You are not logged in.

#1 2025-02-21 22:44:32

theohose
Member
Registered: 2025-02-21
Posts: 4

Not enough space during pacstrap

I've been using a series of scripts to install arch for years, today I made minor modifications to the drive selections and now during pacstrap of the system, it fails with not enough space. I need a pair of fresh experienced eyes to point out the error.

Using a 1Tb drive "/sda" this is the section of code where the error occurred while installing the "base" package. Appreciate any guidance you can provide... Thanks

# Clean Disk Space
sgdisk -Z /dev/sda
# Create EFI Partition
sgdisk -n 1:0:+500M -t 1:ef00 -c 1:"EFI" /dev/sda
# Create SWAP Partition
sgdisk -n 2:0:+32G -t 2:8200 -c 2:"SWP" /dev/sda
# Create SYS Partition
sgdisk -n 3:0:$ENDSECTOR -t 3:8300 -c 3:"SYS" /dev/sda.       #lsblk shows 901.2G on this partition

# Create and mount file systems
mkfs.vfat -F32 -n EFI /dev/sda1
mkswap -L SWP /dev/sda2
swapon /dev/sda2
mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda3

mount /dev/sda3 /mnt
mkdir /mnt/boot
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/boot
pacstrap /mnt amd-ucode efibootmgr base base-devel linux linux-headers ......

Offline

#2 2025-02-22 02:16:32

defragmenteur
Member
Registered: 2022-04-23
Posts: 17

Re: Not enough space during pacstrap

Try -N option to use remaining space for your root partition. There is also a trailing dot (.) in your device path

sgdisk -N 3 -t 3:8300 -c 3:"SYS" /dev/sda

Offline

#3 2025-02-22 14:39:51

theohose
Member
Registered: 2025-02-21
Posts: 4

Re: Not enough space during pacstrap

Yes the "." is not in my script, inserted by the editor here when I spaced out to the include the comment; Good eye !!!

I tried the "N" option but same results, expected because both invocations amount to the same end.

I am at loss to explain what was happening so, shooting in the dark I decided to zero-out the disk overnight and unfortunately same results ??

At this point the only path left is to replace the hard drive......

Thanks for your time...

Offline

#4 2025-02-22 16:40:35

cryptearth
Member
Registered: 2024-02-03
Posts: 1,367

Re: Not enough space during pacstrap

what does

df -h

give before and after pacstrap
have you checked

mount

sounds like you would try to pacsteap into the limited cowspace of the install environment instead of a mounted filesystem 900gb in size

Offline

#5 2025-02-22 18:58:26

theohose
Member
Registered: 2025-02-21
Posts: 4

Re: Not enough space during pacstrap

I'm currently running some diagnostics on the HD to make sure is in good shape. After that I will try to do an install issuing each command manually and see where it goes off the rails. I'll also check space available as I go along.

I'll post my results a bit later on today...

Offline

#6 2025-02-23 02:31:06

theohose
Member
Registered: 2025-02-21
Posts: 4

Re: Not enough space during pacstrap

So after 8 hours of running "badblocks"  RW with a random pattern, showing no bad blocks and no errors I tried to install interactively by following my script one line at the time and it works.

To add to my confusion, if I run the script it fails and watching the execution I don't always see all the steps being executed such as the formating of the root partition;

Not sure what to make of this, these scripts have been working flawlessly for years !

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB