You are not logged in.

#1 2007-04-02 20:01:49

A.I. BOT
Member
Registered: 2007-04-01
Posts: 88

[SOLVED] Audio not working ...

I am in the audio group, I have alsa and oss installed. When I try to test the sound via GNOME, I get an error hmm. No device seems to be showing up either.

Heres some shots:
http://img501.imageshack.us/img501/8261 … hotui1.png
http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/4374 … ot1ca3.png

If you need any info let me know.

Thanks.

Last edited by A.I. BOT (2007-04-03 10:34:04)

Offline

#2 2007-04-02 20:30:43

fishonadish
Member
Registered: 2006-11-04
Posts: 121

Re: [SOLVED] Audio not working ...

A.I. BOT wrote:

No device seems to be showing up either.

Do you mean the device files arene't there in /dev/snd? If you just have seq and timer then either your sound module isn't loaded or it isn't working properly.

Fishonadish

Offline

#3 2007-04-02 20:49:33

A.I. BOT
Member
Registered: 2007-04-01
Posts: 88

Re: [SOLVED] Audio not working ...

ls /dev/snd
controlC0  pcmC0D0c  pcmC0D1c  pcmC0D3c  pcmC1D0c  seq
controlC1  pcmC0D0p  pcmC0D2c  pcmC0D4p  pcmC1D0p  timer

No I ment its not showing up in GNOME's sound prefs.

Thanks.

Offline

#4 2007-04-02 21:23:46

fishonadish
Member
Registered: 2006-11-04
Posts: 121

Re: [SOLVED] Audio not working ...

Looks like the driver is loaded properly then, if those device files are there.
I presume you've followed the wiki entry on Alsa.  I would have thought that once the devices are there gnome should detect them.

Can you get sound on the CLI, or is it just gnome?  Have you tried playing a sound file with aplay?
Not sure what the problem could be, but if you can play sound in the CLI, at least you can narrow it down to gnome....

Offline

#5 2007-04-02 21:50:01

A.I. BOT
Member
Registered: 2007-04-01
Posts: 88

Re: [SOLVED] Audio not working ...

Okay I modprobed intel1x8 or whatever it was, added it to my modprobe.conf as well.
Now I see this: http://img396.imageshack.us/img396/4662 … hotmz0.png

I tried selecting Master, PCM, Headphones, PlayBack and a few others and clicked "Test" for sound playback on top and herd nothing. I will reboot I guess.

Offline

#6 2007-04-02 21:54:36

A.I. BOT
Member
Registered: 2007-04-01
Posts: 88

Re: [SOLVED] Audio not working ...

No luck sad.

Offline

#7 2007-04-03 10:02:18

fishonadish
Member
Registered: 2006-11-04
Posts: 121

Re: [SOLVED] Audio not working ...

Looks like your sound card is detected then. Have you unmuted the channels in alsamixer?  That is, not just sliding up the volumes but also unchecking the mute option (press the 'm' key).

Are you able to hear sound with aplay?

Fishonadish

Last edited by fishonadish (2007-04-03 10:03:30)

Offline

#8 2007-04-03 10:33:40

A.I. BOT
Member
Registered: 2007-04-01
Posts: 88

Re: [SOLVED] Audio not working ...

ah unmuting worked >.<. Thanks for your help big_smile.

Offline

#9 2007-04-03 11:21:48

fishonadish
Member
Registered: 2006-11-04
Posts: 121

Re: [SOLVED] Audio not working ...

Your welcome.

That was all in the wiki by the way . . .;)

Fishonadish

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB