You are not logged in.

#1 2024-04-08 18:59:17

Konzertheld
Member
Registered: 2017-03-09
Posts: 17

Can't use systemctl with sudo in distrobox

Hi everyone,

I use Arch within distrobox (docker.io/library/archlinux:latest). I can't use systemctl with root privileges, neither via sudo nor as user root. A plain

systemctl

gives me:

Failed to list units: Transport endpoint is not connected

. For

systemctl status cups

I get

Failed to get properties: Transport endpoint is not connected

. Unfortunately, I do not even know what that means, so I'm asking for help diagnosing the issue here. Is that an issue with my Arch installation or am I using Distrobox wrong? What I was actually trying to do was diagnose why cups does not work but I did not come far due to the mentioned issue.

Offline

#2 2024-04-08 19:19:04

ua4000
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 430

Re: Can't use systemctl with sudo in distrobox

Hi, did you read
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Distro … _container
?

What is your host operating system, and has it systemd ?

Offline

#3 2024-04-08 19:30:48

Konzertheld
Member
Registered: 2017-03-09
Posts: 17

Re: Can't use systemctl with sudo in distrobox

ua4000 wrote:

Hi, did you read
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Distro … _container
?

What is your host operating system, and has it systemd ?

I did read that, however, I intended to use a separate systemd inside the container and therefore did not set those symlinks. My host operating system is SteamOS and yes, it has systemd.

Offline

#4 2024-04-08 19:42:45

ua4000
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 430

Re: Can't use systemctl with sudo in distrobox

Using init system inside a distrobox https://github.com/89luca89/distrobox/b … -distrobox
"If you want to use a non-pre-create image, you'll need to add the additional package"


Could this help ?

Offline

#5 2024-04-09 22:14:57

Konzertheld
Member
Registered: 2017-03-09
Posts: 17

Re: Can't use systemctl with sudo in distrobox

Assuming adding the package means installing it like I would with pacman, I did that already, just with pacman, not via the distrobox parameter.

ua4000 wrote:

Using init system inside a distrobox https://github.com/89luca89/distrobox/b … -distrobox
"If you want to use a non-pre-create image, you'll need to add the additional package"


Could this help ?

Offline

#6 2024-04-10 14:34:57

ua4000
Member
Registered: 2015-10-14
Posts: 430

Re: Can't use systemctl with sudo in distrobox

I'm not familiar with distrobox specifics - maybe the special installation way is required ? Why distrobox does not tell the user to perform the usual apt-get or pacman -S inside the box ?

I'm out here, because your OS is SteamOS and your Arch client is no vanilla arch and not installed via the official way.

Sorry, no support here.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB