You are not logged in.

#1 2004-03-26 11:23:56

robot5x
Member
Registered: 2004-01-26
Posts: 266

Interactive aumix

I'm using aumix to change my mixer settings but it's hard going in the console. According to man aumix if you run it without any arguments it starts interactively and you shuld get a ncurses frontend. Problem is that it defaults to /dev/mixer - it's no problem to tell it to where to look
aumix -d /dev/sound/mixer
but of course then you've passed an argument and it won't start interactively. Is there a way around this? I recompiled it with gtk support to use xaumix but it won't even recognise /dev/sound/mixer.
Thanks for any help.

Offline

#2 2004-03-26 14:30:42

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,770

Re: Interactive aumix


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2004-03-26 16:32:01

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Interactive aumix

$ aumix -d /dev/sound/mixer -I


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#4 2004-03-26 16:44:24

robot5x
Member
Registered: 2004-01-26
Posts: 266

Re: Interactive aumix

Do you know what?Iread man aumix about 5 times - I don't know how I skimmed over the '-I' - it's right at the start of the file!
I'm thoroughly ashamed of myself...
thanks guys

Offline

#5 2004-03-26 16:55:12

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,770

Re: Interactive aumix

How do you view man pages?

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#6 2004-03-26 17:04:00

robot5x
Member
Registered: 2004-01-26
Posts: 266

Re: Interactive aumix

As long as the programme concerned has a man file, it's simply
man name_of_programme
in a console.

Offline

#7 2004-03-26 17:07:12

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,770

Re: Interactive aumix

Try in Konqueror...

In main bar

man:pacman

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB