You are not logged in.

#1 2024-04-13 10:56:16

Jmvars

Arch BIOS entry disappeared and unable to boot into live installation

I was booted into Windows but when I tried to reboot into Arch the BIOS entry suddenly wasn't there. I created a completely fresh installation medium from the latest ISO and planned to chroot into Arch via a USB installation medium to see if I could fix it but I can't even get into that. I sat on this part for 10 minutes before giving up. I know that sdb is the drive my Arch is on so it seems like Arch somehow got corrupted while I was in Windows, or during boot.

I can't seem to find a way to repair it on Windows, and I can't get into it via the installation medium. I'm not opposed to completely wiping the drive but I would strongly prefer not to as 90% of my time was spent in Arch.

In case it matters: I have two identical 2TB SATA SSD's, one contains Windows, the other Arch. They are two physical drives.
I've been using this setup for 5 months with no issue, dualbooting back and forth.

#2 2024-04-13 15:21:49

mpan
Website

Re: Arch BIOS entry disappeared and unable to boot into live installation

Seems like the data on the SSD is damaged. You may try ensuring the SATA cable is still firmly attached on both ends, but I doubt it is the case here: I believe the error comes from the SSD itself failing to read data.

You may check SMART data to get more confidence:

smartctl -A /dev/sdb

Sometimes I seem a bit harsh — don’t get offended too easily!

#3 2024-04-13 15:58:52

Jmvars

mpan wrote:

Seems like the data on the SSD is damaged. You may try ensuring the SATA cable is still firmly attached on both ends, but I doubt it is the case here: I believe the error comes from the SSD itself failing to read data.

You may check SMART data to get more confidence:

smartctl -A /dev/sdb

How do I do that when I can't access my Arch install or the Arch installation medium?

Last edited by Jmvars (2024-04-13 15:59:44)

#4 2024-04-13 17:54:12

mpan