You are not logged in.

#1 2007-07-14 13:42:13

DaNiMoTh

Improving namcap

Hi all big_smile

When I read this topic ( http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=35121 ) the first thing that I've thought was: Why we haven't a tool that check our PKGBUILD?

Of course I download the namcap source code, and I can't ready any control to the PKGBUILD ( for example, checking the presence of the field, or their order ). Two hours of work after launch, and I'm glad to post the first modifications to namcap!!!

But I need help to test and improve it, before sending final result to Jason Chu, Maintainer of namcap.

If you want helping us, you need to do some steps:

1) download the original source code from svn:

svn co http://projects.xennet.org/namcap/trunk/

2) apply this patch ( http://jjdanimoth.altervista.org/arch/i … amcap.diff ) to the source code.

If you want to test it, simply:

./namcap.py path/of/PKGBUILD

I'm a beginner with python, so aspect many bugs big_smile

Let's start the testing!! -- Patch or description of the problem are appreciated roll

-----------

What does this patch?

- Add a control for pkgname, pkgver, pkgrel, pkgdesc, arch, license, url, source field
- Add a control for the order of them

What need to do, but isn't coded?

- Control if some field are array or just a string ( example: license field is and array, if is a string namcap need to return an ERROR ) - I don't know how coding it in RegExp;
- Control if there are some empty field

Last edited by DaNiMoTh (2007-07-14 13:47:04)

#2 2007-07-14 13:53:33

shinlun

Re: Improving namcap

The diff download link seems to be broken.
Does anyone have the same problem ?

ps. it works now ^^ Thanks

Last edited by shinlun (2007-07-14 14:03:59)

#3 2007-07-14 14:03:03

DaNiMoTh

Try

wget http://jjdanimoth.altervista.org/arch/namcap/namcap.diff

Edit:

If you can't see the patch, go to http://jjdanimoth.altervista.org/arch with your web browser, enter in the 'namcap' directory and open the diff.