You are not logged in.

#1 2007-03-18 16:18:22

skale
Member
From: Atlanta, GA
Registered: 2006-08-04
Posts: 146

kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

My /boot is getting full, so I would like to integrate the Ubuntu and Arch kernels, and boot both distros with the same one.  There are two ways I can think of:

1.  Use the Arch kernel to boot Ubuntu.  Tried, and it hits module trouble. Mouse doesn't work, and I didn't test anything else, but I would presume lots of other stuff would not work.  It wants 2.6.20-ARCH. I symlinked it to both the Ubuntu 2.6.11-generic, but it wasn't satisfied, and still didn't load them.  I linked it to the lib/modules/2.whatever on the Arch partition, and it said "too many symlinks" or something to that effect.  Beautiful.  I have a feeling that this stuff is a lot more complex than I previously thought. 

2.  Just compile a heavyweight kernel with all the modules built in.  Not tried yet, but sounds like a pain in the rear, what with the separate patches and everything. 

Or, I could just go with the current setup, and cross my fingers the next time aapt-get update tries to stuff a new kernel into /boot.  I have been deleting the old ones, but if I forget...

Offline

#2 2007-03-18 16:55:39

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819
Website

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

May I ask how big your /boot is, and what makes it's so stuffed?

Most manuals or guides recommend 100 MB for /boot, and if you see the size of a normal kernel that should be plenty for at least five or ten of them, if not more...


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#3 2007-03-18 17:11:34

skale
Member
From: Atlanta, GA
Registered: 2006-08-04
Posts: 146

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

24MB.  16MB used.  A lot of oversight on my part, I know now.  I really don't want to repartition though.  Using just arch it was plenty, but with two kernels in there it gets a little stuffy. 

Also, I am kinda curious to see if it would work.

Offline

#4 2007-03-18 17:14:02

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819
Website

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

Hehe smile.

How about using the Gparted Live CD?

http://puzzle.dl.sourceforge.net/source … .3.4-3.iso

It's only resizing, no partitioning wink tongue.

Last edited by B (2007-03-18 17:14:19)


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#5 2007-03-18 18:38:38

hacosta
Member
From: Mexico
Registered: 2006-10-22
Posts: 423

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

or you can make a /boot directory in ubuntu (or arch) and remove /boot from the fstab, and rearrange grub accordingly..
it you need /boot in a partition i suppose thet what you are doing is possible, and should me easy if you compile your own kernel.
good luck

Offline

#6 2007-03-18 21:13:18

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

IMHO, you probably will not be able to do this without some issues. You should just ditch Ubuntu for Arch :-)

Offline

#7 2007-03-18 21:21:57

buddabrod
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-25
Posts: 220

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

Just compile a kernel with everything built in that you need.

 du -sh /boot/*
42K     /boot/config-2.6.20-no2
42K     /boot/config-2.6.20-viper4
281K    /boot/grub
12K     /boot/lost+found
104K    /boot/memtest86+
800K    /boot/System.map-2.6.20-viper4
1,6M    /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-dark4
1,6M    /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-no2
1,6M    /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-viper4

1,6MiB isn't that big, is it? wink

Last edited by buddabrod (2007-03-18 21:23:15)

Offline

#8 2007-03-18 23:17:16

skale
Member
From: Atlanta, GA
Registered: 2006-08-04
Posts: 146

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

I think I'll go ahead and compile some stuff tonight, in between my Literature essay. 

What would be potential problems with using both Arch and Ubuntu patches?  Or neither?  Or just one set?

Offline

#9 2007-03-19 00:23:32

buddabrod
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-25
Posts: 220

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

skale wrote:

I think I'll go ahead and compile some stuff tonight, in between my Literature essay. 

What would be potential problems with using both Arch and Ubuntu patches?  Or neither?  Or just one set?

No problems are to be expected, as long as you compile all needed stuff into your kernel wink

I recommend you to use a kernel patchset like viper or no-sources. Viper4 runs here without any problems since it has been released, so maybe you want to give it a try.

Offline

#10 2007-03-19 00:28:03

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

skale wrote:

I think I'll go ahead and compile some stuff tonight, in between my Literature essay. 

What would be potential problems with using both Arch and Ubuntu patches?  Or neither?  Or just one set?

I would use those patches required by Ubuntu as it will likely have more dependancy on kernel patches for the rest of the system than Arch would. Since Arch is a pretty blank slate out-of-box it should not require any kernel patches for pre-configured services to work. As stated, Ubuntu may not be so nice.

Offline

#11 2007-03-19 00:34:40

buddabrod
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-25
Posts: 220

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

iBertus wrote:
skale wrote:

I think I'll go ahead and compile some stuff tonight, in between my Literature essay. 

What would be potential problems with using both Arch and Ubuntu patches?  Or neither?  Or just one set?

I would use those patches required by Ubuntu as it will likely have more dependancy on kernel patches for the rest of the system than Arch would. Since Arch is a pretty blank slate out-of-box it should not require any kernel patches for pre-configured services to work. As stated, Ubuntu may not be so nice.

Ubuntu works nicely with a vanilla kernel without any further patches (without bootsplash). Stuff like fbsplash is part of most patchsets, so that should be no problem.

Last edited by buddabrod (2007-03-19 00:35:15)

Offline

#12 2007-03-19 08:06:12

lloeki
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-02-20
Posts: 456
Website

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

out of the blue question: how would you handle modules (if any) in /lib/modules (since they're on different partitions) ?

Last edited by lloeki (2007-03-19 08:06:47)


To know recursion, you must first know recursion.

Offline

#13 2007-03-19 12:22:48

buddabrod
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-25
Posts: 220

Re: kernel for both Arch and ubuntu

I myself don't use any modules. If someone needs something like the proprietary nvidia driver, just symlink the sources and then compile it on both systems.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB