You are not logged in.

#1 2024-02-29 20:19:23

earthian
Member
Registered: 2024-02-29
Posts: 2

[SOLVED] Can't update version numbering scheme using epoch

Initially when posting package on aur i made a mistake, even tho i read on wiki that i shouldn't be using version prefixed with 'v', but it was late in the night and i posted with initial version of a package to be 'v2.1.0.r14.g946b1ff-1'.

Later i decided to change the version numbering scheme with epoch field, so i added 'epoch=1' to PKGBUILD, pushed it to aur, but version didn't change. I thought to myself 'ok, maybe next time when i push with new version it's gonna update', but no, today i updated package verison yet again and it still shows up the very first version.

What am i missing? Link to the aur package: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/rofi … ayland-git

Last edited by earthian (2024-02-29 20:39:46)

Offline

#2 2024-02-29 20:29:38

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,908

Re: [SOLVED] Can't update version numbering scheme using epoch

Did you regenerate .SRCINFO after making the changes to the PKGBUILD ?


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#3 2024-02-29 20:37:25

earthian
Member
Registered: 2024-02-29
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Can't update version numbering scheme using epoch

I didn't. Thank you, sir.

Offline

#4 2024-02-29 21:31:26

yochananmarqos
Member
Registered: 2020-02-05
Posts: 196

Re: [SOLVED] Can't update version numbering scheme using epoch

FYI, you did not need to use an epoch.

❯ vercmp v2.1.0.r14.g946b1ff-1 2.1.0.r14.g946b1ff-1
-1

Notice that the old version with the v prefix is older than without.

❯ vercmp --help
vercmp (pacman) v6.0.2

Compare package version numbers using pacman's version comparison logic.

Usage: vercmp <ver1> <ver2>

Output values:
  < 0 : if ver1 < ver2
    0 : if ver1 == ver2
  > 0 : if ver1 > ver2

By the way, since no one probably even noticed, you can just remove the epoch.

Last edited by yochananmarqos (2024-02-29 21:32:54)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB