You are not logged in.

#1 2007-03-07 07:20:32

satimis
Member
Registered: 2007-03-03
Posts: 186

Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

Hi folks,

AMD64 dual core AM2 512Kx2 3800
SATA HD
bootloader - grub

I have installed base arch64 0.8 on Internet running "ftp-0.8-beta2-20070223x86_64 arch" CD.

Installation went through w/o problem.  On reboot runlevel 3 started.  After login as root, I found most command lost, such as pacman, which, locate, find, etc.  Neither can I find an editor.  Please advise how to get them back.  How to make further installation of other packages such, Xfce4, Office, multimedia, etc.

I haven't edited /etc/fstab during installation

Its original file
# cat /etc/fstab

none   /dev/pts      devpts   defaults     0  0
none   /dev/shm    tmpfs      default      0  0

/dev/cdrom    /mnt/cd   iso9660    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0  0
/dev/dev        /mnt/cd    udf            ro,user,noauto,unhide   0  0
/dev/fd0        /mnt/f1      vfat           user,noauto                     0  0

HD partitions
/dev/sda1  /boot
/dev/sda2  /
/dev/sda3  /var
/dev/sda5  swap
/dev/sda6  /home

How to edit them on /etc/fstab

Please advise.  TIA


B.R.
satimis

Offline

#2 2007-03-07 10:42:53

klixon
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-01-17
Posts: 525

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

echo -e "/dev/sda5\tswap\tswap\tdefaults\t0\t0" >> /etc/fstab
echo -e"/dev/sda1\t/boot\text2\tdefaults,noatime\t0\t<fsck-pass> >> /etc/fstab
etc...

replace <fsck-pass> with 1 for your root-partition, 0 for your swap-partition and 2 for the rest of them

if you get an error about a read-only filesystem do this

mount -o remount,rw /

Or reboot from an installation cd and

mount /dev/sda2 /mnt
nano -w /mnt/etc/fstab

Stand back, intruder, or i'll blast you out of space! I am Klixon and I don't want any dealings with you human lifeforms. I'm a cyborg!

Offline

#3 2007-03-07 10:51:49

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,636

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

satimis wrote:

... Neither can I find an editor...

base installs vim and nano by default.

[andyrtr@workstation64 ~]$ which {vim,nano}
/usr/bin/vim
/usr/bin/nano

Online

#4 2007-03-07 13:21:23

satimis
Member
Registered: 2007-03-03
Posts: 186

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

Hi AndyRTR

base installs vim and nano by default.

[andyrtr@workstation64 ~]$ which {vim,nano}
/usr/bin/vim
/usr/bin/nano

# which [vim,neno]

-bash: which: command not found

# nano /etc/fstab

-bash: nano: command not found

I think I missed something on installation.  I'm running the default menu,lst, Arch64_08 can't boot. 

on menu.lst

kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda3

I have to change "/dev/hda3" as "/dev/sda2" on the bootloader at boot to boot the OS.


B.R.
satimis

Offline

#5 2007-03-07 14:29:43

satimis
Member
Registered: 2007-03-03
Posts: 186

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

Hi klixon

Tks for you advice.

echo -e "/dev/sda5\tswap\tswap\tdefaults\t0\t0" >> /etc/fstab
echo -e"/dev/sda1\t/boot\text2\tdefaults,noatime\t0\t<fsck-pass> >> /etc/fstab
etc...

replace <fsck-pass> with 1 for your root-partition, 0 for your swap-partition and 2 for the rest of them

booted Arch64_0.8 itself and login as root
# mount /dev/sda2 /mnt

then ran;
echo -e "/dev/sda5\tswap\tswap\tdefaults\t0\t0" >> /etc/fstab
echo -e "/dev/sda1\t/boot\text2\tdefaults,noatime\t0\t2" >> /etc/fstab
echo -e "/dev/sda2\t/\text2\tdefaults,noatime\t0\t1" >> /etc/fstab
echo -e "/dev/sda3\t/var\text2\tdefaults,noatime\t0\t2" >> /etc/fstab
echo -e "/dev/sda6\t/home\text2\tdefaults,noatime\t0\t2" >> /etc/fstab

umount and reboot PC.

This time it failed to boot

Warning at boot

....
/dev/sda6:
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 
filesystem.  If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2 filesystem 
(and not swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock is corrupt, 
and you might running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
e2fsck -b 8193 <device>                                  [FAIL]

FILESYSTEM CHECK FAILED
Please repair manually and reboot.  Note that the root
file system is currently mounted read-only.  To remount 
it read-write type: mount -n -o remount,rw /
When you exit the maintenance shell the system will
reboot automatically

1) what shall I replace <device> on
e2fsck -b 8193 <device>

2)
tried;
mount -n -o remount,rw /
and
mount -o remount,rw /
respectively and rebooted without result.  The warning still reappeared.

Remark: on partitioning, ext3 fs was created on all partitions

B.R.
satimis

Last edited by satimis (2007-03-07 14:30:43)

Offline

#6 2007-03-07 15:03:48

klixon
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-01-17
Posts: 525

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

You didn't replace "ext2" with the actual filesystem used on the partitions when you echoed them into fstab?

e2fsck won't work then... It's looking for the wrong filesystem-type...

ok... when you're dropped into the command-line, try this:

mount -n -o remount,rw /
sed -e "s|\(/dev/sda[12346].*ext\)2|\13|" /etc/fstab
# check to see if all partitions using ext3 have ext3 in column3, if so:
sed -i -e "s|\(/dev/sda[12346].*ext\)2|\13|" /etc/fstab
# note the difference : -i

press ctrl-d to reboot

If you have your boot partition as ext2, just leave out the '1' in [12346]

Last edited by klixon (2007-03-07 15:05:01)


Stand back, intruder, or i'll blast you out of space! I am Klixon and I don't want any dealings with you human lifeforms. I'm a cyborg!

Offline

#7 2007-03-07 15:49:42

satimis
Member
Registered: 2007-03-03
Posts: 186

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

Hi klixon,

You didn't replace "ext2" with the actual filesystem used on the partitions when you echoed them into fstab?

I think I have to clarify following first before executing your advice.

I ran "echo" with "ext3" on all partitions.  Upon failure to boot and failure to run "e2fsck", I booted the PC with the installer CD, mounted /dev/sda2 and edited /etc/fstab changing back all partitions to ext2.  Now they are on "ext2"

B.R.
satimis

Offline

#8 2007-03-07 15:56:42

noriko
Member
From: In My Mind
Registered: 2006-06-09
Posts: 535
Website

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

if the problem persists, i'd suggest you do what the error suggests you shoudl do..
that is to manually run fsck on the partition..


The.Revolution.Is.Coming - - To fight, To hunger, To Resist!

Offline

#9 2007-03-08 09:13:14

satimis
Member
Registered: 2007-03-03
Posts: 186

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

Hi klixon,

ok... when you're dropped into the command-line, try this:

mount -n -o remount,rw /
sed -e "s|\(/dev/sda[12346].*ext\)2|\13|" /etc/fstab
# check to see if all partitions using ext3 have ext3 in column3, if so:
sed -i -e "s|\(/dev/sda[12346].*ext\)2|\13|" /etc/fstab
# note the difference : -i

press ctrl-d to reboot

Tried but the problem remained intact.

Re-ran

mount -n -o remount,rw /
sed -e "s|\(/dev/sda[12346].*ext\)2|\13|" /etc/fstab

found the filesystem still "ext3" without changed.

I'll reinstall the OS.  Tks.

B.R.
satimis

Offline

#10 2007-03-08 09:17:41

satimis
Member
Registered: 2007-03-03
Posts: 186

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

noriko wrote:

if the problem persists, i'd suggest you do what the error suggests you shoudl do..
that is to manually run fsck on the partition..

Hi noriko,

Tks for your advice.

Ran;
# fsck /dev/sda6
# e2fsck -b 8193 /dev/sda6
Problem stil unsolved.  PC failed to boot.  I'll reinstall the OS.  Since this is first installation without much work injected.

B.R.
satimis

Offline

#11 2007-03-08 09:35:10

satimis
Member
Registered: 2007-03-03
Posts: 186

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

Hi folks,

Reinstalled arch64-0.8 by running "ftp-0.8-bet2-20070223x86_64 arch", downloading base packages on;
mirror.pacific.net.au

Installation went through w/o problem with OS started finally. 

Login as root.
nano and vim found
ifconfig showing broadband not connected
ping -c3 yaho.com  failed
ping -c3 66.94.234.13 failed

Please advise which file I have to edit.  TIA

Ran
# useradd -m -s /bin/bash satimis
# passwd satimis
creating user a/c

Now what shall run after broadband connected;

pacman -Syu
pacman -S xorg openssh
pacman -S kde
pacman -S mplayer mplayer-plugin xine-lib xine-ui libdvdread libdvdcss alsa-oss ---- adds multimedia support 
anything else ???

Can I run the installer using its GUI selecting packages and install them thereafter?  TIA


B.R.
satimis

Offline

#12 2007-03-08 10:27:10

klixon
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-01-17
Posts: 525

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

Glad to hear you got this far smile

have you checked /etc/rc.conf?
There's a network section there...

You could check the wiki and search for "network"
There's a whole page there with loads of info...

As to what to install next... That's personal... I don't think I can give you very good advice... I use a lot of command-line... not a lot of X etc...

Just try stuff and if you like it, keep it. If not

pacman -Rs <package>

There's also a nice page on the wiki with "post installation tips". That might give you some directions to get started...

Just experiment and try stuff cool

Last edited by klixon (2007-03-08 10:33:00)


Stand back, intruder, or i'll blast you out of space! I am Klixon and I don't want any dealings with you human lifeforms. I'm a cyborg!

Offline

#13 2007-03-08 14:16:53

satimis
Member
Registered: 2007-03-03
Posts: 186

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

Hi klixon,

have you checked /etc/rc.conf?
There's a network section there...

I got it fixed.  Internet access is now working.  Tks.

Ran;
# pacman -Syu
# pacman -S xorg

....
X.Org has been installed to a different prefix and is modular now
Not all packages are installed by default
Your configure file needs updating

Installation went through w/o complaint.
What does it mean "X.Org has been installed ....." ?

I can't find xorg.conf

# find / -name xorg.conf
No printout.

Continued
# pacman -S exterm
# startx
Started xterm

Continued
# pacman -S xfce4
Installation went through w/o complaint

# startxfce4
-bash: startxfce4: command not found

Pls advise how to get the problems fixed.  TIA

As to what to install next... That's personal... I don't think I can give you very good advice... I use a lot of command-line... not a lot of X etc...

I also like running command lines.   The GUI list provides a complete list of packages for my reference.  Otherwise I may not recall what I need to install

Just try stuff and if you like it, keep it. If not

pacman -Rs <package>

Noted with tks.

There's also a nice page on the wiki with "post installation tips". That might give you some directions to get started...

Whether you meant;
http://wiki.archlinux.org/indiex.php/Xorg

Any other documents, in particular, about server?  I'm going to test web, mail, databse, etc. server on arch64-0.8 box.  Tks.

B.R.
satimis

Offline

#14 2007-03-08 15:18:11

klixon
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-01-17
Posts: 525

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

You have to create an xorg.conf yourself... There are several options in the Xorg wiki-entry you referenced at the bottom of your last reply.

startxfce4 isn't found because your $PATH isn't updated yet to include /opt/xfce4 to which xfce4 is installed

just

. /etc/profile

or logout and login

for the post installation tips, just put "post installation tips" in the search box of the wiki...

If you want to do server testing, i highly recommend you start to learn how to search for answers in man, wiki, forum, google etc...

You have to search and read if you want to learn... Be a bit more self supporting... It will definitaly help you in the long run


Stand back, intruder, or i'll blast you out of space! I am Klixon and I don't want any dealings with you human lifeforms. I'm a cyborg!

Offline

#15 2007-03-09 09:10:52

satimis
Member
Registered: 2007-03-03
Posts: 186

Re: Base installation on Internet - problem on installing other packages

Hi klixon,

Tks for your advice which worked here.

If you want to do server testing, i highly recommend you start to learn how to search for answers in man, wiki, forum, google etc...

You have to search and read if you want to learn... Be a bit more self supporting... It will definitaly help you in the long run

I made heavy googling on Internet.  It did not always work, after injecting lengthy time without a result.  You'll find many search-results on googling.  Which will work, you never know unless you try them.

As example;
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xorg

I found it on Internet.  The steps on installating nVidia driver there did not work here.  I have the driver installed by following the steps there.  X started but did not work properly.  I can't read documents on browser comfortable.  After getting a browser running I reinstalled the nvidia driver downloading the package on nvidia.com site.  During installation kernel was recompiled automatically for nvidia driver, xorg.conf re-edited automatically, etc.  Now X is running properly. 

I did it several times previously.  In the past 3 weeks after finishing testing Ubuntu-6.06-LAMP-sever-amd64, I have been searching an OS for server, running Gentoo, slamd64, FreeBSD, NetBSD, etc.  The former 3 got nvidia driver problem.  FreeBSD is the worst having the problem for several years unsolved.  My onboard NIC did not work.  The vedio card can't display proper resolution.  The time spent is sufficient for me building my own OS, HLFS.  Folks' advice is quite important avoiding falling into the same trap.

man pacman does not provide me sufficient information.  I'm now searching a more explanatory instruction.  Any idea?  Tks.  Each Linux distro and *unix has it own system on download and installing packages on Internet, apt-get, yum, slackpkg, emerge, ports, etc.  Each keeps files in its own way and with different filename.  That is a serious headache to me.

The Xfce4 installed with pacman is supposed the basic lacking many functions.  I'll install the rest with pacman.  Therefore I need to understand pacman well and its repositories.

I don't need X on server which only eases me to communicate with outside World.  I don't like running text browser such as elinks, etc.  Although I have certain knowledge on it.  Neither I expect running 2 PCs doing one job, remote access the server via a workstation doing fine tuning.  Anyway I'll install ssh.

What is your opinion on webmin which does not require X?  It'll ease configuration jobs, but some folks against it.  TIA.


B.R.
satimis

Last edited by satimis (2007-03-09 09:14:47)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB