You are not logged in.

#51 2007-07-17 18:20:18

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2007.05 Duke ISOs released, installation feedback

fb modules should only be loaded manually and not by udev.
have you tried the latest linuxtag isos too?
thanks

Offline

#52 2007-07-17 19:09:04

rsavu
Member
Registered: 2007-07-17
Posts: 8

Re: 2007.05 Duke ISOs released, installation feedback

No only tried 2007.05 Duke. Certainly, udev (or something else but I bet it was udev) loaded my framebuffer module because i had a huge resolution for my console exactly after install.

Offline

#53 2007-08-04 22:06:51

Martyr
Member
From: Out there
Registered: 2006-10-04
Posts: 103
Website

Re: 2007.05 Duke ISOs released, installation feedback

Got a new harddisk. Partitioned it so that sda6 would be my Arch partition. The old disk was connected to the system, where hdb6 was my home for my current Arch (located at hdb5).

I selected in the installer sda6 as / and went with it. Long story short: I now got a brand new Arch install located at hdb6. Luckily I backed up in advance.

Known issue?

Offline

#54 2007-08-05 08:38:05

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2007.05 Duke ISOs released, installation feedback

makes me wonder you have  hdx devices but sdx was presented to you in dialog, normally you have either sdx or hdx. Did you use ide-legacy mode to install?

Offline

#55 2007-08-05 10:35:13

Martyr
Member
From: Out there
Registered: 2006-10-04
Posts: 103
Website

Re: 2007.05 Duke ISOs released, installation feedback

I just booted the FTP base iso and ran arch-setup.

I have a new sata disk and my old ata disk connected. The installer detected both without any special action on my part. It let me choose mountpoints from a list where all the partitions from both disks were listed.

Inspecting the install at hdb6 shows that fstab actually has the entry for / at sda6....

Again, because the installer showed me both disks I simply selected sda6 and went with it.

Offline

#56 2007-08-05 20:42:45

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2007.05 Duke ISOs released, installation feedback

ahhh, install environment places ide before sata thats the reason for your problem, check the sizes of the disks before and the names, then such stuff doesn't happen.
install environment treats devices each time the same, first ide then scsi then sata.

Offline

#57 2007-08-05 21:03:28

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2007.05 Duke ISOs released, installation feedback

locking this thread now please continue with new isos on this thread:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 98#p271098

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB