You are not logged in.

#1 2007-05-13 12:10:47

batistuta

how do I install EVMS (or lvm with /root)

Hi everyone. I'm completely new to Archlnux, coming from a 3-year experience with Gentoo. I love Gentoo, but decided to try something binary so here I am smile

I've quickly realized what will be my contribution to Arch. As I learn stuff, I hope to find time to contribute to the docs, which I think could get some help. But before that, I need to know what to write in there. So here is my question:

I would like to setup either EVMS or lvm2 with root in the logical volume. The problem is that I'm not familiar with how Arch handles the initrd or how to create one with lvm2 (and fbsplash) support. I've read some posts about a program mkinitcpio, but I'm not sure if this is the way to go. Are there any docs on this? As I haven't decided for EVMS or LVM, it would be cool to know the general approach to both. Any guidance will be appreciated. Thanks!

#2 2007-05-14 07:34:59

FUBAR
Website

Re: how do I install EVMS (or lvm with /root)

During setup you have to configure what support you need in your initrd. If you put /boot on a normal non-RAID non-LVM partition, you can have the rest on LVM/RAID. Just keep your eyes open during installation, more specifically during "Install kernel".

Creating the volumes themselves can be done using the fdisk, mkfs.* and lvm commands as described in the wiki.

A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

#3 2007-05-14 11:05:46

klixon

To be slightly more specific:

when editing /etc/mkinitcpio.conf make sure HOOKS looks something like this:

HOOKS="base udev autodetect <ide|pata|sata|scsi> lvm2 filesystem"

Note the lvm2 (following the hooks for your ide/pata/sata/scsi controller...)