You are not logged in.

#1 2007-05-22 12:42:12

cxzuk

Pacman Development

Hi all, smile

Im new to Arch Linux, and so far im loving it and would like to help with its development.

I have little knowledge of the in's and out's of ABS and Pacman but after alittle research on them I would like to discuss how the current implementations work, what the plains are for the future, and to give some ideas too.

Pacman,

I have read that the current system uses a file based package management, which *could* be a problem with scale and speed. I have read many comments on moving to a DB system, here are my comments;

A database system is a very good choice and should improve both scalability and speed issues. A database system could create opportunities such as more complex searching, "pacman" history, rollback features, etc. One problem mentioned on a database system is the "ease" for people to customize the database, create packages etc. With the FUSE http://fuse.sourceforge.net/ we can mount the database as a file system which is similar to its current layout allowing people to edit the database in the current methods (bash scripts etc)

I would recommend Sqlite as the database system as it has a large community, well documented and many other packages use Sqlite which can create opportunities for pacman to be used with other projects. However, i am unaware of any other database systems that can be compiled into the project (to save a dependency if needed), thats lightweight fast etc..