You are not logged in.

#1 2024-01-05 21:35:21

SchaengJuan

PKGBUILD review: python-julia

Hello everyone,

as I am pretty new to PKGBUILD and python package in general, I would like to get some feedbacks before I try to push my PKGBUILD. The current AUR version of python-julia is outdated and seems to be broken. Following is my attempt

# Maintainer: SchaengJuan
# Contributor: j605

_name="julia"
pkgname="python-${_name}"
pkgver=0.6.2
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="python interface to julia"
arch=('any')
url="https://github.com/JuliaPy/pyjulia"
license=('MIT')
depends=('python' 'julia-bin')
checkdepends=(python-tox)
makedepends=('python-pypandoc' 'pandoc' 'python-setuptools')
source=("$pkgname-$pkgver.tar.gz::https://github.com/JuliaPy/pyjulia/archive/v$pkgver.tar.gz")
sha256sums=('ca2291bd5560535215f544ec44825a6435462a8c55820c253555b43648bc098d')

build() {
  cd "pyjulia-$pkgver"
  python setup.py build
}

check() {
  cd "pyjulia-$pkgver"
  # install PyCall is necessary to pass the test; change the python env might not be necessary
  julia -e 'using Pkg; ENV["PYTHON"]="/usr/bin/python"; Pkg.add("PyCall")'
  tox
}

package() {
  cd "pyjulia-$pkgver"
  python setup.py install --root="$pkgdir" --prefix=/usr -O1 --skip-build

install -Dm 644 LICENSE.md "${pkgdir}/usr/share/licenses/${pkgname}/LICENSE.md"
}

Other than changing the package version and checksum and add  python-setuptools as dependency, I added

julia -e 'using Pkg; ENV["PYTHON"]="/usr/bin/python"; Pkg.add("PyCall")' 

. Otherwise, the test will not be passed with the following error

PyCall is not installed or built.  Run the following code in Python REPL:

>>> import julia
    >>> julia.install()

See:
    https://pyjulia.readthedocs.io/en/latest/installation.html

Exit: PyCall not built
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! _pytest.outcomes.Exit: PyCall not built !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!