You are not logged in.

#1 2023-11-18 00:13:07

Sinnwidriger
Member
Registered: 2023-11-17
Posts: 3

[Solved]Black screen after switching from Nvidia to Amd rx 6700 xt GPU

I decided to change from nvidia to amd. After installing the video card I got a black screen. The video card itself is amd rx 6700 xt, I am using GNOME and Wayland. I tried following the instructions on the arch wiki, but it didn't work for me. I tried specifying amdgpu and radeon modules to mkinitcpio.conf, but that also failed.

Last edited by Sinnwidriger (2023-11-18 14:01:18)

Offline

#2 2023-11-18 08:31:19

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,214

Re: [Solved]Black screen after switching from Nvidia to Amd rx 6700 xt GPU

http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

"got a black screen" *when*
Do you see the bootloader?
Can you boot the multi-user.target, in doubt along "nomodeset"?

It might just be some old monitor settings getting in the way, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/GDM#Se … r_settings (the output names have most likely changed)

Offline

#3 2023-11-18 10:53:47

Sinnwidriger
Member
Registered: 2023-11-17
Posts: 3

Re: [Solved]Black screen after switching from Nvidia to Amd rx 6700 xt GPU

No, I can't even see the bootloader and can't even enter the bios. As far as I understand the problem is not with gdm and monitors. My monitor is not getting any signal at all. The motherboard model is gigabyte H510M H and based on the specs it is compatible with my new video card.

Offline

#4 2023-11-18 13:21:12

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,214

Re: [Solved]Black screen after switching from Nvidia to Amd rx 6700 xt GPU

That's not a problem w/ the OS.
The GPU is either
· broken
· in the wrong (non PEG) slot
· mis-seated ("loose")
· underpowered (underdimensioned PSU or you forgot to attach *ALL* 6/8-pin adapters)

Offline

#5 2023-11-18 13:50:35

Sinnwidriger
Member
Registered: 2023-11-17
Posts: 3

Re: [Solved]Black screen after switching from Nvidia to Amd rx 6700 xt GPU

Thanks for your help. The problem was really the pcie connectors and my lack of knowledge in hardware. My old gpu was a 1050 ti and it didn't require any additional connections. Everything works now.

Offline

#6 2023-11-18 13:52:05

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,214

Re: [Solved]Black screen after switching from Nvidia to Amd rx 6700 xt GPU

\o/
Please always remember to mark resolved threads by editing your initial posts subject - so others will know that there's no task left, but maybe a solution to find.
Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB