You are not logged in.

#1 2007-03-24 01:33:37

meo
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2006-11-10
Posts: 34
Website

Media Buttons not working

Hi,

I used to use ubuntu and my laptop's media buttons (rewind/prev, next, play/pause and stop) worked, and i could register them as keyboard shortcuts.  However, in Arch they don't.  I loaded up the ubuntu live cd, copied the entire X11 folder and, after backing up my own, copied that over.  this didn't work.  Where else would the information regarding my keyboard mapping be in ubuntu, or have i missed a file?  It's a satellite a50 if anyone needs to know, and i have not upgraded to the latest kernel, im 1 behind.

thanks,
Michael


[img]http://www.meosoft.net/OldSite/images/MatrixSig.png[/img]

Offline

#2 2007-03-24 22:51:24

Stalwart
Member
From: Latvia, Riga
Registered: 2005-10-18
Posts: 445
Website

Re: Media Buttons not working

GNOME keyboard settings are stored in ~/.gnome


IRC: Stalwart @ FreeNode
Skype ID: thestalwart
WeeChat-devel nightly packages for i686

Offline

#3 2007-03-24 23:33:25

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: Media Buttons not working


I am a gated community.

Offline

#4 2007-03-25 00:29:25

pelle.k
Member
From: Åre, Sweden (EU)
Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 667

Re: Media Buttons not working

You'll have to do some research. There are other ways to do this. xbindkeys to run commands, xmodmap to assign keycodes that have no keysyms yet. When a key has got a keysym, (like for example XF86AudioPlay) it may just work, or, is ready to be used as a hotkey in an application/gnome. xev is a good complement to xmodmap. read up! it's all in these forums...


"Your beliefs can be like fences that surround you.
You must first see them or you will not even realize that you are not free, simply because you will not see beyond the fences.
They will represent the boundaries of your experience."

SETH / Jane Roberts

Offline

#5 2007-03-27 06:13:49

SiD
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-09-21
Posts: 729

Re: Media Buttons not working

Offline

#6 2007-03-27 13:11:58

meo
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2006-11-10
Posts: 34
Website

Re: Media Buttons not working

they don't register at all!
xev does not register me pressing a button.  i did search the forums first, but this hasn't been a problem.
my buttons are not broken, as they work on the live cd version of ubuntu, as i said


[img]http://www.meosoft.net/OldSite/images/MatrixSig.png[/img]

Offline

#7 2007-03-27 16:36:14

pelle.k
Member
From: Åre, Sweden (EU)
Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 667

Re: Media Buttons not working

So, xbindkeys -k doesn't show anything?
You have to focus (make it active) the "event tester window" you get when you run xev (which btw should be run from a terminal). you're not running it as root right?
I'm pretty sure your play button should register as keycode 162. That's almost the standard keycode.


"Your beliefs can be like fences that surround you.
You must first see them or you will not even realize that you are not free, simply because you will not see beyond the fences.
They will represent the boundaries of your experience."

SETH / Jane Roberts

Offline

#8 2007-03-28 11:03:26

meo
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2006-11-10
Posts: 34
Website

Re: Media Buttons not working

Nope nothing.  I have tried all those testers, but it just does not register.
What could be the issue?


[img]http://www.meosoft.net/OldSite/images/MatrixSig.png[/img]

Offline

#9 2007-03-31 02:37:56

meo
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2006-11-10
Posts: 34
Website

Re: Media Buttons not working

can anyone help me with this issue?


[img]http://www.meosoft.net/OldSite/images/MatrixSig.png[/img]

Offline

#10 2007-03-31 06:30:17

mutze13
Member
From: germany
Registered: 2006-05-06
Posts: 107
Website

Re: Media Buttons not working

I think you should give fnfx a try.

Offline

#11 2007-04-01 08:53:44

meo
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2006-11-10
Posts: 34
Website

Re: Media Buttons not working

I do use that for my function keys, but the media keys don't work.


[img]http://www.meosoft.net/OldSite/images/MatrixSig.png[/img]

Offline

#12 2007-04-02 02:33:29

meo
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2006-11-10
Posts: 34
Website

Re: Media Buttons not working

after talking on the irc channel, the issue still isn't resolved.
not only does xev not return anything, but dmesg doesn't have a key error, from arkbd or something like that, as it should.
a kernel issue? :S


[img]http://www.meosoft.net/OldSite/images/MatrixSig.png[/img]

Offline

#13 2007-04-02 14:58:13

Zer0
Member
From: Windsor, ON, Canada
Registered: 2006-08-25
Posts: 299

Re: Media Buttons not working

keytouch uses different methods to get the keycodes then xbindkeys, xev, etc..
which might work for now until you find the solution your looking for.
It's in AUR

Offline

#14 2007-04-02 16:42:27

pelle.k
Member
From: Åre, Sweden (EU)
Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 667

Re: Media Buttons not working

The only thing i can think of, is if your multimedia keys registers as another input device. This would be a bit strange though, as they are located at the same physical keyboard.
You could try to "cat" stuff in /dev/input and see if one of them registers when you hit a key.


"Your beliefs can be like fences that surround you.
You must first see them or you will not even realize that you are not free, simply because you will not see beyond the fences.
They will represent the boundaries of your experience."

SETH / Jane Roberts

Offline

#15 2007-04-03 01:18:40

meo
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2006-11-10
Posts: 34
Website

Re: Media Buttons not working

I've had a brief go at keytouch before, but i tried it again
I tested every single device, regardless of how relevant it looked; nothing.  Still no input.

sad  still need help on this one sad


[img]http://www.meosoft.net/OldSite/images/MatrixSig.png[/img]

Offline

#16 2007-04-06 04:35:34

meo
Member
From: Hong Kong
Registered: 2006-11-10
Posts: 34
Website

Re: Media Buttons not working

Although it is not working still, thankyou very much Unne, that led me to find out why its not working.
I need to include this patch in my kernel:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … +bug/77026

Where do I go to request that this be included?


[img]http://www.meosoft.net/OldSite/images/MatrixSig.png[/img]

Offline

#17 2007-04-06 10:36:57

Grimn
Member
Registered: 2006-12-23
Posts: 136

Re: Media Buttons not working

I think I have a similar problem with my fn key on my HP Pavillion dv6000t laptop, they work on Ubuntu Edgy (2.6.20 with acpi_support package) but not on Arch. How can I find out which patch is needed on the kernel so I can request it as well?
Thank you

Offline

#18 2007-04-06 14:12:31

pelle.k
Member
From: Åre, Sweden (EU)
Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 667

Re: Media Buttons not working

You could compile your own kernel pkg with ABS. Pretty easy to modify the PKGBUILD to include a patch. If you've never this kind of work before - try it and you'll be pleasantly surprised how easy it is, and why arch linux rocks!
To get in the official kernel pkg, create a feature request in the bug tracker.


"Your beliefs can be like fences that surround you.
You must first see them or you will not even realize that you are not free, simply because you will not see beyond the fences.
They will represent the boundaries of your experience."

SETH / Jane Roberts

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB