You are not logged in.

#1 2024-05-09 06:20:34

Zatena
Member
Registered: 2023-08-06
Posts: 37

Reason for error message "nothing to do"

Hello,

when I try to update all my AUR packets I receive the following error message

yay --devel     
:: Paketdatenbanken werden synchronisiert …
 core ist aktuell
 extra ist aktuell
 sublime-text ist aktuell
:: Durchsuche AUR nach Updates...
:: Prüfe Entwicklungspakete...
:: Durchsuche Datenbanken nach Updates...
 -> Als nicht aktuell markierte AUR-Pakete: brave-bin
 es gibt nichts zu tun

The last two lines saying:
-> AUR packages marked as not up-to-date: brave-bin
there is nothing to do

I don't think that I say the message before, what is the reason for this message

Offline

#2 2024-05-09 07:12:55

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,412

Re: Reason for error message "nothing to do"

Using yay.
Not reading manapages.

What do you expect "yay --devel" to do?
yay will just accept bogus input and then do something™

Offline

#3 2024-05-09 07:28:53

Zatena
Member
Registered: 2023-08-06
Posts: 37

Re: Reason for error message "nothing to do"

"yay --devel" checks the AUR for updates by checking the newest commit hash in git agains the currect installed package hash. This is at least what I understand. Maybe I missunderstand something.

For me the words "make as not up-to-date" means that the hash in git in different from the current installed package, but why does the next line said "there is nothing to do" ?

I already installed the brave-bin again but the message is still the same afterwards. I don't get it.

Offline

#4 2024-05-09 07:40:58

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,412

Re: Reason for error message "nothing to do"

Try "yay -Syu --devel" - or, even better: Don't use yay

Offline

#5 2024-05-09 08:03:52

Zatena
Member
Registered: 2023-08-06
Posts: 37

Re: Reason for error message "nothing to do"

Hello seth,

thank you for your reply

if I use "yay -Syu --devel" nothing is different from the reported output.
Still the same message, also the output for the command is the same:

yay -Syu --devel
:: Paketdatenbanken werden synchronisiert …
 core ist aktuell
 extra                                   7,8 MiB  9,37 MiB/s 00:01 [-------------------------------------] 100%
 sublime-text ist aktuell
:: Durchsuche AUR nach Updates...
:: Prüfe Entwicklungspakete...
:: Durchsuche Datenbanken nach Updates...
 -> Als nicht aktuell markierte AUR-Pakete: brave-bin
 es gibt nichts zu tun

If you suggest to not use "yay" I am not sure what I should use to install for example brave-bin. Do you have a hint for me what might be the better way. I am happy to try different ways.


PS:
Maybe I'm wrong, but I have the feeling that you are answering me (at least) in an aggressive way, but I don't know why. I asked a friendly question that will help me improve my skills to gain experience and maybe help other users on this forum in the future. If someone hasn't read the manpage (for whatever reason), why not say "I think you'll find the reason for your problem in manpage xyz" or "I think you misunderstood the output". At least that's my wish to get an answer from someone.

Please don't take this comment as a personal attack, because these are just my thoughts and I don't want to attack anyone.

Offline

#6 2024-05-09 08:04:43

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,952
Website

Re: Reason for error message "nothing to do"

Mod note: moving to AUR Issues.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#7 2024-05-09 09:16:33

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,412

Re: Reason for error message "nothing to do"

Not angry, maybe annoyed. And by yay - Not you.

Try Just "yay -Syu", brave-bin ist probably Not a git package.

The proper approachbis to Not rely on Pacman wrappers:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Arch_U … g_packages

Offline

#8 2024-05-09 21:37:08

Zatena
Member
Registered: 2023-08-06
Posts: 37

Re: Reason for error message "nothing to do"

Hello seth,

thank you for your answer. The output for "yay -Syu" shows the same result as before.
I even deinstalled brave with yay -R and installed it again with yay -S, afterwards I still get the message.

BR

Offline

#9 2024-05-09 21:49:07

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 17,616

Re: Reason for error message "nothing to do"

@Zatena if yay is not working as expected why not raise this with the authors of yay or through their support channels?  yay is far from the only AUR helper and no helper is required to use AUR.

Offline

#10 2024-05-11 21:54:33

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,412

Re: Reason for error message "nothing to do"

Also please check "LC_ALL=C yay -Syu", I suspect that this is a translation issue and this is actually a message telling you that the package has been flagged out of date

Offline

#11 2024-05-11 23:04:26

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,633
Website

Re: Reason for error message "nothing to do"

What do you expect to happen?  The -devel flag tells yay only to check for upgrades of *-git packages - or in otherwords, explicitly not brave-bin.  There is nothing wrong here.  What you are referring to as an error message is not an error message.  It's a report of successful completion: yay did what you asked.

I mean, I agree with all of the above: you shouldn't use yay.  But you're not even using it correctly.  If you are going to use it, read the man page.

Last edited by Trilby (2024-05-11 23:05:17)


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB