You are not logged in.

#1 2024-05-07 23:13:16

dashie
Member
Registered: 2024-05-07
Posts: 2

[SOLVED] USB Grub Bootloader for recovery

My plan was to create a USB recovery and installation sort of thing.
Mainly having multiple partitions for various windows installer, arch installer, memtest etc...
One USB to rule them all.

What I did is:
i created a GPT usb device and partitioned it like this and created the Filesystems (lsblk -f)

NAME        FSTYPE FSVER LABEL       UUID                                 FSAVAIL FSUSE% MOUNTPOINTS
sda                                                                                      
├─sda1      vfat   FAT32 BOOT        0AA3-6CCB                                           
├─sda2      vfat   FAT32 ARCH        1663-1ABF                                           
├─sda3      vfat   FAT32 WIN10       0B2D-373B                                           
└─sda4      vfat   FAT32 WIN11       0B57-D886 

- ARCH Partition has the arch iso copied to
- WIN10 and WIN11 have their iso copied to

the idea was to have a BOOT partition where grub is installed to and it can load the bootloaders/efi's from the other partitions

i have grub installed on sda1 and when i boot it i get a grub commandline.
now the question is how do i configure grub.cfg properly to load the other partition bootloaders?

i've tried around a bit exploring with ls the hd1,gptX paritions and then load everything manually somehting like that

insmod fat
set root=hd1,gpt3
chainloader /bootmgr.efi

but that did not work...
any suggestions or is my approach wrong/bad ?

Last edited by dashie (2024-05-08 22:13:33)

Offline

#2 2024-05-07 23:19:40

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 11,722

Re: [SOLVED] USB Grub Bootloader for recovery

That is never going to work right. Grub can load ISOs directly, or use something like Ventoy (currently broken with Arch, I believe).

Offline

#3 2024-05-07 23:21:08

dashie
Member
Registered: 2024-05-07
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] USB Grub Bootloader for recovery

Scimmia wrote:

That is never going to work right. Grub can load ISOs directly, or use something like Ventoy (currently broken with Arch, I believe).

oh so i should just copy the iso's onto my grub partition and create menu entries to load the iso instead ?

edit: got it to run the way i wanted it with partitions

Last edited by dashie (2024-05-08 22:14:14)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB