You are not logged in.

#26 2024-03-07 15:36:18

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 50,924

Re: [RESOLVED] Cpu usage over 200% on fresh installation of arch

Have you tried/confirmed whether it's that issue at all (ie. tested the 6.6.14 kernel)?

Offline

#27 2024-03-11 02:07:40

jfab
Member
Registered: 2024-02-11
Posts: 17

Re: [RESOLVED] Cpu usage over 200% on fresh installation of arch

seth wrote:

Have you tried/confirmed whether it's that issue at all (ie. tested the 6.6.14 kernel)?

I don't really know how to install previous kernels, so no. But I guess that will work because my computer was fine before that update (or some older kernel), so probably 6.6.14 kernel worked fine on my machine. I have tried to install all other kernels (zen/lts) and they all seem to fail. I have tried all kernel options suggested here with no effect. Hopefully this gets randomly resolved some day otherwise I'm just going to manjaro sad

Offline

#28 2024-03-11 07:55:25

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 50,924

Re: [RESOLVED] Cpu usage over 200% on fresh installation of arch

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Arch_Linux_Archive
For the kernel, unlike pretty much every other package, it's mostly safe to download it in isolation. But you'll need matching header and OOT (nvidia, virtualbox,…) modules - or their dkms variant.

Offline

#29 2024-03-24 04:24:25

jfab
Member
Registered: 2024-02-11
Posts: 17

Re: [RESOLVED] Cpu usage over 200% on fresh installation of arch

6.6.1 kernel is on Manjaro now. My computer broke in the same way, same acpi errors. Now I cannot use Manjaro either sad

Offline

#30 2024-03-24 08:00:30

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 50,924

Re: [RESOLVED] Cpu usage over 200% on fresh installation of arch

If 6.6.1 doesn't work for you (though manjaro is only mildly translatable) you're less likely to face https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=293140 though it's supposed to be fixed in 6.8 - have you tried that kernel iteration (default on arch)?

Offline

#31 2024-03-24 16:58:01

jfab
Member
Registered: 2024-02-11
Posts: 17

Re: [RESOLVED] Cpu usage over 200% on fresh installation of arch

I tried re installing arch to check. Now not even the installer works. I downloaded the latest iso and I get ACPI errors before even installing anything, I cannot access the iso.

Offline

#32 2024-03-24 18:30:33

jfab
Member
Registered: 2024-02-11
Posts: 17

Re: [RESOLVED] Cpu usage over 200% on fresh installation of arch

seth wrote:

If 6.6.1 doesn't work for you (though manjaro is only mildly translatable) you're less likely to face https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=293140 though it's supposed to be fixed in 6.8 - have you tried that kernel iteration (default on arch)?

I installed arch with an old iso and the problem seems to be gone!

I think the new iso might have a previous kernel or something because I cannot make it work, but the new 6.8 kernel solves everything. Thanks!

Offline

#33 2024-03-24 19:00:14

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 50,924

Re: [RESOLVED] Cpu usage over 200% on fresh installation of arch

\o/

In case, please always remember to mark resolved threads by editing your initial posts subject - so others will know that there's no task left, but maybe a solution to find.
Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB