You are not logged in.

#351 2008-02-14 23:36:32

Frabato
Member
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 267

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Hi Again,

here is the message from the above script:

Connecting to ftp.alsa-project.org|160.217.9.25|:21... connected.
Logging in as anonymous ... Logged in!
==> SYST ... done.    ==> PWD ... done.
==> TYPE I ... done.  ==> CWD /pub/tools ... done.
==> PASV ... done.    ==> LIST ... done.

    [  <=>                                                                                                                ] 5,441       24.6K/s   in 0.2s   

2008-02-14 16:34:11 (24.6 KB/s) - `.listing' saved [5441]

Removed `.listing'.
Wrote HTML-ized index to `index.html' [10210].
cp: omitting directory `/tmp/yaourt-tmp-a/aur-alsa-tools/alsa-tools/'
Error: Makepkg was unable to build alsa-tools package.

Thanks again for the help, it's appreciated,
Arthur

Offline

#352 2008-02-15 00:54:54

btartsa
Member
Registered: 2004-07-26
Posts: 222

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Thats strange...I just built and installed from that script. Try just building it in /var/abs/local/alsa-tools with makepkg. Perhaps yaourt is doing something goofy?

Ben

Offline

#353 2008-02-15 19:37:06

Frabato
Member
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 267

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Hi All,

Turns out that I was installing from the AUR repository.
Yaourt wasn't doing anything goofy, I was.
I had the pro audio repository as:
http://arch.madfire.net/proaudio/x86_64
I switched it to i686 and now the repository works, but installing alsa-tools still doesn't work.

Proceed with installation? [Y/n]
checking package integrity...
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                   [#######################################################################################] 100%
(1/1) installing alsa-tools                         [#######################################################################################] 100%
warning: directory permissions differ on usr/man/man1/
filesystem: 755  package: 700

Then I get:
[a@acw ~]$ envy24control
bash: /usr/bin/envy24control: No such file or directory

Ben wrote:
"Try just building it in /var/abs/local/alsa-tools with makepkg."

I don't know how to get the files. I added this file to /etc/abs:

#
# supfile.proaudio
#

# this is the host containing the proaudio PKGBUILD files
*default host=cvs.archlinux.org

*default release=cvs
*default delete
*default use-rel-suffix
*default compress
#*default umask=002

*default tag=CURRENT-64
proaudio

but obviously the host is wrong or I'm barking up the wrong tree completely.

Searching this website, http://arch.madfire.net/proaudio/i686/ I didn't find alsa-tools.

Just a quick explanation as to why I don't already know these things. I spent about two weeks running Arch Linux a few months ago and I swicthed because some things were harder to do than on the distro's I was used to. After going through lots! and lots! of distros I came to this conclusion: everyone of them is a compromise in one way or another. Some are harder than others, some programs run better on this or that distro, some have more programs in their repositories than others, etc, etc. So when all was said and done I asked myself which was my favorite distro to run and the answer was Arch Linux, unfortunately I have a lot to learn about it. Right now I'm trying to get sound so that I don't have to reboot into ubuntu studio every time my two year old boy asks to hear Sting, Frank Zappa or Peter Gabriel. After I get the sound going I'll do some serious reading on the wiki and forums to figure out the rest of it.

Thanks for your help and understanding,
Arthur

Offline

#354 2008-02-15 20:35:15

btartsa
Member
Registered: 2004-07-26
Posts: 222

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Hi Arthur,

Make a directory in your home called alsa-tools. Copy the last PKGBUILD I posted to that dir (and call it PKGBUILD).

Run sudo makepkg -i 

You should be ready to go now. Have a look at the wiki on ABS/makepkg.

Ben


Don't forget we have an IRC channel too on freenode

#archlinux-proaudio

Last edited by btartsa (2008-02-15 20:38:00)

Offline

#355 2008-02-15 23:06:01

Frabato
Member
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 267

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Still no luck,

[a@acw ~]$ cd /home/a/alsa-tools
[a@acw alsa-tools]$ sudo makepkg -i
Password:
==> ERROR: Running makepkg as root is a BAD idea and can cause
    permanent, catastrophic damage to your system. If you
    wish to run as root, please use the --asroot option.
[a@acw alsa-tools]$ sudo makepkg -i  --asroot
==> Making package: alsa-tools 1.0.15-2  (Fri Feb 15 16:04:25 MST 2008)
==> WARNING: Running makepkg as root...
==> Checking Runtime Dependencies...
==> Checking Buildtime Dependencies...
==> Retrieving Sources...
  -> Downloading ...
--2008-02-15 16:04:25--  ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/tools/
           => `.listing'
Resolving ftp.alsa-project.org... 160.217.9.25
Connecting to ftp.alsa-project.org|160.217.9.25|:21... connected.
Logging in as anonymous ... Logged in!
==> SYST ... done.    ==> PWD ... done.
==> TYPE I ... done.  ==> CWD /pub/tools ... done.
==> PASV ... done.    ==> LIST ... done.

    [  <=>                                                                                                     ] 5,441       23.2K/s   in 0.2s   

2008-02-15 16:04:28 (23.2 KB/s) - `.listing' saved [5441]

Removed `.listing'.
Wrote HTML-ized index to `index.html' [10210].
cp: omitting directory `/home/a/alsa-tools/'

Any Clues?

Offline

#356 2008-02-15 23:43:43

btartsa
Member
Registered: 2004-07-26
Posts: 222

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Oh man I'm sorry. I figured it out. The cut and paste I did for the PKGBUILD went bad.

http://code.google.com/p/proaudio/sourc … s/PKGBUILD

Ben

Offline

#357 2008-02-16 00:52:27

Frabato
Member
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 267

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Success! Yeah! Thanks!

I learned lots of stuff during the process that I needed to know anyway.

Thanks,
Arthur

Offline

#358 2008-02-17 15:24:29

jonkristian
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-03-09
Posts: 101
Website

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

I am having problems with rt kernels and nvidia. Does anyone have a working setup for this? I've tried nvidia-rt from aur with the rt kernel from proaudio repos, not working. I've also tried building nvidia-2624rc2rt1 with kernel-2624rc2rt1 , and it didn't work either. Anyone have any solutions for this?

UPDATE: It seems that the new naming scheme for the rt kernel, which should imho only be used for local testing, is messing up nvidia, because nvidia is looking for kernel26rt not for example kernel-26239rt12-2.6.23

Someone should fix this. Again, imho, packages should not be released with special testing options, in this case, with the means of testing several rt kernels in one system.

UPDATE 2: Ok, after reading through the whole thread, i get the point of the new naming scheme, however, i don't see the point in the nvidia pkgbuilds, because they don't work properly.

Last edited by jonkristian (2008-02-20 16:21:06)


PROCRASTINATION
is like masturbation...it's good in the beginning, but in the end, you realize
you've just fkd yourself

Offline

#359 2008-02-20 04:21:33

Frabato
Member
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 267

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Hi All,

Are any of the rt kernels functioning on x86_64 machines? The AUR kernel fails to build (can't apply patch) and the proaudio kernels won't boot.
My grub is:
title  Arch Studio RT
root   (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26rt root=/dev/sda2 ro acpi=off
initrd /boot/kernel26rt.img

The message on bootup is:
request_module: runaway loop modprobe binfmt-464c

I have an nvidia card but I'm using the "nv" drivers.

Any Ideas?
Arthur

Offline

#360 2008-02-20 06:14:11

btartsa
Member
Registered: 2004-07-26
Posts: 222

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Hi Arthur, have a look here in trunk:

http://code.google.com/p/proaudio/source/browse

I don't have an nvidia card so I really can't be much help besides directing you to some PKGBUILDS.

Ben

Offline

#361 2008-02-20 07:20:24

jonkristian
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-03-09
Posts: 101
Website

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

What is the current best working rt kernel around now?

Idea: How about having the best working rt kernel in aur? From reading this thread, and the wiki, it seems to me that the best working rt kernel is  the one in http://arch.madfire.net/proaudio/pkgbuilds/

I also think the the wiki should reflect the current rt kernel in aur, which it doesnt, any ideas?

Last edited by jonkristian (2008-02-20 16:30:40)


PROCRASTINATION
is like masturbation...it's good in the beginning, but in the end, you realize
you've just fkd yourself

Offline

#362 2008-02-20 19:19:54

Frabato
Member
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 267

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Hello,

When I try and build these kernels. I get:
[a@myhost ~]$ cd /home/a/rtkernel
[a@myhost rtkernel]$ sudo makepkg -i --asroot
==> ERROR: Install scriptlet (kernel26rt.install) does not exist.

I've copied the PKGBUILD to my /home/a/rtkernel folder. I know I'm making a silly mistake.
I just don't know what it is.

Thanks,
Arthur

Offline

#363 2008-02-20 20:13:10

btartsa
Member
Registered: 2004-07-26
Posts: 222

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Arthur, you will need these files in your build directory
.
PKGBUILD   
config   
config.x86_64   
kernel-xxx.install   
kernel-xxx.preset   
mkinitcpio-kernel-xxx.conf

xxx being the kernel and patch versions you are using.

Lurk on #archlinux-proaudio on freenode and maybe we can work things out a bit better.

Ben

Offline

#364 2008-02-20 23:02:21

Frabato
Member
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 267

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Thanks Ben,

Well by now you must realize that I'm somewhat technologically challenged. I don't know how to "Lurk on #archlinux-proaudio on freenode", if you could recommend an easy program to do that, I'm sure I can figure it out.

Thanks and I look forward to Lurking soon,
Arthur

Offline

#365 2008-02-21 05:25:29

btartsa
Member
Registered: 2004-07-26
Posts: 222

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

ok here we go:

pick an irc client from the repos. I like xchat because I'm too stubborn to learn all the commands on the cli ones (weechat irssi etc.)

get on the freenode server and join some channels. I like #archlinux #archlinux-proaudio #ardour smile

Ben

Offline

#366 2008-02-21 05:31:54

btartsa
Member
Registered: 2004-07-26
Posts: 222

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

A message to all who have been following this thread:

Perhaps we could all benefit from logging on to the irc channel and staying on. I propose arranging a proaudio summit of sorts on irc. Maybe thats silly but I would like your input. There seems to be a disconnect between the people who frequent this thread.

Offline

#367 2008-02-21 07:30:38

jonkristian
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-03-09
Posts: 101
Website

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

I agree, I got it added to my autojoin:D


PROCRASTINATION
is like masturbation...it's good in the beginning, but in the end, you realize
you've just fkd yourself

Offline

#368 2008-02-21 16:01:45

funkmuscle
Member
Registered: 2006-02-09
Posts: 527

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

can't get X to run with this kernel 2.6.24_rc2_rt1 and the nvidia driver. get error that nvidia module is not found. boot into another kernel and that works.
nvidia is in rc.conf as mpdule. I've booted other rt kernels before using the nvidia rt drivers.


hey, maybe I'm asking stupid questions, in that case sorry, but no one is replying to my cry for help. I figure you guys are busy.
I just updated proaduio and tried the revised version of the kernel.
I get this error:

2008-03-04 14:07:55 (316 KB/s) - `patch-2.6.24-rc2-rt1.bz2' saved [275321]

  -> Found config in build dir
  -> Found config.x86_64 in build dir
  -> Found logo_linux_clut224.ppm in build dir
  -> Found logo_linux_mono.pbm in build dir
  -> Found logo_linux_vga16.ppm in build dir
  -> Found kernel26rt-24rc21.preset in build dir
  -> Found mkinitcpio-kernel26rt-24rc21.conf in build dir
==> Validating source files with md5sums...
    linux-2.6.23.tar.bz2 ... Passed
    patch-2.6.24-rc2.bz2 ... Passed
    patch-2.6.24-rc2-rt1.bz2 ... Passed
    config ... Passed
    config.x86_64 ... Passed
    logo_linux_clut224.ppm ... Passed
    logo_linux_mono.pbm ... Passed
    logo_linux_vga16.ppm ... Passed
    kernel26rt-24rc21.preset ... Passed
    mkinitcpio-kernel26rt-24rc21.conf ... Passed
==> Extracting Sources...
  -> bsdtar -x -f linux-2.6.23.tar.bz2
  -> bunzip2 -f patch-2.6.24-rc2.bz2
  -> bunzip2 -f patch-2.6.24-rc2-rt1.bz2
==> Entering fakeroot environment...
==> Starting build()...
patch: **** Can't open patch file ../patch-2.6.23-rc2 : No such file or directory
==> ERROR: Build Failed.
    Aborting...

I didn't edit anything, just did a makepkg...

Last edited by funkmuscle (2008-03-04 19:49:13)

Offline

#369 2008-03-05 15:49:28

m00tp01nt
Member
Registered: 2007-08-03
Posts: 14

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Shinlun, I'm trying to upload pyphat, a dependency of zynjacku to AUR but apparently I can't 'overwrite the package pyphat' which does not appear to exist.  Since you're maintaining phat, did you maybe upload pyphat then take it down or something like that?

Anyway I uploaded a couple lv2 plugins and zynjacku to both AUR and proaudio.  I got zynjacku working fine with the zyn synth, but the only way I could use freebob midi with it was to use a2jmidid which converts alsa midi ports to jack midi ports.  It pretty much just a working lv2 synth host right now with no save or load functionality, but you can layer multiple instances of different synths which is pretty cool.

Offline

#370 2008-03-05 17:38:23

schivmeister
Developer/TU
From: Singapore
Registered: 2007-05-17
Posts: 971
Website

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Sorry funkmuscle, that's mostly my fault. Made the updates with a script so some little things do get missed out. Due to time constraints I basically uploaded it straight away so anyone could at least get an almost-working PKGBUILD and other uploaders can update asap. Most mistakes are variable and/or source-related, like this one. For rc kernels, base is technically still the old one but the names would be around the new kernel version. Change both patch lines to reflect:

patch -Np1 -i ../patch-2.6.24-rc2

patch -Np1 -i ../patch-2.6.24-rc2-rt1

Anyway it also needs to be changed to reflect *.24's deprecation of the i386 dir, so you won't be able to successfully finish compilation. I'm updating soon, building it as I type. I'll try to clean up the pkgbuilds with more standard vars so we only meddle with version bumps and changing sources to /older or /testing/v2.6.x when they become obsolete.


I need real, proper pen and paper for this.

Offline

#371 2008-03-05 17:58:36

funkmuscle
Member
Registered: 2006-02-09
Posts: 527

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

no probs... Like I said, you guys are very busy so I understand... thanx again schivmeister.

Offline

#372 2008-03-05 20:13:00

schivmeister
Developer/TU
From: Singapore
Registered: 2007-05-17
Posts: 971
Website

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Sure, alright I've cleaned up now. The new idea is this:

_basekernel=2.6.23
_basever=2.6.24 # must be same as _basekernel if non-rc
_kernpatchset=-rc2
_patchver=-rt1
_localver=-rc2-rt1
_archver=rt-24rc21
_release=all-old # rc, rc-old, rt-old, rc-rt-old or all-old for automagic sources

_basekernel: This is not problematic, self-explanatory.
_basever: This is to facilitate rc builds, where basekernel is not part of the kernel versions.
_kernpatchset: This is the upstream kernel patch, like 2.6.24.3 or 2.6.24-rc8.
_patchver: This is the RT patch.
_localver: Actual version extension, like 2.6.24-ARCH or 2.6.24-rt; what we would see in /usr/src.
_archver: Arch Linux internal version, like kernel26 or kernel26rt; what we would see in /boot.
_release: If the sources need to be changed, this does it.
  [] Blank - sources are ok as they are
  [rc] Upstream patch is rc
  [rc-old] Upstream patch is an older rc
  [rt-old] RT patch is an older version
  [rc-rt-old] rc + rt-old
  [all-old] rc-old + rt-old

And that'd be all to edit besides the basic $pkgname and $pkgver, if and when there's an update. Most of the rest is taken care of already, you can play now and insert .23 and .24 numbers there and it will build fine smile If it's alright with most of you, then I can update the others the same way. Will commit this by the next hour.

Last edited by schivmeister (2008-03-05 20:20:00)


I need real, proper pen and paper for this.

Offline

#373 2008-03-07 02:50:56

funkmuscle
Member
Registered: 2006-02-09
Posts: 527

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

get this error:
PKGBUILD: line 152: cd: /home/harv/kernel26rt/pkg/lib/modules/2.6.24-rc2-rt1: No such file or directory

this is line 152 below:
cd $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/${_kernver} && \
in startdir/pkg/lib/modules, it create 2.6.24

kernel builds but it panics....

Offline

#374 2008-03-07 19:59:13

schivmeister
Developer/TU
From: Singapore
Registered: 2007-05-17
Posts: 971
Website

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

Hah, config locaversion gets borked. I'm trying to find out why. For the meantime use menuconfig and make sure the localversion is -rc2-rt1. Btw, just curious why not use AUR's kernel? It's more updated. I've modified the latencytop patch, it'll now work against any .24 kernel. Will update AUR kernel with it. I'm just trying to make sure the CONFIG_LOCALVERSION gets updated if one changes the PKGBUILD but after cat ../config > .config it gets lost. Maybe it's the sed lines.


I need real, proper pen and paper for this.

Offline

#375 2008-03-08 04:24:21

funkmuscle
Member
Registered: 2006-02-09
Posts: 527

Re: ProAudio repository for Arch users

I was trying that one first but that gave me trouble too. will try it again..

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB