You are not logged in.

#1 2007-07-18 08:58:32

Eradest
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-07-18
Posts: 56

Pacman + aria2

Hi folks!
I just tried to optimize the download of pacman on my computer by using aria2 following this wiki article.

However, when trying to download with pacman I get the following error:

[root@laptop user]# pacman -Sw gcc
Löse Abhängigkeiten auf... Fertig.

Pakete: gcc-4.2.1-1

Gesamte Paketgröße:   12,34 MB

Download fortsetzen? [J/n]
:: Empfange Pakete von current...
[#1 SIZE:0B/0B CN:1 SPD:0.00KiB/s]
2007-07-18 10:45:20 ERROR - CUID#3 - Download aborted. URI=ftp://ftp.belnet.be/packages/archlinux/current/os/i686/gcc-4.2.1-1.pkg.tar.gz
2007-07-18 10:45:20 ERROR - exception: Konnte Datei .//var/cache/pacman/pkg/gcc-4.2.1-1.pkg.tar.gz.part nicht öffnen, Ursache: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
[#1 SIZE:0B/12.3MiB(0%) CN:1 SPD:0.00KiB/s]
2007-07-18 10:45:21 ERROR - CUID#4 - Download aborted. URI=ftp://ftp.belnet.be/packages/archlinux/current/os/i686/gcc-4.2.1-1.pkg.tar.gz
2007-07-18 10:45:21 ERROR - exception: Konnte nicht in Datei .//var/cache/pacman/pkg/gcc-4.2.1-1.pkg.tar.gz.part positionieren, Ursache: Ungültiger Dateideskriptor
[#1 SIZE:0B/12.3MiB(0%) CN:0 SPD:0.00KiB/s]
2007-07-18 10:45:22 ERROR - Exception caught
2007-07-18 10:45:22 ERROR - exception: Konnte Segmentdatei .//var/cache/pacman/pkg/gcc-4.2.1-1.pkg.tar.gz.part.aria2 nicht öffnen, Ursache Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
Prüfe Paketintegrität...
Fehler: /var/cache/pacman/pkg/gcc-4.2.1-1.pkg.tar.gz kann nicht geöffnet werden
Fehler: sha1: /var/cache/pacman/pkg/gcc-4.2.1-1.pkg.tar.gz kann nicht geöffnet werden
Fehler: Konnte den Vorgang (Beschädigtes Paket) nicht durchführen
Kann MD5- oder SHA1-Prüfsumme für Paket gcc-4.2.1-1.pkg.tar.gz nicht ermitteln

Fehler aufgetreten, keine Pakete wurden aktualisiert.

[root@laptop user]# ICE default IO error handler doing an exit(), pid = 5782, errno = 0

sry most is in german, but don't know how to get it show the output in english

Xfer command in pacman.conf:

XferCommand = /usr/bin/aria2c -s 2 -o %o %u

I assume the problem is about the output, aria2c manpage says:

-d, --dir=DIR
The directory to store downloaded file.

-o, --out=FILE
The file name for downloaded file.

which means if you want to store a file as /home/user/file.file you have to use "-d /home/user -o file.file"

however, it seems the variable pacman sets does not follow that rule


Is there a way to make it work?

Thanks in advance

Eradest

Offline

#2 2007-07-18 09:33:08

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: Pacman + aria2

Eradest wrote:

sry most is in german, but don't know how to get it show the output in english

Try LANG=C pacman (or LC_ALL=C)

Xfer command in pacman.conf:

XferCommand = /usr/bin/aria2c -s 2 -o %o %u

I assume the problem is about the output, aria2c manpage says:

-d, --dir=DIR
The directory to store downloaded file.

-o, --out=FILE
The file name for downloaded file.

which means if you want to store a file as /home/user/file.file you have to use "-d /home/user -o file.file"

however, it seems the variable pacman sets does not follow that rule


Is there a way to make it work?

Thanks in advance

Eradest

It's weird the ./ aria2 put in front of the output file. Maybe you could try adding -d / ?

Anyway, using aria2 this way looks rather pointless. Its advantage is you can make use of many mirrors,
see the following script on the wiki page.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#3 2007-07-18 09:56:53

Eradest
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-07-18
Posts: 56

Re: Pacman + aria2

Anyway, using aria2 this way looks rather pointless. Its advantage is you can make use of many mirrors,
see the following script on the wiki page.

It isn't pointless. When downloading files with pacman the download speed is at the maximum of what my connection can do, which means using severals Mirrors at the same time won't speed up anything. Nevertheless, between downloading files, pacman pauses for a few seconds. That means the effective download speed is much higher when downloading one large package than downloading many small ones. When doing 2 downloads simultaneously i could avoid that.

Last edited by Eradest (2007-07-18 09:57:42)

Offline

#4 2007-07-18 11:05:58

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: Pacman + aria2

But that woudn't do 2 downloads simultaneously, would it ? I understood it would just make 2 connections to the same server for downloading one file. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Anyway, that pause between downloads isn't normal, I never had this problem.
Does it happen without using any XferCommand ? or with using XferCommand and wget ?
Did you try several mirrors, and both ftp and http protocol ?


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#5 2007-07-18 18:06:55

twanj
Member
From: Pompano Beach, FL
Registered: 2006-08-02
Posts: 47
Website

Re: Pacman + aria2

shining wrote:

But that woudn't do 2 downloads simultaneously, would it ? I understood it would just make 2 connections to the same server for downloading one file. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I think -j (concurrent downloads option) with aria2 will download multiple files simultaneously. I'd like to see that mixed with the metalink script and delta downloads. now that would be pretty fast & efficient!


Simpler/Faster downloads with error recovery - http://www.metalinker.org/

Offline

#6 2007-11-08 12:08:09

unixlust
Member
From: Sebes, Romania
Registered: 2007-01-12
Posts: 31

Re: Pacman + aria2

If Eradest or anyone found a working solution of using aria2 with pacman, please tell us all here and/or in the wiki.

Last edited by unixlust (2007-11-08 12:11:51)

Offline

#7 2007-11-08 21:15:47

elasticdog
Member
From: Washington, USA
Registered: 2005-05-02
Posts: 995
Website

Re: Pacman + aria2

I was messing around with this earlier today and am also getting those errors and had to revert to using the default XferCommand.  I too would like to get the latest version up and working with pacget (or something similar)...I'll see what I can come up with if I've got some extra time this evening.

Offline

#8 2007-11-08 23:47:00

djclue917
Member
Registered: 2006-12-03
Posts: 121

Re: Pacman + aria2

Hi guys. I just finished updating the wiki and everything works fine now AFAIK. Check out the updated aria2 XferCommand and pacget script: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Imp … erformance

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB