You are not logged in.

#1 2024-06-25 02:30:55

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

On:
- HP ENVY x360 Convertible 13-ay0xxx
- 6.9.6-arch1-1

When resuming from sleep, AHCI controller fails. /dev/sda3 fails to mount, and journalctl fails to log.
When I run dmesg -w prior to suspend, on resume I see the following

i2c_hid_acpi i2c-ELAN2514:00: failed to change power setting
i2c_hid_acpi i2c-ELAN2514:00: dpm_run_callback(): acpi_subsys_resume+0x0/0x80 returns -121
...
ahci 0000:04:00.0: PM: Controller reset failed (0xffffffff)
ahci 0000:04:00.0: PM: dpm_run_callback(): pci_pm_resume+0x0/0xf0 returns -5

When I terminate dmesg, the terminal continues to run, but I can only use bash's built-in commands. Everything in /usr/bin is inaccessible, giving "Input/Output Error"

FWIW, I would like to append the complete dmesg output, but it's quite difficult to manually transcribe the terminal output to another machine.


EDIT 1:
I learned how to downgrade kernel revisions, and found that kernel v6.5.0 works, whereas kernel v6.5.1 does not. I'm not sure where I can find the changes between the versions to debug further...

I would really appreciate any help to debug.

Last edited by qqspaniard (2024-06-25 02:34:22)

Offline

#2 2024-06-25 05:07:38

cryptearth
Member
Registered: 2024-02-03
Posts: 401

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

do you really mean 6.5.0 as last working kernel? as this is quite some time ago and current lts is 6.6 or so
anyway: recently there were some changes made to the base ahci driver - also along some power management stuff
as I also suffered from a recent change and got it reverted I noticed that many changes in the past commits were introduced for some good reason but without much testing and hence cause quite some weired issues all over the place
I don't want to "blame" anybody as thier intentions are towards the greater good - but changes to such fundamental base drivers should undergo quite a lot of testing before pushed to mainline upstream

Offline

#3 2024-06-25 18:00:07

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

I haven't tested every version between 6.5 and 6.9.6, I may try to do that today

Offline

#4 2024-06-25 18:14:27

gromit
Package Maintainer (PM)
From: Germany
Registered: 2024-02-10
Posts: 230
Website

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

I think if you have an issue with 6.9.X it makes sense to first check if the 6.8 release is working i.e. by installing it via the archive:

sudo pacman -U https://archive.archlinux.org/packages/l/linux/linux-6.8.arch1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

You can also try the latest mainline candidate to see if its already fixed upstream:

sudo pacman -U https://pkgbuild.com/\~gromit/linux-bisection-kernels/linux-mainline-6.10rc5-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.zst

If you find an old version working and its not yet fixed in mainline its a regression and we can debug it together smile

Offline

#5 2024-06-28 23:46:26

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

I think I've identified my problem...
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Ryzen# … nd_suspend

My UEFI doesn't allow modification to any of the ahci bits, but

 processor.max_cstate=1 

fixed the problem. Anyone know why its a "less ideal solution"?

Last edited by qqspaniard (2024-06-29 18:48:52)

Offline

#6 2024-06-29 07:41:14

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,452

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

Your CPU cannot power down and will suck up a lot of battery
Also some idiots are probably gonna spray-paint the Alhambra when they learn abotu that, so try whether you get away with https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Intel_ … up_from_S3

Offline

#7 2024-06-29 19:06:20

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

Thanks for the reply Seth,

I read through the linked wiki (and the links from there as well), and came up with these systemd scripts:

$ cat /etc/systemd/system/root-suspend.service

[Unit]
Description=Local system suspend actions
Before=sleep.target

[Service]
Type=simple
ExecStart=cpupower idle-set -E

[Install]
WantedBy=sleep.target

$ cat /etc/systemd/system/root-resume.service

[Unit]
Description=Local system resume actions
After=suspend.target

[Service]
Type=simple
ExecStart=cpupower set-idle -D0

[Install]
WantedBy=suspend.target

With these started, and processor.max_cstate=1 removed, I'm back to square 1. Any ideas?

Offline

#8 2024-06-29 20:27:23

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,452

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

I'd personally prefer to just use https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Power_ … stem-sleep to avoid service  handling, but more importantly, you're supposed to disable the c-states before the sleep and enable them afterwards.

Offline

#9 2024-06-29 21:55:10

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

Oooh thanks for that tip.
If I'm disabling c-states with cpupower, how does this solution suffer from the kernel-option solution?

Offline

#10 2024-06-29 21:58:22

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,452

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

The plan is to only disable them around the S3, so for a couple of seconds it's like you had the parameter set, but most of the time your allow the CPU to power down.

Offline

#11 2024-07-01 03:09:16

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

Ok, so, I've created this file

at /usr/lib/systemd/system-sleep/set-cstates.sh

#!/bin/sh
case $1/$2 in
        pre/*)
                echo "Enabling C-States"
                cpupower idle-set -E
                ;;
        post/*)
                echo "Disabling C-States"
                cpupower set-idle -D0
esac

With the kernel-option solution still enabled, this seems to work. Without the option, this does not work.

In journalctl, I see the echo messages before and after suspend.
Is there any way to determine whether or not the correct c-states have been entered?

Offline

#12 2024-07-01 06:46:55

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,452

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

seth wrote:

The plan is to only disable them around the S3

Offline

#13 2024-07-01 18:55:51

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

:facepalm:
Yes, of course, thank you.

This now "works" (suspend/resume), but I find that the battery life is still draining >10%/hour in when suspended. My understanding is that the c-states are disabled pre-suspend, and are being re-enabled after resume. This will still result in c-state 0 during suspend -> cpu power drain. Am I supposed to be re-enabling c-states before the suspend completes?

Last edited by qqspaniard (2024-07-01 18:56:11)

Offline

#14 2024-07-01 21:00:00

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,452

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

Am I supposed to be re-enabling c-states before the suspend completes?

No, that's hardly possible.

Do you s3 or s2idle?
On S3, the c-states should have asolutely no impact, but on s2idle they most likely will (because the CPU cannot shut down, you're effectively not idling)

 cat /sys/power/mem_sleep

Offline

#15 2024-07-01 22:28:35

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

Looks like

 [s2idle] 

On another machine (also arch), I see

 [s2idle] deep 

Should I switch one or both of these to s3?
I don't have any power issues on the machine running "deep"...

Last edited by qqspaniard (2024-07-01 22:28:48)

Offline

#16 2024-07-01 22:35:07

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,452

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

You're running s2idle on both, "deep" is the same as S3, but apparently no option on the problematc system.
processor.max_cstate=1 causes the same power drain during s2idle?

Offline

#17 2024-07-01 22:49:55

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

Correct. It seems as though entering the sleep state works just fine, but that the power drain in both solutions is quite bad.

I've found this blog post to attempt to re-enable S3 sleep:
https://blog.wyraz.de/linux/enabling-s3 … n-aero-13/

but I also see in these threads that s2idle should be supported now?
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=256365&p=2

Last edited by qqspaniard (2024-07-01 22:57:46)

Offline

#18 2024-07-02 07:27:26

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 943

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

Do you have any (maybe hidden) options in uEFI related to something like VMD Controller?
VMD-Controller.png


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Offline

#19 2024-07-02 17:20:20

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

The only thing I can see that would maybe be relevant is the "Adaptive battery optimizer". (Note this is a ryzen device)

(Apologies for the lack of an external vid-cap card)
https://ibb.co/album/G3fnBq

Last edited by qqspaniard (2024-07-02 17:21:54)

Offline

#20 2024-07-02 20:22:28

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,452

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

Offline

#21 2024-07-06 19:52:37

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

No dice. Seems like HP doesn't want me to tinker with the bios...

Why is it that Ryzen x Linux doesn't play well with s2idle?

Offline

#22 2024-07-07 06:34:50

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,452

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

It's not only ryzen, see the liked intel wiki.
Have you tried to add "ahci.mobile_lpm_policy=1" the kernel parameters instead of limiting the c-state?

Offline

#23 2024-07-08 16:57:47

qqspaniard
Member
Registered: 2024-06-22
Posts: 16

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

With

 ahci.mobile_lpm_policy=1 

The machine successfully enters suspend mode, but never recovers. AFAICT no input triggers a resume from sleep

Offline

#24 2024-07-08 21:12:02

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 54,452

Re: AHCI controller missing after resume from suspend, remount fails

Can you sleep/wake with rtcwake?

sudo rtcwake -m mem --date +1minute

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB