You are not logged in.

#1 2007-02-20 19:15:19

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

[Resolved]XFCE4 and X

Just installed Arch and after I installed X and XFCE4 when I try to start X iI get the error Failed to load module "wfb" (module does not exist,0). I found a post earlier but it delt with evdev but that is not my prob. my graphics card is a Geforce FX 5600. Any help would be appreciated!! THANKS Archers!!

Last edited by cphase (2007-02-22 13:18:32)


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#2 2007-02-20 20:37:54

Izuil
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-10-07
Posts: 162

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

Hmm how odd :S I have the same wm and graphics card and it works like a charm for me

EDIT: If i do a, sudo locate wfb it finds this:

/usr/include/xorg/shadowfb.h
/usr/lib/xorg/modules/libnvidia-wfb.so.1.0.9746
/usr/lib/xorg/modules/libwfb.so
/usr/lib/xorg/modules/libshadowfb.so

can you try this to see what you get?

EDIT2: If i search my xorg.conf for wfb it finds nothing...

Last edited by Izuil (2007-02-20 20:40:30)

Offline

#3 2007-02-20 20:43:06

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

It returns: /usr/include/xorg/shadowfb.h i don't have wfb in my xorg file either. Don't understand how it missed this module during the install. I guess it is a standalone module, I'm not sure. cannot find anything else on it.

Last edited by cphase (2007-02-20 20:46:23)


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#4 2007-02-20 20:46:35

baze
Member
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 393

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

have you installed the same versions of nvidia and nvidia-utils?

Offline

#5 2007-02-20 20:50:43

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

As far as I know I did, I used the Ga.tech mirror for my install. Just checked and they r both 1.0.9746-1

Last edited by cphase (2007-02-20 20:53:19)


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#6 2007-02-20 21:36:48

baze
Member
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 393

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

then you should have /usr/lib/xorg/modules/libnvidia-wfb.so.1.0.9746 too, try looking it up, maybe your locate database is not up to date.
otherwise, reinstall nvidia-utils. libnvidia-wfb is part of the nvidia-utils package.

you could also try another driver, like nv or vesa, to see if X starts with them. but i think reinstalling nvidia and nvidia-utils should help.

Last edited by baze (2007-02-20 21:39:32)

Offline

#7 2007-02-20 21:39:14

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

just did another clean install and the exact same thing. I must b missing something here.


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#8 2007-02-20 21:51:01

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

Reinstalled nvidia drivers and now i have: /usr/include/xorg/shadowfb.h and /usr/lib/xorg/modules/libshadowfb.so


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#9 2007-02-20 22:17:45

baze
Member
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 393

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

have you reinstalled nvidia-utils too?
the shadowfb.* files are not from the nvidia driver. shadowfb.h is provided by xorg-server. i don't know about libshadowfb.so, as i don't have that file.

have you tried looking up /usr/lib/xorg/modules/libnvidia-wfb.so.1.0.9746 manually? or run updatedb as root before you use locate.

ls /usr/lib/xorg/modules/libnvidia-wfb.so.1.0.9746

should list that file, else you have to reinstall nvidia-utils.

Last edited by baze (2007-02-20 22:21:36)

Offline

#10 2007-02-20 22:24:21

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

I have tried everything u mentioned, no luck. I have been searching high and low. I am going to look on the nvidia site but I am not expecting to find an answer.


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#11 2007-02-20 22:40:23

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

Just to make sure I have not missed anything, here is what I do after a clean install: 1. Set pacman to Gatech mirror. 2. pacman -S xorg. 3. pacman -S hwd. 4.hwd -x. 5. change the name of xorg file to xorg.conf. 6. pacman -S nvidia. 7. nvidia-xconfig. 8.pacman -S xfce4 and xfce4-goodies. 9. ~/.xinitrc: xfce-mcs-manager, xfwm4 --daemon, xftaskbar &, xfdesktop &, xfce-panel and xfce-session. Did I miss anything?


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#12 2007-02-20 23:54:48

ploxiln
Member
Registered: 2006-10-27
Posts: 50

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

YES.

Yes, you missed something. Unless you just forgot to list that you "pacman -S nvidia-utils"... you forgot to do that, after 3 posts above specifically mention it.

Offline

#13 2007-02-21 00:18:17

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

When u get the nvidia drivers nvidia-utils is downloaded first and installed first.


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#14 2007-02-21 06:45:13

RaisedFist
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2007-01-30
Posts: 553
Website

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

Why don't you try another mirror? Maybe this is the problem (?). It's very weird. For me it work from the first time.

Offline

#15 2007-02-21 09:14:58

baze
Member
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 393

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

you could also try nvidia-96xx instead of nvidia.
or have you tried nv or vesa, as i suggested? if those work, then it's definately related to the nvidia driver..

Offline

#16 2007-02-21 14:15:42

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

I have tried the nvidia 96xx drivers and they don't work. I have also tried nv and that does not work either. I had my box up and running for about four months but decided to do a clean install and when I did this problem reared its ugly head. i have been using the GAtech mirror for some time now but i may try another mirror as u suggest. Thanks for ur help and if anyone can think of anything else i would Appreciate it!!


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

#17 2007-02-22 13:17:28

cphase
Member
From: Newnan. GA
Registered: 2006-11-06
Posts: 116
Website

Re: [Resolved]XFCE4 and X

Installed from a diff mirror and all seems to b fine. I hate not using GATech it sure is fast. Thanks again for all ur help!!!

Last edited by cphase (2007-02-22 13:17:58)


Power to the Penguin

http://counter.li.org/ #386007

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB