You are not logged in.

#1 2007-01-27 18:54:33

canucks604
Member
Registered: 2007-01-27
Posts: 18

new arch linux user

hi all,

i'm a new arch linux user (long & current gentoo user), i just wanted to try out arch and see how it's like after hearing alot of good things about it.

i proceeded to install voodoo and i must say i'm impressed.  smooth installation process and i kinda like pacman smile  the install process was rather quick.  but i do have just one tiny question.  when i use pacman to install say...firefox. it doesn't seem to update the environment.

ie.
1. pacman -S firefox
2. look for firefox bin to execute and it doesn't exist

but if i reboot, then it's there. 

thanks,

ps. good job arch devs!

Offline

#2 2007-01-27 19:46:00

hacosta
Member
From: Mexico
Registered: 2006-10-22
Posts: 423

Re: new arch linux user

no need to reboot, just source /etc/profile path variable needs to be updated

Offline

#3 2007-01-27 19:50:08

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,175

Re: new arch linux user

Yep, you could confirm this by typing the full path to the installed binary which will probably work fine smile If not, something else is wrong. And of course most programs are installed in /usr/bin anyway so this problem only occurs with big packages supplying their own /bin directory.

Offline

#4 2007-01-28 00:26:40

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,092

Re: new arch linux user

logging out/in also works, or you can export the new $PATH by hand smile


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#5 2007-01-28 04:23:53

canucks604
Member
Registered: 2007-01-27
Posts: 18

Re: new arch linux user

thanks smile

now i'm gonna install arch64 on my adm64 htpc machine now big_smile

cheers.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB