You are not logged in.

#1 2007-03-09 17:07:18

Master One

Practical usefulness of a tiling WM (not the codergeekish way)?

I was playing around with dwm the whole afternoon. I am not a programmer, just a user, looking for the best possible way to productively work with my laptop. The concept of a tiling WM is quite fascinating, I already tried ion3 before, but dwm seems even more slick (besides the lua and unnecessary titlebars in ion3).

The general problem is, that the screen is always to small to be able to show several apps "fullscreen" in their frames, so I was wondering if this is really the right approach to have all open apps visible all the time. For example I often have two different apps in windows floating over each other, just to copy&past from one app to the other (ctrl-c + alt-tab + ctrl-v), which does not really require both apps to be fully visible. The same applies for example, if I need one window with some info I need in another app only partly visible, while working with that other app.

Can a tiling WM really replace a normal WM (let's compare dwm with openbox3), when using all the usual apps (webbrowser, texteditor, office-apps, ...), and lead to be better workflow & enhanced productivity?

It's not only about the possibility, to control everything from the keyboard instead of using the mouse extensively, but also about advances of tiled windows over floating ones.

During my tests with dwm the major showstopper for me was the missing systray, because there are some apps, which just can't be used without it (like the networkmanager-frontend, or my hdaps-monitor to show the status of the harddisc active protection system). How would you use networkmanager in dwm (or any other tiling WM)?

As much as I like the concept, I am not really convinced that I could stick with it atm.

Any opinions welcome.