You are not logged in.

#1 2024-01-18 07:06:15

lquidfire

PKGBUILD libcs50(,-git) Makefile patch help requested

Edit: I apologise, this belongs in "Creating & Modifying Packages" rather... If a mod could please move this I'd be grateful. Sorry for using your time!

Hi all,

I took over the AUR packages libcs50 and libcs50-git, and am here to ask for some assistance to make them better.

Any tips are welcome, of course.

In the upstream Makefile, CFLAGS and LDFLAGS ("LINKER_FLAGS") are set: see lines 12 and 30 and 39-40, if I am not mistaken. This, I gather, bypasses the CFLAGS and LDFLAGS on the machine that you're building the package on. This results in namcap spewing warnings about no RELRO.

I have no background in software or building software. Still, I poked around the Makefile a bit after searching on these forums, and came up with the following patch ("diff -u Makefile Makefile.old > Makefile-FLAGS.patch"):

--- Makefile	2024-01-17 16:45:50.820032476 +0200
+++ Makefile.old	2024-01-17 16:50:35.989535760 +0200
@@ -9,7 +9,7 @@
 INCLUDE := src/cs50.h
 MANS := $(wildcard docs/*.3.gz)

-CFLAGS=-Wall -Wextra -Werror -pedantic -std=c11
+CFLAGS+=-Wall -Wextra -Werror -pedantic -std=c11
 BASENAME=libcs50
 LIB_STATIC=$(BASENAME).a
 LIB_OBJ=$(BASENAME).o
@@ -36,8 +36,8 @@
 all: $(LIBS) $(MANS)

$(LIBS): $(SRC) $(INCLUDE) Makefile
-	$(CC) $(CFLAGS) -fPIC -shared $(LINKER_FLAGS) -o $(LIB_VERSION) $(SRC)
-	$(CC) $(CFLAGS) -c -o $(LIB_OBJ) $(SRC)
+	$(CC) $(CFLAGS) -fPIC -shared $(LINKER_FLAGS) -o $(LIB_VERSION) $(SRC) ${LDFLAGS}
+	$(CC) $(CFLAGS) -c -o $(LIB_OBJ) $(SRC) $(LDFLAGS)
 	ar rcs $(LIB_STATIC) $(LIB_OBJ)
 	chmod 644 $(LIB_STATIC)
 	rm -f $(LIB_OBJ)

Is this a correct way to add the build-system's CFLAGS and LDFLAGS for building libcs50(,-git)?