You are not logged in.

#1 2007-04-07 11:06:52

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

torrents question

I as a rule d/l isos using ftp .... thinking about using torrents only I have a router and d/ls are very slow so I thought I would NAT [port forward!] ok I know Ktorrent listens on 6881 [which I'm gonna change!!!!] but I am not sure what IP address to point it at ... default for router is 192.168.1.25 do I use that or can I set my own ?

Do not want to open router to the dark side ;-)

TIA

MrG


Mr Green

Offline

#2 2007-04-07 11:17:22

pelle.k
Member
From: Åre, Sweden (EU)
Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 667

Re: torrents question

You would "edit" an entry in the router so that it points at your ip. If you don't, port forwarding is useless.
Something like this;
ext.IP: * || ext.port(s): 6881 || type: tcp/udp -----> int.IP: <your.ip> || int.port(s): <your port(s)


"Your beliefs can be like fences that surround you.
You must first see them or you will not even realize that you are not free, simply because you will not see beyond the fences.
They will represent the boundaries of your experience."

SETH / Jane Roberts

Offline

#3 2007-04-07 13:44:51

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: torrents question

thanks .... I just wanted to know what ip address to use ?

running at between 25 - 50 kbs which is terrible ;-(


Mr Green

Offline

#4 2007-04-07 14:04:37

pelle.k
Member
From: Åre, Sweden (EU)
Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 667

Re: torrents question

Oh! did you mean what ip you should fill in in _ktorrent_? Nothing. If you've set port forwarding up, you external ip will be "noticed" by other peers anyway, so leave that field empty (in most cases).
The router will take care of the rest (port forward to your ip on LAN), if you set it up like i said.


"Your beliefs can be like fences that surround you.
You must first see them or you will not even realize that you are not free, simply because you will not see beyond the fences.
They will represent the boundaries of your experience."

SETH / Jane Roberts

Offline

#5 2007-04-07 15:29:48

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: torrents question

cool thanks again


Mr Green

Offline

#6 2007-04-08 06:02:48

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: torrents question

I am still not getting very fast downloads so I am wondering about the ip address I need to use ie gateway broadcast router ...?


Mr Green

Offline

#7 2007-04-08 10:37:06

Mikko777
Member
From: Suomi, Finland
Registered: 2006-10-30
Posts: 837

Re: torrents question

First thing:
Can you ever get fast speeds with torrents? I mean without router straight from wall outlet?
Some ISP's use nat's in their end to basicly make your computer unreachable.

Second:
Assign your linuxbox a static IP address, choose the listen port in your torrent program.
Third:
connect to router, remove your chosen IP add from dhcp range so that it wont get assigned to other pc's, check firewall settings to let that your chosen port through, add port forwarding to the port number u chose to the ip number u chose.

But like i said with some isp's public ip:s and torrents just wont work. (homepna for one)

Offline

#8 2007-04-08 11:59:17

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: torrents question

emmm cool thanks again for your help


Mr Green

Offline

#9 2007-04-08 12:00:04

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: torrents question

depending on the amount of people u/l the torrent & what they set the u/l speed to be depends on your d/l
so yes sometimes i get blazing fast speeds, recently i was d/l'in torrent & got 850kb steady but it was due to the majority of it from someone  giving 500kb & the rest came from other seeders but mostly it just chugs along

Offline

#10 2007-04-08 12:07:42

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: torrents question

atm its running at 15kbs but its steady and I'm in no hurry ;-)


Mr Green

Offline

#11 2007-04-08 18:09:03

Ruckus
Member
From: Danville IL
Registered: 2007-02-17
Posts: 204
Website

Re: torrents question

Mr Green wrote:

atm its running at 15kbs but its steady and I'm in no hurry ;-)

Is it a public torrent? They are always slow, try and get in on a private torrent site.

Offline

#12 2007-04-08 18:23:25

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: torrents question

I'll try thanks .....


Mr Green

Offline

#13 2007-04-08 21:59:08

somairotevoli
Member
Registered: 2006-05-23
Posts: 335

Re: torrents question

I use azureus and it will show me a green light when the my port is open correctly and all is going well.

Also to make sure speeds are good, you need to set your upload speed just right. Around 80% of my max upload (384 / 8 x .80 = 38 so I set mine at 35)  is what I set mine.  I never download or seed more then 2 torrents at a time so I set 4 upload slots for each. If I am downloading just one I will set upload slots to 2. I also set max outbound connections attempts @ 20.  My speeds are always at least twice that of the average listed.

Offline

#14 2007-04-09 01:09:53

majikstreet
Member
Registered: 2006-07-31
Posts: 96

Re: torrents question

it may be that there are not many seeders and/or they are on slow connections (or set their upload speeds to be low).. also i think some trackers or progams limit your dl speed depending on your upload speed......

some trackers are just slow.. (for example, i was downloading a really small file the other day -- about 1mb -- and i tried one torrent and it stayed at connecting to peers... but then i tried another torrent from the same site, and it connected and downloaded right away......)

private torrent sites are faster..

I have a demonoid account -- if someone wants an invite just  email me..)


arooaroo wrote:
syd wrote:

Here in NZ we cant spell words with more than 5 letters. So color will have to do.

You must be very special then because "letters" has 7 tongue

Offline

#15 2007-04-09 02:12:09

N30N
Member
Registered: 2007-04-08
Posts: 273

Re: torrents question

If your router supports it (all I've used do), you should enable the UPnP plugin in Ktorrent & it'll setup port fowarding for you. Also make sure to cap your upload speed about 10kb/s below your connection's speed to make sure it dosn't get to flooded.

Offline

#16 2007-04-09 06:16:28

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: torrents question

I'll set upload rate see what happens will check upnp in Ktorrent [bittorrent stopped working afer python upgrade ;-(]

Last edited by Mr Green (2007-04-09 06:16:43)


Mr Green

Offline

#17 2007-04-10 07:18:33

_alexmyself
Member
From: france
Registered: 2005-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: torrents question

using the torrent from arch site give me ~60kbps, which is my connexion max..  smile

default port:
6881
4444
are opened in my router

Last edited by _alexmyself (2007-04-10 07:30:48)

Offline

#18 2007-04-10 11:47:30

Stalwart
Member
From: Latvia, Riga
Registered: 2005-10-18
Posts: 445
Website

Re: torrents question

I use Transmission (svn version, but release is coming soon) - it requires only one port to forward. Transmission-svn package for arch64 is in my repository


IRC: Stalwart @ FreeNode
Skype ID: thestalwart
WeeChat-devel nightly packages for i686

Offline

#19 2007-04-10 15:37:53

japetto
Member
From: Chicago, IL US
Registered: 2006-07-02
Posts: 183

Re: torrents question

Last I noticed, Transmission was banned by many tracker sites.  It was something to do with the announcement interval IIRC, but I'm not sure if that's still the case.  Just thought I would mention it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB