You are not logged in.

#1 2024-03-29 22:01:03

NewArchUser0001

The xz package has been backdoored

Hello,

Just wondering if someone can shed some light on the recent  "xz package has being backdoored"

I had version 5.6.1-1 of the xz program installed (I just updated to 5.6.1-2) when i seen the update on the arch site about this.

My question here considering I'm not a security expert is how would the xz program be exploited on a machine that had it installed? like what would the process be for that? I had the program running on just a desktop not a server and I'm wondering how open i was to being backdoored with that program installed.

Thanks for your time.

#2 2024-03-29 22:13:58

Scimmia
Fellow

Re: The xz package has been backdoored

As the announcement says, the known exploitation vector isn't available on Arch. From what is known at this point, Arch was never vulnerable. It happened because on some distros, sshd links to libsystemd, which links to liblzma and that's where the backdoor was.

#3 2024-03-31 18:46:45

philotomy

What is currently known about how the exploit functions is kind of spread across multiple research sites, at the moment. These are decent starting points, but all of this is still being researched so the information should not be considered complete:

FAQ on the xz-utils backdoor (thesamesam)
Payload analysis (Midar wiki)

The FAQ linked above also includes links to other analysis documentation (in the "Analysis of the payload" section).

Info can also be found by reading through the oss-security mailing list (starting here).

Tu ne cede malis sed contra audentior ito!

#4 2024-03-31 18:54:34

Brocellous

Scimmia wrote:

It happened because on some distros, sshd links to libsystemd

No, the backdoor was never included in the Arch packages. You could LD_PRELOAD lzma from 5.6.1-1 into sshd and still be unaffected.