You are not logged in.

#1 2024-02-10 18:24:25

ekc
Member
Registered: 2024-02-10
Posts: 4

Dummy Output Issue on Arch Linux

Hello, I'm relatively new to Arch Linux and still trying to learn. Currently, I have Arch Linux installed on my new Huawei D15 with an AMD Ryzen 5700U processor. However, I'm unable to get any sound; I'm constantly getting the "dummy output" issue. I've encountered the same problem when I tried a couple of other distributions as well. However, since I'm using Arch, I'd like to know how to resolve it specifically for Arch. Can anyone help me with this?

Offline

#2 2024-02-11 12:04:21

c00ter
Member
From: Alaskan in Washington State
Registered: 2014-08-28
Posts: 373

Re: Dummy Output Issue on Arch Linux

How did you "resolve it specifically" in those other distributions?


UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things. -- Doug Gwyn

Offline

#3 2024-02-11 12:38:07

ekc
Member
Registered: 2024-02-10
Posts: 4

Re: Dummy Output Issue on Arch Linux

I couldn't resolve the issue on other distributions either, but since I want to use Arch specifically, I mean I want to solve the problem especially on Arch.

Offline

#4 2024-02-11 14:58:25

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,154

Re: Dummy Output Issue on Arch Linux

Post

sudo fuser -v /dev/snd/*
sudo dmesg | grep -E 'snd|sof'
aplay -lL
pactl list cards

in code tags. Random guess, install sof-firmware and reboot

Offline

#5 2024-02-11 18:23:13

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 5,171

Re: Dummy Output Issue on Arch Linux

I assume this uses the same chip as other similar huawei models. What is the exact model of your laptop?

head /sys/devices/virtual/dmi/id/{board_vendor,product_name,board_name,product_version}

Linux 6.7 has added suppport for some of those.
https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commi … 0b36c6bba5

It looks like Linux 6.8 might have some better logic that does not require manually adding all models?
https://lore.kernel.org/all/87a5pcp18r. … i@suse.de/

More references:
https://lore.kernel.org/all/?q=ACP3x
https://github.com/codepayne/pop-os-linux/wiki
https://github.com/codepayne/linux-soun … i/issues/5
https://github.com/codepayne/linux-sound-huawei/wiki
https://github.com/thesofproject/linux/issues/3248


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Online

#6 2024-02-11 20:30:52

ekc
Member
Registered: 2024-02-10
Posts: 4

Re: Dummy Output Issue on Arch Linux

V1del wrote:

Post

sudo fuser -v /dev/snd/*
sudo dmesg | grep -E 'snd|sof'
aplay -lL
pactl list cards

in code tags. Random guess, install sof-firmware and reboot


Unfortunetly. It wasn't effective.

Offline

#7 2024-02-11 20:33:23

ekc
Member
Registered: 2024-02-10
Posts: 4

Re: Dummy Output Issue on Arch Linux

progandy wrote:

I assume this uses the same chip as other similar huawei models. What is the exact model of your laptop?

head /sys/devices/virtual/dmi/id/{board_vendor,product_name,board_name,product_version}

Linux 6.7 has added suppport for some of those.
https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commi … 0b36c6bba5

It looks like Linux 6.8 might have some better logic that does not require manually adding all models?
https://lore.kernel.org/all/87a5pcp18r. … i@suse.de/

More references:
https://lore.kernel.org/all/?q=ACP3x
https://github.com/codepayne/pop-os-linux/wiki
https://github.com/codepayne/linux-soun … i/issues/5
https://github.com/codepayne/linux-sound-huawei/wiki
https://github.com/thesofproject/linux/issues/3248


BoM-WFP9, kernel version Linux archlinux 6.7.3-hardened1-3-hardened.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB