You are not logged in.

#1 2007-07-25 20:05:19

intimidat0r
Member
Registered: 2007-01-03
Posts: 17

CUPS web interface wants a password?

I've gone through the CUPS web interface, and at the end, it asks for a password. I've tried using root and root's password, and that didn't work.

I also Googled around for a while, and found somebody recommending running 'lppasswd', which I tried, and entered a password; however, this password doesn't work on the web interface either (it gives me the authorization required message).

I've tried restarting CUPS after making these changes as well, but to no avail.

Did I miss some configuration step somewhere? How can I get this to work?

Thanks.

Offline

#2 2007-07-25 21:43:18

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,547
Website

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

Are you part of the lp group?

Offline

#3 2007-07-26 00:38:11

majikstreet
Member
Registered: 2006-07-31
Posts: 96

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

Are you sure you're using the correct root password? Root and root's password always worked for me...


arooaroo wrote:
syd wrote:

Here in NZ we cant spell words with more than 5 letters. So color will have to do.

You must be very special then because "letters" has 7 tongue

Offline

#4 2007-10-30 07:46:22

s26c.sayan
Member
From: Kolkata, India
Registered: 2007-02-07
Posts: 176
Website

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

Reviving this topic because I'm facing a similar problem.

In my system, I have disabled the ROOT account and i use sudo to get root privileges as & when required.
So, I don't have any root password.

Now I want to add the cups-pdf virtual printer. I've installed all the required packages, added myself to the lp group , set up a password using  lppasswd, restarted cups daemon and even rebooted!
I try to use the cups web interface as outlined in the wiki, but when it asks for 'username and password at CUPS", I'm stumped! The username (myself) and the password set up in lppasswd doesn't work and the password prompt keeps coming back!

Please help....can this be done without setting up a root password?


March Linux : An Arch Linux "distrolet" that I am trying to develop (March = My Arch!)
Please take a look......:)

Offline

#5 2007-10-30 11:23:58

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,547
Website

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

If you are using the web interface the user is root and the password is the root password. I do not know any other way around it.

R.

Offline

#6 2008-02-06 17:52:39

uastasi
Member
From: Salento - Italy
Registered: 2007-11-27
Posts: 247

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

s26c.sayan wrote:

Reviving this topic because I'm facing a similar problem.

In my system, I have disabled the ROOT account and i use sudo to get root privileges as & when required.
So, I don't have any root password.

Now I want to add the cups-pdf virtual printer. I've installed all the required packages, added myself to the lp group , set up a password using  lppasswd, restarted cups daemon and even rebooted!
I try to use the cups web interface as outlined in the wiki, but when it asks for 'username and password at CUPS", I'm stumped! The username (myself) and the password set up in lppasswd doesn't work and the password prompt keeps coming back!

Please help....can this be done without setting up a root password?

Same problem with same context. I don't know how to solve neutral:|:|


Till the last battle, till the last bottle.
aur - twitter

Offline

#7 2008-02-06 18:09:31

s26c.sayan
Member
From: Kolkata, India
Registered: 2007-02-07
Posts: 176
Website

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

uastasi wrote:
s26c.sayan wrote:

Reviving this topic because I'm facing a similar problem.

In my system, I have disabled the ROOT account and i use sudo to get root privileges as & when required.
So, I don't have any root password.

Now I want to add the cups-pdf virtual printer. I've installed all the required packages, added myself to the lp group , set up a password using  lppasswd, restarted cups daemon and even rebooted!
I try to use the cups web interface as outlined in the wiki, but when it asks for 'username and password at CUPS", I'm stumped! The username (myself) and the password set up in lppasswd doesn't work and the password prompt keeps coming back!

Please help....can this be done without setting up a root password?

Same problem with same context. I don't know how to solve neutral:|:|

Well, I have found a solution.

Install the package 'system-config-printer' using pacman.
Run

sudo system-config-printer

Now, if you have already installed the cups-pdf package, you should be able to configure it using the nice pygtk based GUI!
The only hitch is the app keeps segfaulting! sad


March Linux : An Arch Linux "distrolet" that I am trying to develop (March = My Arch!)
Please take a look......:)

Offline

#8 2008-02-07 09:29:36

uastasi
Member
From: Salento - Italy
Registered: 2007-11-27
Posts: 247

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

s26c.sayan wrote:
uastasi wrote:
s26c.sayan wrote:

Reviving this topic because I'm facing a similar problem.

In my system, I have disabled the ROOT account and i use sudo to get root privileges as & when required.
So, I don't have any root password.

Now I want to add the cups-pdf virtual printer. I've installed all the required packages, added myself to the lp group , set up a password using  lppasswd, restarted cups daemon and even rebooted!
I try to use the cups web interface as outlined in the wiki, but when it asks for 'username and password at CUPS", I'm stumped! The username (myself) and the password set up in lppasswd doesn't work and the password prompt keeps coming back!

Please help....can this be done without setting up a root password?

Same problem with same context. I don't know how to solve neutral:|:|

Well, I have found a solution.

Install the package 'system-config-printer' using pacman.
Run

sudo system-config-printer

Now, if you have already installed the cups-pdf package, you should be able to configure it using the nice pygtk based GUI!
The only hitch is the app keeps segfaulting! sad

Thank you s26c.sayan, I've finally added my pdf-printer, but now I've realized that it prints blank pages using default configuration.. hmm:/


Till the last battle, till the last bottle.
aur - twitter

Offline

#9 2008-06-04 22:51:16

ThomasR
Member
Registered: 2008-05-29
Posts: 5

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

I found this information in the CUPS FAQ!

For anyone using who has set up their system with a locked root account do the following:

1) From the command line type:

sudo groupadd printadmin

Then for each user you want to add to that group type:

sudo usermod -aG printadmin usernamehere

2) In your cupsd.conf file, add this line:

     

SystemGroup printadmin

OR

For normal systems:

1) From the command line as root type:

groupadd printadmin

Then for each user you want to add to that group type:

usermod -aG printadmin usernamehere

2) In your cupsd.conf file, add this line:

     

SystemGroup printadmin

Hope this helps someone!

Offline

#10 2008-07-22 19:46:17

fede
Member
Registered: 2007-06-29
Posts: 119

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

Thanks thomas for the info.

I followed your concept, only instead of using those commands and creating  a new group, I used the "lp" group, which I believe is the standard arch name for printing rights.

so I edited /etc/cups.d/cups.conf to read

SystemGroup lp

(instead of

SystemGroup sys root

which I think was the default value.

That was enough: I'm already a member of lp. Otherwise

# gpasswd -a your_user lp

or if you prefer sudo (or you  disabled root)

$ sudo gpasswd -a your_user lp

will add your_user to the lp group.

Offline

#11 2008-07-22 21:27:03

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

actually there is a difference between the "lp" and "printadmin" group. "lp" is for users allowed to print and "printadmin" is for printer administration. when running only a desktop machine this difference doesn't matter so much.

Offline

#12 2012-12-15 14:49:32

Squee22
Member
Registered: 2012-12-13
Posts: 8

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

don't forget to reboot... haha

Last edited by Squee22 (2012-12-15 15:36:27)

Offline

#13 2014-08-09 17:05:14

adamito
Member
Registered: 2014-08-09
Posts: 1

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

Adding my user account to PrintAdmin group worked for me On Ubuntu 14.04.   Yay.  Thanks.   Also I didn't have to edit the cups.conf file and I didn't reboot, but I did logout and back in before I logged into CUPS.

Offline

#14 2014-08-09 17:19:21

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,690

Re: CUPS web interface wants a password?

Glad it worked for you.

I am, however, going to go ahead and close this old thread now.  I think it has run its course.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB