKS="base udev autodetect ide filesystems"

I Hope someone can help me with this.

#2 2007-01-20 00:13:46

bmalewski

Re: Kernel panic on boot since updating arch

I had the same problem/
Try to add 'earlymodules=piix' to your commandline instead of disablemodules=ata_piix. It should be enough. It worked for me.

#3 2007-01-20 00:30:12

irmkb

Hey bmalewski,

Thanks for the advice. Unfortunately adding 'earlymodules=piix' didn't solve my problem. I also thought that piix was only for Intel systems? I'm using an AMD processor.

#4 2007-01-20 01:14:45

CavalierBob

See if this might help get you going in the right direction irmkb: