You are not logged in.

#1 2023-12-02 01:26:33

sumthingranedum

Can’t Boot After Install

I just followed the installation wiki exactly and then rebooted, taking out my usb installation media, but when it tries to boot I instead see “Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key”. Let me know what information I need to give. I am trying to use Grub, if it matters. Thanks.

#2 2023-12-02 11:41:58

Head_on_a_Stick
Website

Re: Can’t Boot After Install

Is SecureBoot disabled?

Otherwise please share the full, exact commands used to install the bootloader along with the full configuration files. Thanks.

#3 2023-12-04 00:41:53

sumthingranedum

cat /sys/firmware/efi/fw_platform_size returns 64 during the installation setup, if that’s what you’re asking. I assume this means that I have secure boot enabled, but I’m very new to Arch, so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

#4 2023-12-04 06:32:04

sumthingranedum

Just to speed things up, here is every command in order I entered from booting to installation media --> reboot:

ping google.com
fdisk /dev/sda (i use a gpt table to make 3 partitions: 1 = 2G efi system, 2 = 8G swap, 3 = rest of SSD root)
mkfs.fat -F32 /dev/sda1
mkswap /dev/sda2
mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda3
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt
mkdir /mnt/boot
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/boot
swapon /dev/sda2
pacstrap /mnt base linux linux-firmware
genfstab -U /mnt >> /mnt/etc/fstab
arch-chroot /mnt

while chroot-ed:

ln -sf /usr/share/zoneinfo/US/Pacific /etc/localtime
hwclock --systohc
pacman -S vim
vim /etc/locale.gen (set up locale for my region)
locale-gen
echo "LANG=en_US.UTF-8" > /etc/locale.conf
echo "archlinux" > /etc/hostname
vim /etc/hosts (set up host stuff)
passwd (set password)
pacman -S grub efibootmgr
grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot --bootloader-id=grub
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
exit

reboot