You are not logged in.

#1 2004-03-17 09:43:08

gsibble
Member
Registered: 2004-01-14
Posts: 23

Stumped. X Causing problems (as usual)

Well, I got Arch running on my desktop with all the latest stuff (kernel 2.4.X and KDE installed) but when I launch any X environment, there's a big problem.

Both my mouse and my keyboard won't respond.  Even to CTL+ALT+F1 or CTL+ALT+DEL.

Nothing.  Nadda.  My system acts like its frozen but it isn't because KDE fully loads.....I just can't do anything once I'm in it.  The standard X environment has the same problem.

Now, my XFree config file was made using ATI's FireGL drivers (for my Radeon 9800 Pro).  Now, I've looked over the file about a hundred times and it's pretty standard stuff.

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"

etc., etc..

So any idea what the problem is here???  I'm completely stumped!  I can't figure any of it out!

Thanks everyone!

-G

Offline

#2 2004-03-17 09:46:01

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Stumped. X Causing problems (as usual)

[damir@Asteraceae /]$ more /var/log/XFree86.0.log | grep WW 

?

[damir@Asteraceae /]$ more /var/log/XFree86.0.log | grep EE

?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2004-03-17 23:12:16

gsibble
Member
Registered: 2004-01-14
Posts: 23

Re: Stumped. X Causing problems (as usual)

Will do.  I'll post them later tonight.

-G

Offline

#4 2004-03-18 04:53:27

gsibble
Member
Registered: 2004-01-14
Posts: 23

Re: Stumped. X Causing problems (as usual)

Ok!  Here are my WWs:

Open APM failed (/dev/apm_bios) (No such file or directory)
Fglrx: No Matching Device section for instance BusID PCK:1:0:1) found

And my EEs:

DRIScreenInit failed

None of these have anything to do with keyboards and mouse (I think) so any ideas?  I need to get this to run.  Thanks guys!

-George

Offline

#5 2004-03-18 11:52:51

farphel
Forum Fellow
From: New Hampshire - USA
Registered: 2003-09-18
Posts: 250
Website

Re: Stumped. X Causing problems (as usual)

Can you post your InputDevice sections from your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file?  Are you using PS2, or USB?  Do you have a scrollwheel on the mouse?

Also, make sure you have your InputDevices present in ServerLayout.


Follow the link below, sign up, and accept one promotional offer.  If I can get five suckers (err... friends) to do this, I'll get a free iPod.  Then you too can try to get a free iPod. Thanks! http://www.freeiPods.com/?r=11363142

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB