You are not logged in.

#1 2024-01-13 11:56:22

argonfox

secret-tool: The name is not activatable

Hi! I'm very new to Arch, so I apologize for my lack of understanding.

I'm trying to use secret-tool to store some of my credentials. However, when running the following commands:

secret-tool store --label='My password' key1 value1 key2 value2
Password: hunter2

The only output I'm getting is

. If I run the command as root (which I don't think I'm supposed to do), I get the following error:

secret-tool: Error spawning command line “dbus-launch --autolaunch=4479988cd3304bcf8c187562c7efc154 --binary-syntax --close-stderr”: Child process exited with code 1

I haven't really found a web resource on this exact combination, but there's quite a bit of noise out there regarding the "name not activatable" error, which seems to be coming from the bus directly?

The same problem pops up in 1Password when trying to store my 2FA token:

WARN  2024-01-13T11:58:32.433 tokio-runtime-worker(ThreadId(11)) [1P:op-b5-client/src/internal/unauthorized_session.rs:1067] Error retrieving an account's 2FA token: SystemKeyringError(LinuxError(DBus(MethodError(OwnedErrorName(ErrorName(Str(Owned("org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown")))), Some([b]"The name is not activatable"[/b]), Msg { type: Error, sender: UniqueName(Str(Borrowed("org.freedesktop.DBus"))), reply-serial: 2, body: Signature("s") })))). Falling back to a prompt.

Checking under /usr/share/dbus-1/services/, I can see that there's no org.freedesktop.Secrets.* files at all. I'm not entirely sure how to get them.

I have

polkit

installed for authentication and I haven't observed any issues with it.

I'm a bit stuck at this point, and not sure where to keep looking. If someone has an idea, I'd grateful for any help smile

Last edited by argonfox (2024-01-13 12:06:23)

#2 2024-04-29 17:40:05

silverqx

Re: secret-tool: The name is not activatable